Blog Archives

Video: Zero 7 – Shadows

Zero 7 have shared the title track of their soon-to-be-released Shadows EP, the acclaimed British duo’s first collection in more than half a decade. Shadows sees Zero 7 – Henry Binns and Sam Hardaker – teaming with renowned new singer-songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Lou Stone for a spellbinding collaboration fusing the duo’s long-standing gift for soulful songcraft, lush arrangements, and inventive production with the London-based Stone’s standout vocal delivery.

The news of the EP release is heralded by the premiere of the brilliant title track, “Shadows,” available now at all DSPs and streaming services; the track is joined by an official companion video, directed by renowned graphic designer/filmmaker Julian House (whose work includes the cover to Zero 7’s classic 2001 debut album, Simple Things). Shadows EP will be released via Make/BMG on October 23.

“We’ve gone back to the future with Lou Stone,” say Zero 7. “This song is a lockdown talk between lonely souls and shadows…Remote reciprocity….”

Zero 7 – 400 Blows feat. Danny Pratt

zero 7

Following the release of their ‘Simple Science’ EP in August last year, Sam Hardaker and Henry Binns, better known as Zero 7, announce they have a new EP coming this Spring (see also here). As a nod to their very early, pre-major label days and the very first music they released; ‘E.P.1’ and ‘E.P.2’, this new EP is entitled ‘E.P.3’.

Once again, the band called on some previous collaborators to feature on the EP. Australia’s Danny Pratt features on lead track ‘400 Blows’, which finds the duo in exquisite form, positioning soft electronics, alongside some gorgeous piano passages, all stitched together with their wonderfully atmospheric, cinematic production. On second track ‘The Colour of Spring’, London’s Only Girl lends her luscious, dulcet voice, complimenting the song’s dark, brooding soundscapes perfectly. ‘Last Light’, the third track on the EP, features the inimitable José González, delivering an unmistakable vocal performance. Next is ‘Crush Tape’ is a wonderful, experimental electronic instrumental, closing the vinyl EP in excellent fashion. The download version also includes a fifth track, a remix of ‘400 Blows’ by the Cape Town based, John Wizards.

The 12” vinyl will be available to buy from March 30th via Make Records and the download available from April 13th.

Zero 7 – Last Light feat. José González


London-based electronic duo of Henry Binns and Sam Hardaker aka Zero 7 are back with a new EP, entitled “E.P.3.”. Below you can stream the beautiful EP’s first track “Last Light”, featuring Swedish folk singer José González. The four-track EP also features collaborations with Australian vocalist Danny Pratt and London’s Only Girl.

Speaking of the new music, the band said, “Late last year we finished a couple of stray songs we’d been working on and have been trying to find a suitable home for them since. As they didn’t really fit with much else we were doing at the time, they were put aside while we thought about what to do with them…. To us, they seemed to share something with the Mark Hollis cover we did a while ago so we’ve buddied them up and thrown in a little instrumental for good measure and come up with the imaginatively entitled it ‘E.P.3’. Hope you enjoy.”

Out on vinyl on March 30th 2017 via Make Records, and digitally on April 13th. Pre-order your 12” here.

And the good news from the Zero 7 camp doesn’t stop there and it seems ‘E.P.3’ is a taster of what’s to come, with a full album, their first in five years, planned for Autumn release. The band comments, “We are currently working on new tracks and will let you know about release plans as soon as we have them. There will definitely be more to come in the summer!”

London Grammar – If You Wait Remix EP II

london grammar

Today, London Grammar announced the release of a second remix EP for their critically acclaimed debut album “If You Wait”. The exclusive new EP features a sophisticated set of remixes by celebrated producer/DJ’s such as Claude Von Stroke (the man behind of one America’s most innovative House labels Dirtybird Records), Zero 7, and UNKLE, as well as some of this year’s most hyped beatmakers Evian Christ, Tensnake and Tourist, all of whom have put their unique trademark twist on the band’s original tracks. Listen closely to the Zero 7 mix for a graceful vocal cameo by their long time collaborator and friend, renowned Australian artist Sia.

Get the full EP here:

Listen exclusively to Claude Von Stroke’s infectiously epic remix of the band’s lead single “Strong” here via and Evian Christ’s bold reworking of the same track exclusively via

In other news, London Grammar recently appeared on VH1 + Palladia’s inaugural “Soundclash” series alongside Grammy Award winning, platinum-selling rapper T.I. and Grammy Award nominated, three-time VMA winner Fall Out Boy. Watch their collaborative performance of “Live Your Life” here.

1. Strong (Claude Von Stroke Remix)
2. Strong (Evian Christ Remix)
3. Hey Now (Zero 7 Remix)

4. Hey Now (Tensnake Remix)

5. Sights (Tourist Version)

6. Hey Now (UNKLE Remix)

London Grammar – Hey Now (Zero 7 / Sasha Remix)

There are several remixes of London Grammar’s ‘Hey Now‘ floating around at the moment, for example by Tensnake and Bonobo, but now the band shared two new ones, from UK vets Zero 7 and Sasha.

First, the Zero 7 remix is taken from the limited edition 10" vinyl release for Record Store Day. And then, UK progressive house hero Sasha delivers another excellent rework/remix, ready for the dancefloor. Stream both of them below.

Zero 7 – On My Own / Don’t Call It Love

London duo Zero 7 are back with a brand-new 12-inch white label. ‘On My Own’ is the first piece of new material from the duo since the band’s fourth album ‘Yeah Ghost’ back in 2009.

Speaking about the new songs, Sam & Henry said: “Both tracks were written with singers we haven’t worked with previously. Title track ‘On My Own’ features Danny Pratt (AKA Danny Boy), a native of Canberra, Australia who we met in London last year. This is the first of a couple of songs that we plan to release featuring Danny on vocals. The flip-side track ‘Don’t Call it Love’ is one of many tracks that we have co-written recently with the mysterious and benevolent singer/songwriter Tom Leonard from Los Angeles.