Blog Archives

Róisín Murphy – In Sintesi

Following the beautiful cover of Lucio Battisti’s 1976 classic “Ancora Tu”, the first cut from her Italian-inspired new EP “Mi Senti”, dance-pop queen Róisín Murphy returns with “In Sintesi” (which means ‘In Synthesis’), the EPs only original song.

“In Sintesi came together very quickly and I think we all enjoyed the freedom of creating from scratch our own thing, after the weeks of work involved in getting the cover versions close to something we could be proud of. Knowing one’s own recorded version has to stand up against the great music you are covering is a pressure you don’t have when you write.”

Out on May 28 via The Vinyl Factory. Pre-order your copy here.

Roisin Murphy – Ancora Tu

Róisín Murphy will release“Mi Senti” EP via The Vinyl Factory on May 28 as a limited edition gatefold vinyl. The release will feature five electronic cover versions of Mina’s “Ancora Ancora Ancora” and “Non Credere”, Patty Pravo’s “Pensiero Stupendo”, Gino Paoli’s “La Gatta”, and Lucio Battisti’s 1976 hit “Ancora Tu”, which you can now stream above. The EP also contains one original song, “In Sintesi”, by Murphy. Pre-order your copy here.

“In these songs, emotions are at the surface of things and that is what I found again and again when I was researching Italian music and that is what I feel from the language, when I speak it and even without understanding it, I feel close to love, close to the truth about human motivation.”

Higgins In 3D

Massive Attack’s Robert Del Naja a.k.a. 3D rejoins forces with TV on the Radio’s frontman Tunde Adebimpe to create two epic electronic remixes of the singer’s other outfit, Higgins Waterproof Black Magic Band.

The pair first collaborated on 2009’s Massive Attack track ‘Pray For Rain’, and have kept in touch, swapping songs and ideas, resulting in these two remixes of tracks released on Higgins’ self-titled debut EP, which came out in October 2013.

Limited to 500 copies worldwide, this release features original sleeve artwork by Paul Insect, screen printed at K2 Screen in London. Recorded and mixed in Bristol in February 2014, 3D’s remixes have been mastered by Noel Sommerville at 3345 Mastering and pressed by The Vinyl Factory on 180-gram heavyweight black vinyl using the EMI 1400 in Hayes, Middlesex.

Says 3D: "I constantly stalk Tunde with instrumentals! In revenge he sent me the Higgins album and I picked 2 tracks that I thought would be fun to remix. Now that’s sorted, I’ll get back to harassing him with loops.

Side A: Mad Lifeline
Side B: WPIC

In stock and available to buy now, exclusively from The Vinyl Factory. Buy here:

Haroon Mirza x James Lavelle – o/o/o/o/

The Vinyl Factory is set release a new 12” vinyl by celebrated British sound artist Haroon Mirza. Haroon’s work pivots around socio-cultural systems such as club culture and their relationship to music so it’s fitting that he has collaborated with one of electronic music’s most influential producers, UNKLE‘s James Lavelle – who has remixed his experimental sound collages into epic widescreen club and ambient versions.

Lavelle’s re-workings are the latest in a series of Haroon Mirza releases on The Vinyl Factory, and follow 2013 remixes by Factory Floor and Django Django. Haroon Mirza vs James Lavelle will be released as 12” vinyl with foiled cover artwork by Mirza, featuring two remixes pressed on 180-gram heavyweight vinyl; limited to 500 copies worldwide. o/o/o/o/ is out on March 10 – pre-order it here.