Blog Archives

OLSSON – One In A Million (Zomby Rework)


Here’s the new OLSSON’s ‘One In A Million’ rework from Zomby. It’s got a shuffled breakbeat alongside classic piano house stabs and trancey synths, all while honouring the ‘90s garage house inspired original from the Swedish songwriter and producer OLSSON.

‘One In A Million’ is the lead single from OLSSON’s debut album Millions, which is due for release on May 12th through Universal.

OLSSON has worked with the likes of Charli XCX, Seeb, Jacob Banks and more, while he’s also achieved high profile support from the likes of Zane Lowe and Noisey. His forthcoming album effortlessly spans dance, indie, hip hop, pop and more. It’s heavily influenced by the Haçienda and Madchester scene and plays like Kasabian jamming with Jungle or The Stone Roses with Disclosure.

Goose – What You Need (Digitalism Remix)

goose digitalism.jpg

A creative force to be reckoned with, Belgian electronic outfit GOOSE unleash their new single ‘What You Need’ along with remixes from German electro powerhouse Digitalism and fellow Belgian Mumbai Science, as well as visuals directed by Raf Simons and Dior long-term collaborator Willy Vanderperre, set for release via Universal and Safari Records on 18th November.

The single is the title-track from their upcoming new album, which went straight to number one in Belgium and was recorded in LA with Ariel Pink, Air and Beck writer and arranger Jason Falkner, who also contributes guitars, synths and piano on several tracks.

Known for their hands-in-the-air, eyes-closed, edge-of-control beats, GOOSE’s music features a clear duality – described by Dummy as ‘combining rock dynamics with electronics’ – it is a combination of dark electrical splendour soaring up between melodic, experimental and catchy.

Following up on the success of their internationally acclaimed albums, the NME-approved ‘Bring It On’ released on Fatboy Slim’s Skint Records, the two-time Music Industry Awards winner ‘Synrise’ released on seminal Berlin label !K7 and The Guardian-approved ‘Control Control Control’ – GOOSE have been at the fore front of the Flemish electronic music scene alongside Soulwax, Aeroplane and The Magician for the past ten years.

Born from the creative minds of singer and keyboard player Mickael Karkousse, guitarist Dave Martijn, bassist Tom Coghe and drummer Bert Libeert, GOOSE are known for their sleek aesthetic – from creating magazines featuring interviews with their friends and peers including Soulwax, Raf Simons and Pink Floyd’s sleeve artist Storm Thorgerson – to running multimedia installations. The multidisclipinary band have also lent their hand to remixes for top artists such Daft Punk, Scissor Sisters and White Lies.

This carefully thought sense of style can be traced back to Mickael Karkousse involvement with the avant-garde Belgian fashion scene. As one of the youngest street cast faces designer Raf Simons has ever used, the singer debuted in his iconic Radioactivity show of A/W 98-99 featuring Kraftwerk. This fertile environment has led the band to a long-term visual collaboration with cult fashion photographer and filmmakers Willy Vanderperre, which culminated with the creation of a short film to mark the release of ‘What You Need’ with cinematography from Stanley Kubrick’s favourite Larry Smith.

‘What You Need’ is GOOSE most compelling single so far – the first taste of the band’s upcoming new album in the pipeline for next Spring – epitomizes the unique sound and intensely creative nature that makes them one if the most exciting names coming out of Belgium in the last ten years.

Laura Welsh – Hardest Part feat. John Legend

laura welsh

Hardest Part is the incredible new duet by Laura Welsh featuring R&B superstar John Legend. The track was co-written by the pair, and is lifted from Welsh’s debut album Soft Control, released March 9th 2015 on Outsiders/Universal.

Soft Control also includes the acclaimed singles Break The Fall, Cold Front, Unravel, and Ghosts. Singer, writer, and producer – she co-produced the album tracks Call To Arms and Hollow Drum – Staffordshire-born Welsh is very modern kind of pop artist. Last summer she scored at Top 10 hit as the co-writer and vocalist on Gorgon City’s massive summer anthem Here For You.

Welsh’s track Undiscovered will feature on the soundtrack to eagerly anticipated new film Fifty Shades Of Grey, directed by Sam Taylor-Wood and released on Valentines Day. Other artists featuring on the soundtrack include Beyoncé, Ellie Goulding, Sia, The Weeknd, Jessie Ware and The Rolling Stones.