Blog Archives

Video: Sad Disco – Beat


Sad Disco, an electro pop duo from Athens released their debut album this summer on Undo Records. Sounds like the most glorious memories of the synth pop legacy with a dramatic, fresh feel. Below, you can watch the video for the track “Beat”, one of the LP’s highlights,. Directed by Stathis Mourdoukoutas.

MIKRO – Abused


Greek based electro-pop band MIKRO have shared a brand new track, Abused, featuring their new female singer Chloe Ann. Available for free download here. In case you missed it, their latest New LP is out now on Undo Records. Get it here.

MIKRO – Full Speed Ahead

Greek based electro-pop band MIKRO introduce their new female vocalist Chloe Ann, with a brand new track available for free download! Download for free "Full Speed Ahead" here. Their latest album "New", is out now on UNDO Records. Get it here.

Marsheaux – August Day

Below you can stream the beautiful and sunny "August Day" by Marsheaux, a female electro pop duo from Greece. Taken from their 4rd album titled "Inhale" released from Greek-based label UNDO records in 2013. In case you missed it, check out the video for "Inhale" here.

MIKRO – Beautiful People / Ποιος θα ‘ναι αυτός

Greek based electro-pop band MIKRO returns with a new album, the aptly-titled "NEW", which is set to be released on April 11 from UNDO records. The LP will features six songs in English and six in Greek. Ckeck out one from each category, the uplifitng "Beautiful People" and "Ποιος θα ‘ναι αυτός".

Video: Marsheaux – Inhale

Athens (GR) based electro-pop duo Marsheaux has shared a brand new official video "Inhale", the title track of the duo’s new album. Created by Johan Andjerson.

Video: Sad Disco – Heart

Greek electro-pop duo of Dimitris Biniaris and Theod Kopoul, a.k.a. Sad Disco, make beautiful melancholic, but also grooving, pop music. The duo’s first single is "Heart", taken from their forthcoming debut album, out soon on Undo Records. Below, you can watch the official video, directed by Stathis Mourdoukoutas (The Core), which follows a half-naked young couple dancing in a retro dancefloor. Grab the single here, backed with a remix by fellow Greek duo Marsheaux.

Fotonovela feat. Marsheaux – Close To Me

Five years after their debut album “Mistakes Are Good”, Greek electronic duo of Nikos Bitzenis and George Geranios, a.k.a. Fotonovela, are back with a new song, a back-to-the-future twist. “Close To Me” is a song tailor made for the new generation of electro poppers that is aware of the 80’s music, only through the myth of it. The vocals of the song are sung by Marsheaux. “Close To me” will be included in the new Fotonovela album (title TBA) full of guest vocalists, with such names as James New (Mirrors), Bethany Cassidy (Section 25), Sarah Blackwood (Dubstar, Client), Echoes, Lacquer, Daryl Smith (They Go Boom), Patrick (The Claps), Kid Moxie and Jay Jay Johanson. In case you missed it, check out their collaboration with James New here. Out soon on Athens based Undo Records.

MARSHEAUX – Inhale [2013]

Four years after the release of “Lumineux Noir” and just one year after their collectable compilation “E-Bay Queen Is Dead”, Athens based electro-pop duo Marsheaux return with their fourth album. The girls, Marianthi and Sophie come back for a new bunch of modern electro pop songs that pump up the volume of the beats and build a bridge to connect the evergreen Giorgio Moroder and the eccentric Fever Ray of The Knife fame.

The tracks “Self Control” and “End Is A New Start” that open and close the album respectively, sound like strong electro pop epics. Between these two, Marsheaux pay tribute to italo-disco (“Secret Place”, the girls’ favourite track out of the album accodding to their interview in Electronic magazine), to beat music of the 60’s with a B-52’s element (“Inhale”), to pop music as crafted by Dubstar and their friend Sarah Blackwood (“To The End”), to Munich’s eurobeat scene that makes the sound style of such groups as the scandinavian duet Icona Pop, relevant (“Come On Now”) to the Pet Shop Boys of the new era (“Alone”), to the refreshing breakbeats(“Never Stop”), to the summer laziness like the one of Saint Etienne’s (“August Day”) and to the nirvana of a repetitive motif that transcends you with safety inside its whirlwind (“Over And Over”). The “Inhale” album has been released with one bonus cd with remixes from Echoes, Cicada, Metroland, Lacquer, Mark Reeder, Parralox and greek local artists Tareq, Rolla Scape and Niadoka.

In the last two years, Marsheaux were preparing their new album and made a guest appearance in Rolla Scape’s album (a project of well known and respective greek producer – songwriter K. Bhta) singing in the track “Heaven Is Real”. They also made a collaboration with the obscure electro pop 80’s act Twins Natalia for a split single that has been released by Anna Logue Records: Marsheaux cover Twin Natalia’s “When We Were Young” and Twin Natalia cover Marsheaux’s “Radial Emotion”.

 “We certainly don’t write them as standard pop songs. When we are working on a song, a sound, a noise , a melody gives us a hint about the path we are going to take each time, sometimes they are related to real experiences, sometimes to something we heard, we don’t have a standard procedure.