Blog Archives




UK’s Theo Kottis to helm the new edition of Global Underground’s ‘Nubreed’ album series with ‘Nubreed #11: Theo Kottis’.

Released on Friday 29th June as a double CD, and in digital and streaming formats, ‘Nubreed #11: Theo Kottis will see one of the UK’s hottest new stars become part of a benchmark album series that’s counted Steve Lawler, Sander Kleinenberg, Lee Burridge, and Satoshi Tomiie, amongst its ranks. #11 follows instalments from Habischman (#9), and Oliver Schories (#10).

In keeping with GU’s reputation for delivering timeless DJ mix albums, ‘Nubreed #11: Theo Kottis’ explores the deeper, more expansive side of Kottis’ sound, and features a 30-strong tracklist including cuts and remixes from Henrik Schwarz, Agoria, Mathew Jonson, KiNK, Kiasmos, Ian Pooley, Mr G, Kornel Kovacs, Space Dimension Controller and The Horn. In a world where everyone and their dog is dropping livestreams, this mix is the antithesis of disposable DJ sets – expertly selected, beautifully mixed, and mastered to perfection, it’s an entirely different listening experience.

With his own artist album, ‘Beautiful Strangers’, due out soon, Kottis is one of the UK’s most promising next generation artists and DJs for good reason. Since first gaining recognition as a resident of Edinburgh’s Fly Club and Glasgow’s Sub Club, he can count the likes of Joris Voorn and Kerri Chandler as fans. And, with tracks signed to a myriad of high-quality imprints such as Get Physical, Moda Black, and Sasha’s Last Night on Earth, he’s built up an impeccable discography, charting at the top end of Beatport’s charts and enjoying regular from the likes of Pete Tong, B-Traits, Monki, and Danny Howard on Radio 1.

Theo Kottis said:
“All the tracks chosen have played a part in my journey as a DJ in the last 2 years. With each track I can recall a specific memory where I’ve played or danced to the track. I could have approached the mix by trying to select the newest music but I felt the best representation of myself is to look back into my music collection.”


Nubreed #11: Theo Kottis – Tracklist

1. Gigi Masin – Maja
2. Supreems – Us Together
3. The Mountain People – La Onda
4. Afriqua – Aleph
5. Henrik Schwarz – Take Words In Return (Jimi Jules Remix)
6. Habischman – Hoodoo (Theo Kottis Remix)
7. Denis Ferrer – The Red Room (Obj Vocal Mix)
8. Agoria – Scala
9. 2000 and One – Spanish Fly
10. Sascha Funke – MZ
11. KiNK – Perth (Chord Mix)
12. DJ Assasin – Face In The Crowd (Intellidread Mix)
13. Mathew Jonson – Thieves In Digital Land
14. Mateo Murphy – Apex
15. Skatebård – Sgnelkab (Mental Overdrive Remix)
16. Theo Kottis – Ciro
17. Nitin – Dubbed Out (Steve Rachmad Remix)

1. Mr. G – Stolen Moments
2. Jordan GCZ – Crybaby J
3. Kasper Bjørke – Heaven (Prins Thomas Diskomiks)
4. Christopher Ledger – Lost With K
5. Kiasmos – Blurred
6. Ian Pooley – I Got You (Matthias Vogt Remix)
7. Space Dimension Controller – Exostack (Kornel Kovacs Remix)
8. Justus Köhncke – Timecode (Maxi Version)
9. Beacon – Fault Lines (Dauwd Remix)
10. Efdemin – Parallaxis (Traumprinz’ Over 2 The End Version)
11. Telefon Tel Aviv – Sound In A Dark Room
12. Theo Kottis – Moonlight
13. The Horn – Villager

Theo Kottis – Human Chemistry EP


The bastion of modern house music that is Jaymo & Andy George’s Moda Black label continues to set trends with its next release, ‘Human Chemistry’, from the hotly tipped Theo Kottis.

UK producer Theo has impressed on the label before, with his ‘Waiting Game’ release receiving heavy support from the likes of Pete Tong and Solomun and his sterling remix of Groove Armada’s ‘You Got To’ pricking up ears. As a DJ he has performed at key events such as Rockness, T in the Park and Glasgow’s legendary Sub Club and he’s scheduled to appear at Fabric as well as J&AG’s inaugural Lost Village Festival.

His brand new single kicks off with  title track ‘Human Chemistry’, an emotionally charged bit of house music. Pained vocals drift above big sombre chords, underlapping kicks and rueful synths. Full of far more character and emotion than your average club track, it shows Theo has real song writing skills as well as fine production chops.

The other offering is ‘Want To Be’, a low swinging house cut with bold bass notes that decay into wobbling subs, crisp percussion and filtered vocals coming on through a controlled explosion of melodic colour. Its full of ideas and creativity and every space in the track exudes a certain classiness.

With bass as fat as this and grooves so compelling, Theo Kottis is only set to blow up further in the months ahead. Out on March 9th 2015 via Moda Black.

Groove Armada – You Got To EP


The Moda Black imprint offers up Groove Armada’s ‘You Got To’ this September, backed with a remix from Theo Kottis.

Moda Black : Transcending trends, Groove Armada are the product of an undying passion for new music. From the orbital rave’s of the 90’s to London’s resurgent warehouse scene to every major festival on the face of the planet. They’ve never stopped experimenting with new sounds, they’ve never stopped raiding record stores and they’ve never stopped searching for new artists. Their eyes remain fixed on the future.

In 2015 Groove Armada, along with Moda Black, will unveil the next chapter in their ever-evolving career… And right now, we’d like to present you with an appetiser.
First heard on Moda Black Vol III, You Got To is a slow burning end-of-the-night jam that carefully builds it’s many layers of emotive elements. The raw bass is soon juxtaposed by uplifting strings and whirring pads, before the powerful snare roll leads you into an e-moment of, well, Groove Armada proportions.

Moda Black’s newest artist Theo Kottis is on a roll right now. With a killer EP just around the corner, his remix of You Go To demonstrates the huge talent of this exciting new producer. His penchant for melodies is the driving force behind much of his music – demonstrated here via the frenzied, pulsating top line and spine-tingling keys. Keep your eyes on this guy!

Groove Armada’s ‘You Got To’ EP is out on Moda Black on September 15th 2014.

1. You Got To (Original Mix)
2. You Got To (GA Edit)
3. You Got To (Theo Kottis Remix)