Blog Archives

The Hacker – Le Théâtre des Opérations LP

Dark Entries: We are honored to announce the latest album from Michel Amato aka The Hacker, ‘Le Théâtre des Opérations’. Michel began making music in 1989 at the age of 17 in Grenoble, France. He grew up listening to New Wave bands like Duran Duran, The Cure and Depeche Mode as well as the darker side of electro Kraftwerk, Cabaret Voltaire and D.A.F. In 1990s he released a series of 12” singles and an album of cold, calculating and relentless techno. In 1997 he teamed up with Caroline Herve aka Miss Kittin and to release landmark singles and albums of effortlessly channelling the carefree spirit of 80s electro pop which we released an EP of lost demos from in 2015. Michel’s new live project sees the enigmatic artist go back to his roots, performing a 100% analogue set directly inspired by his first true loves of New Wave and dark, powerful techno

‘Le Théâtre des Opérations’ is 8 new tracks spread evenly across 2×12”s cut at 45rpm for maximum sound quality and DJs. The title comes from a metaphysical journal by French-born Canadian science fiction writer Maurice G Dantec. Passionate about avant-garde techno, The Hacker has weaved his influences (Jeff Mills, Drexciya, early Aphex Twin) into a unique sound on this album that can best be described as a walking homage to the power of the synthesizer. Songs veer from gritty, raw EBM to dark, subterranean electro, effortlessly channelling the strains of the Michel’s musical DNA: Front 242, Jeff Mills, Dopplereffekt, SPK. The only vocal track features an appearance by longtime friend and collaborator Miss Kittin named “Time X” after the French science fiction television series Temps X. All songs have been mastered and lacquer cut by George Horn at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley. Cover artwork features a collage by London-based artist Anthony Gerace and each copy includes a postcard featuring a photo of teenage Michel from 1989.

15 November 2017 / Dark Entries

A1. Underwater Sequence
A2. Frozen Voices
B1. Time X (Feat Miss Kittin)
B2. Dancing Mekanik
C1. Dark Neon
C2. Body Diktat
D1. Complicated Dances
D2. Camisole Chimique

The Hacker – Love / Kraft Part 2 EP

LOVE-KRAFT part 2 artwork

After the release of Part 1 back in April comes this, Part 2 of The Hacker’s latest album, Love/Kraft. Alongside the digital release of this second chapter of the LP, a selection of tracks from both halves will be pressed to a special, limited edition double vinyl 12” for release on the same day.

The Hacker needs little introduction, being a long established sonic experimenter who has released seminal albums with Miss Kittin as well as countless solo EPs on labels like Turbo, Tigersushi, Infine and Gigolo over the course of the last 15 years plus.

Opening the EP is ‘Jalousy’, a spritely electro-tech track with classic cowbell pings, whip lashing snares and feel good retro-future melodies. ‘Tenebra’ (featuring Michael Zodorozny from Crash Course in Science) is a more jagged and punky affair with aloof vocals, slithering synths and dark malice in the snaking basslines.

The title track takes a trip to the outer regions of our galaxy with lots of echoing and thin synth lines, acid twitches and swirling ambient pads as well as a glut of malfunctioning machines. It’s perfectly otherworldly electronic music made from steely metallic parts.

‘Jupiter Skyline’ takes a trip into richly melodic territory, with lots of colourful and emotive chord action and skyward intentions, whilst ‘Past & Future’ is almost hymnal in its alien, prickly, somberness. ‘You’ is the most uplifting track here, with tons of Todd Terje disco vibes and piping arps all making for a joyous listen, then closer ‘Sommeil/Solitude’ brings us back down to earth with more wistful pads, pixelated synth work and generally throwback electro vibes.

Much like the first half, Part 2 of Love/Kraft is an emotional and accomplished journey through a diverse array of sounds, all finished off with The Hacker’s inimitable production prowess.

The Hacker’s Love / Kraft Part 2 will drop on November 10th 2014 on Zone.

1. Jalousy
2. Tenebra (feat Michael Zodorozny from Crash Course In science)
3. Love/Kraft
4. Jupiter Skyline
5. Past & future
6. You
7. Sommeil Solitude