Blog Archives

Video: Jessy Lanza – You Never Show Your Love feat. DJ Spinn, Taso


Hamilton Canda-based producer and Vocalist Jessy Lanza meets Chicago’s world famous Teklife crew on this sultry EP, with DJ Spinn and Taso’s first released RnB track, and a Teklife, footwork remix with assistance from the late DJ Rashad.

The main mix is a dejected confessional, slow jam with Jessy’s plaintive vocal sitting in the middle of spiralling drums and teardrop-like chords, a gentle guitar refrain dropping in at the end like a comforting hand on the shoulder.

Following the instrumental version, the Teklife mix doubles the tempo, switching the gentleness to deliver an interpretation that touches on tense anger, with the sweeping chords the track is built on, snapping into shivering shapes, as strings simmer in the background building the tension. Bambounou’s ‘Fuck Diamond’ remix (from Jessy’s debut album) appears on vinyl for the first time (after a release last year on the final Hyperdub 10 compilation) and he transforms it into a rough drum machine workout, leaving sparse elements of the original in there; a splash of vocal and a held chord, building a dynamic trance that slips and slides in and out of different patterns.

Jessy Lanza’s You Never Show Your LoveEP is out July 24 on Hyperdub.

Hyperdub and Teklife present Nextlife


‘Next Life’ is a compilation of new material from Chicago’s primary footwork crew, Teklife, carrying the torch for the late, great DJ Rashad who passed away earlier in 2014.

Packed to the limit with hyper-kinetic rhythms and manically chopped samples, there is nothing quite like this disc of pure energy currently in circulation. Not only does this album feature some of footwork’s originators such as RP Boo, Traxman, DJ Spinn, Gantman, Manny and DJ Rashad himself, but it’s also packed with the elite of Teklife’s second wave, DJ Earl, Taye, Boylan, Phil, Taso, Sirr Tmo, Tre and Heavee, plus extended members of the Teklife family from around the US (Durban, Tripletrain, DJ Chap) and Europe (DJ Paypal, Jackie Dagger & Feloneezy), who were welcomed in by DJ Rashad & DJ Spinn while on their extensive travels spreading the footwork gospel.

The CD bristles with rhythmic ingenuity and hypnotic vocal science. Frantic tracks such as Spinn & Taso’s ‘Burn that Kush’, DJ Taye & DJ Manny’s dazzling ’The Matrixx’, DJ Earl & DJ Taye’s thumping ‘Workin Da Bass’ and ‘Do this Again’, DJ Phil’s ‘Gods House’ and DJ Tre’s ‘DNB Spaceout’ sit alongside warped hi-energy rave cuts such as DJ Paypal’s ‘FM Blast’, Feloneezy, Jackie Dagger and Paypal’s ‘U Should No’, DJ Chap’s ‘Glacier Bae’, Tripletrain’s ‘Never Could Be 2’ and Taso’s ‘Get Down Low’ and more laid back, stoned affairs such as DJ Manny’s ‘Harvey Ratchet’ and Durban’s ‘I’m So’ into patches of melancholy introspection with Traxman’s ‘Sit Ya Self Down’ and Sirr Tmo’s ‘Live in Chicago Subways’, or the hypnotic vocal science of RP Boo’s ‘That’s It 4 Lil Ma’, the chip-tunes footwork of Heavee’s ‘8bit Shit’ and DJ Rashad’s totally wired ‘OTS’.

The CD bears out the full spectrum of moods at which DJ Rashad excelled. ‘Next Life’ is a fitting tribute from his musical family to a true hero of electronic music who will be sorely missed for years to come. All profits from sales of this CD will go to DJ Rashad’s son, Chad.

Release date: November 10th 2014

01 DJ Spinn & Taso: “Burn That Kush”
02 DJ Earl & DJ Taye: “Do This Again”
03 DJ Taye & DJ Manny: “The Matrixx”
04 DJ Phil: “Godz House”
05 DJ Tre: “DNB Spaceout”
06 Traxman: “Sit Ya Self Down”
07 Sirr Tmo: “Live in Chicago Subways”
08 RP Boo: “That’s It 4 Lil Ma”
09 Gantman: “Jungle Juke”
10 DJ Manny: “Harvey Rachet”
11 Boylan: “He Watchin Us”
12 DJ Paypal: “Fm Blast”
13 DJ Earl & DJ Taye: “Wurkinn Da Bass”
14 Rashad x Spinn x Taso x Manny: “OTS”
15 Heavee: “8 Bit Shit”
16 Tripletrain: “Never Could Be”
17 Durban: “I’m So”
18 Taso: “Drop That Thang”
19 DJ Chap: “Glacier Bae”
20 DJ Paypal x Feloneezy x Jackie Dagger: “U Should No”