Blog Archives

Video: Röyksopp – Never Ever feat. Susanne Sundfør


Röyksopp have released their disco-inspired video for latest single ‘Never Ever’ featuring Susanne Sundfør. ‘Never Ever’ was released on 9th September and entered the Spotify Viral Chart Top 50 at Number 28 with over 2 million plays and 70,000 streams on Apple Music.

According to the duo, the video for the track is set in “a disco-esque alternative universe”:

“We have, in the past, tended to go for a bit of a sombre sentiment in our videos, pristine imagery with a hint of darkness,” says Svein. “But we wanted to turn that around this time, and make something raw, shabby and messy but predominantly light-hearted. At the core lies a reaction to the current paradigme of selfies & social media, where a flattering facade, overshadowing substance seems to be not only the accepted norm, but something to strive for. There are way too many artists that fuel this notion that one has to be both rich, delinquent, successful & sexy, all at the same time. We thought it refreshing to counter that and hence we´ve gone off on a different tangent for this video. It’s not completely unflattering, but it’s quite unflattering.”

‘Never Ever’ is the duo’s first single since they released their final album ‘The Inevitable End’ in 2014. Röyksopp have released 6 full-length studio LPs, all of which were UK Top 40 albums. After the release of ‘The Inevitable End’, the duo then pledged that it would be their final full-length record, thus completing their six album cycle. They also promised they would return with new music in other forms as and when time was right.

2016 marks the 15th anniversary of their classic debut ‘Melody AM’ that cemented Röyksopp as one of electronic music’s leading lights. Since then they have gained worldwide acclaim and success with two Grammy nominations, a Brit nomination and winning seven Spellemannprisen Awards. But the duo aren’t planning on looking back just yet. This is the inevitable new beginning.

Röyksopp will play a DJ gig at London’s Bankside Vaults on Friday 25th November.

Röyksopp – Never Ever feat. Susanne Sundfør


Röyksopp make their triumphant return to Astralwerks nearly 15 years after the label released the duo’s seminal debut album, Melody A.M. Today, Astralwerks released Röyksopp’s unabashedly club-readynew single,”Never Ever.” Influenced by late-period disco and ’80s electronic pop, the track features critically acclaimed Norwegian vocalist Susanne Sundfør, who also appeared on two tracks from The Inevitable End and on Röyksopp’s cover of Depeche Mode’s “Ice Machine” from the duo’s Late Night Tales compilation album. “Never Ever” can be downloaded HERE and streamed on Spotify and YouTube.

When the Norwegian duo – comprising Svein Berge and Torbjørn Brundtland -released The Inevitable End in 2014, they announced that it would be their final full-length album, but pledged to return with new music in other forms. “Never Ever” makes good on that promise. “The whole idea of us going away from the whole album concept was that we do have many musical expressions that we want to do,” says Torbjørn Brundtland. “One of them might be a club track, but we don’t necessarily want to do an album of it. It’s that way with ‘Never Ever’ – we love it, but we don’t need 12 tracks like it.”

Releasing themselves from the album cycle has freed Röyksopp up to explore new ideas and opportunities, such as their track for Rick Rubin’s Star Wars Headspace album, which challenged musicians to make songs using sounds from the Star Wars universe. One idea they’re working on is for a series of tracks that explores a counterpoint to the super-clean sound of modern electronic music. “I think we would like to further our exploration into the analog world, like the early years of electronic music, where synths and drum machines would be used in combination with more traditional acoustic and analog instruments. Like we’ve done in that past, but take it even further,” says Svein Berge.

Melody A.M. topped the Norwegian Albums chart and the U.K. Independent Albums chart after its release in 2001. Widely licensed, it established the duo as one of dance music’s leading lights. Since then, they have gained worldwide acclaim and been recognized with seven Spellemannprisen Awards in Norway plus two GRAMMY® nominations and a Brit nomination. Röyksopp continues to win praise for their visually compelling headline DJ and live sets – including a sold-out, 2014 co-headlining show with Robyn at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles.

Röyksopp – The Inevitable End LP


Röyksopp announce their first single ‘Sordid Affair’ featuring Man Without Country available now, through their own Dog Triumph via Wall Of Sound and Cooking Vinyl. ‘Sordid Affair’ is taken from their fifth and final album ‘The Inevitable End’ released on November 10th 2014.

‘Sordid Affair’ is a sophisticated and delicate song which Ryan James from Man Without Country sings throughout with heartbreaking intensity. Röyksopp explain ‘Sordid Affair’ as “A recollection and contemplation of the emotional aspects of the endeavours as described in the track title. The difficulties of letting go of emotional attachments – even those of a questionable nature.” Liste here.

‘The Inevitable End’, is electronic music overlords Röyksopp’s most personal album to date and their second album release in the space of 6 months, following the critically acclaimed mini album and sell out tour ‘Do It Again’ with fellow Scandinavian legend Robyn. The album also features Jamie Irrepressible and Norwegian singer songwriter Susanne Sundfør.

With ‘The Inevitable End’ we’ve moved into a darker subject matter, with emphasis on the lyrical content.  This candid approach feels very both personal, sincere and conclusive.” says Svein, “With this album it became clear we wanted to make an album in a classical sense even if it’s the last one we make,” adds Torbjørn.

Röyksopp have revealed the first track on their album ’Skulls’ here and the collaboration track with Robyn ‘Monument’ (T.I.E version):

Read Röyksopp on ‘The Inevitable End’:

“If you wanna ride with us tonight…”

The Inevitable End’ tracklisting:
1) Skulls
2) Monument feat. Robyn (T.I.E. Version)
3) Sordid Affair  (Ryan James, Man Without Country)
4) You Know I Have To Go (Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles)
5) Save Me (Susanne Sundfør)
6) I Had This Thing (Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles)
7) Rong (Robyn)
8) Here She Comes Again (Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles)
9) Running To The Sea (Susanne Sundfør)
10) Compulsion (Jamie McDermott, The Irrepressibles)
11) Coup de Grace
12) Thank You

Röyksopp – Running To The Sea feat. Susanne Sundfør (Pachanga Boys Remix)

Following the release of their great “Jagwar Pawar” version of Sydney’s Jagwar Ma latest single “Come Save Me”, Kompakt’s Hippie Dance duo of Superpitcher and Rebolledo, a.k.a. Pachanga Boys, offers us yet another epic remix, this time for Röyksopp‘s “Running To The Sea”, featuring fellow Norwegian singer-songwriter Susanne Sundfør. Below, you can also stream the single’s b-side, Something In My Heart, featuring vocals from Jamie McDermott, of orchestral pop group The Irrepressibles.

Röyksopp – Running To The Sea (VillA Remix)

Earlier this year Norwegian duo Röyksopp released ‘Running To The Sea’ featuring fellow Norwegian vocalist Susanne Sundfør. The single is now getting a remixes package by the likes of Belgian duo Villa and 2 Many DJs among others. Out November 4. Check out Villa’s rework of the track below. The duo will release its second EP at the end of November via Yuksek’s Partyfine.