Blog Archives

Shit Robot – Is There No End (New Jackson + Khotin Remixes )

shit robot.png

“Is There No End” is an a rambling five minutes of shuffling techno where a spoken-word vocal describes a man’s stream-of-consciousness journey to the club, only to get kicked out at the party’s peak. Narrative vocals are brilliantly delivered by Jayson Green, former lead singer of punk bands Orchid & Panthers.

Remixes are handled by New Jackson (Hivern, Permanent Vacation) & Khotin (1080p, Normals Welcome). Both remixers deliver long form, gorgeous slow motion disco interpretations of the original, foregoing the manic vocals and creating what might be two alternate come-downs to an indulgent and night on the tiles.

Shit Robot – End Of The Trail (Video + Roman Flüegel Remix)

shit robot.jpg

Here’s the official video for the new Shit Robot single ‘End of the Trail’ featuring Alexis Taylor of Hot Chip.

The single comes from the new album What Follows due in May ( preorder ). Following the song’s worldwide release two weeks ago and a subsequent killer remix courtesy of Hamburg house maestro Roman Flüegel ( order / stream below ), ‘End Of The Trail’ now receives a stunning visual accompaniment courtesy of a beautifully animated video by Irish director Kevin McGloughlin.

Video: Shit Robot – OB-8

shit robot

Here’s the video for Shit Robot’s loon-leaning hypno-house chugger in the classic Robot style ‘OB-8‘  for DFA Records. Preorder the limited edition White Label at the DFA Bandcamp.

Shit Robot – OB-8/Torpedo

DFA2487 Packshot

Ahead of the release of his new album, Shit Robot fires out a warning to the clubs with a new two-tracker: “OB-8” b/w “Torpedo”.

The A-side is a loon-leaning hypno-house chugger in the classic Robot style, while the flip is a bottom-heavy update on that wild pitch sound: the eagle-eared among you will remember it from his appearance on Beats in Space earlier in 2015.


Buy it on iTunes or Bandcamp via DFA Records!

Prinzhorn Dance School – Reign (Shit Robot Remix)


Prinzhorn Dance School’s spartan sonics have often lead to some hand-wringing when trying to play out their records ‘in the club’. In the first 7 years of their existance, there was a sole club-friendly remix in their entire catalog. It is for these reasons that we’re really stoked to announce that we now have a second.

DFA veteran Shit Robot takes the track “Reign” from their imminently released third album Home Economics and turns it into a deep, dark floor-filler. The band’s pleading vocals dive in and out of a throbbing bassline, with new robotic percussion seamlessly blending with the band’s original bangs and clangs.

The vinyl-only track on the flip features that previously alluded to Optimo (Espacio) mix of “You Are The Space Invader” – previously only available commercially in digital form, this is the first (slightly) wider vinyl release of this classic remix. An edition of 250 hand-stamped and numbered white label copies, not to be pressed again for another 7 years or so. Probably.

Order the 12″ Vinyl, WAVs & 320kbps MP3s here.

Video: Shit Robot – Where It’s At feat. Reggie Watts (Johnny Aux Remix)


We’ve already posted Shit Robot’s new release “Where It’s At” on DFA. Below you can watch the official video of Johnny Aux’ remix of the track. Shot by Reggie Watts & Chase Mathey.

Shit Robot – Where It’s At feat. Reggie Watts

shit robot

Shit Robot and DFA are psyched to release “Where It’s At” another in a long-running series of collaborations with the singer/comedian/television star Reggie Watts. Reggie Watts’ vocal performance runs the gamut of Chicago dance music history – from the gloom and melodrama of iconic label Wax Trax, to the jubilant choruses of Frankie Knuckles’ house anthems. But let’s not de-emphasize the solid instrumentation provided by Mr. Marcus ‘Shit Robot’ Lambkin – we’ve got that classic DFA bassline, claps, and bleeps and bloops aplenty – mixed and manipulated by none other than our own James Murphy. The flip features a remix by London producer Johnny Aux, who turns the track into a staticy, stripped down, raw Deep House banger, with hissing glimmers of icy cymbals peeking through the smog.

Preorders are available for the 12″ Vinyl, WAVs & 320kbps MP3s.

Shit Robot – We Got a Love [2014]

DFA Records is proud to present "We Got a Love", the sophomore full-length by Shit Robot a.k.a. Dublin native Marcus Lambkin. Recorded in Germany and New York, the nine-track album includes the killer recent singles, “Feels Real” and “We Got a Love.”

Like Lambkin’s 2010 debut From the Cradle to the Rave, We Got a Love sports an array of guests that include DFA veterans Nancy Whang, Museum of Love and Luke Jenner (The Rapture), plus hip-house hero Lidell Townsell and Australian singer Holly Backler. The album’s distinctive artwork was created in collaboration with Irish graffiti artist Maser.

Available for purchase today on iTunes and as high quality digital downloads at DFA Direct. We made really nice mugs and shirts, too! You may check them out at DFA Direct as well.

“Do That Dance” is the newest single to get released from ‘We Got A Love’, which features Nancy Whang on vocals, and the song serves as a great sequel to their collaboration on the first Shit Robot LP, “Take Em Up”.

The remixes for the single come courtesy of Leisure Connection (aka Peaking Lights and Rahdunes) and Konstantin Sibold – resident DJ at Rocker 33 in Stuttgart Germany – who is quietly becoming the name to know in the dance world, with new materials on Innervisions and Objektivity Records. Check out Sibold’s remix below and Leisure Connection’s edit here.

Video: Shit Robot feat. Nancy Whang – Do That Dance

Here’s the video for the new track from Shit Robot, off his sophomore LP ‘We Got A Love’ out on March 18 on DFA records, featuring vocalist Nancy Whang from LCD Soundsystem.

Catching Up with DFA Remixes

Surahn “Wonderful" (Aeroplane & Miami Horror Remixes)

At tail end of 2012 DFA released an incredible debut EP by singer songwriter producer genius Surahn, also a member of The Swiss & band member in Empire of the Sun. We followed that EP with a slam dunk remix of "Watching The World” from Prins Thomas, and now DFA & Surahn have 2 more to share – Aeroplane & Miami Horror. Both remixes succeedwonderfully in translating Surahn’s soulful pop single “Wonderful” into 2 bright & blissful bangers.

Shit Robot “We Got A Love” (Paul Woolford Remix & Dub)

The creative partnership of Marcus Lambkin aka Shit Robot & Reggie Watts yielded "We Got A Love” one of the wonkiest house singles DFA has released. When we asked DFA remixing alumni Paul Woolford to have a crack at the tune, we had no idea Paul & his Special Deliveryproject would take off in such a major way. Either way, he strips and flips the rubbery soul of it into something leaner – and does very nuanced work to a special track. Both the vocal and dub are worth trying out, perhaps back to back?

The Juan Maclean “Feel Like Movin’” (Leon Vynehall Remix)

Feel Like Movin’ was named Best New Track by Pitchfork. This officially makes it relevant and "critically acclaimed” so we won’t spend any more time except to say it is the best song made by anyone ever and includes Nancy Whang on vocals. The remixing duties of this went to the capable and English hands of “overnight sensation” Leon Vynehall who turned in a sensational remix virtually overnight. As many have already brought to our attention, the remixing “rules”. It does.