Blog Archives

NAO – For All We Know The Remixes EP


NAO joins musical forces with some of today’s buzzworthy producers to release For All We Know Remix EP on February 10.

The 5-track EP will feature songs from her spectacular debut album remixed by KAYTRANADA, SBTRKT, Mura Masa, Sam Gellaitry and LOXE with a guest appearance by grime superstar Stormzy.

Recently nominated for a 2017 Brit Award for Best Female Solo Artist, NAO will return to the US to perform at Coachella followed by several headlining tour dates in major cities including New York, Houston, Atlanta, Nashville and more. See below for tour dates.

Since the July 29, 2016 release of her debut album For All We Know, NAO has garnered critical acclaim and topped several year-end “best of” lists including The Fader, Rolling Stone, Entertainment Weekly, Pitchfork, Elle and more.

SBTRKT – Save Yourself LP


After teasing its release with a handful of singles last week, SBTRKT is back to share SAVE YOURSELF, his first project since the release of his 2014 album Wonder Where We Land. While the project’s release comes as a relative surprise, it was borne of a year and a half long process of creation. Below, SBTRKT has released a statement regarding the project. Read it below now and enjoy SAVE YOURSELF afterwards.


SAVE YOURSELF is the new project from me to you, my fans. While a complete piece with a beginning, end and visual concepts that have been worked on over many months, this is not an album.

This record was written from last summer til last week and is about being able to share music with you more frequently than I have done in the past, and not long after its been created.

Though as SBTRKT I am one person, I’ve always tried to champion the idea of bringing together artists who are from different places both musically and geographically.

For this record I worked with a small group of collaborators, most of whom I had not collaborated with before. Instead of an open-ended collaboration where studio jam sessions would lead to songs, I approached collaborators who I felt would be most suited to the overall ideas I had already collated.

To me it feels similar to my first album — a small group of vocalists, productions that are fairly stripped down and a project filled with emotion. These songs are what I feel to be the most interesting musical stories I’ve made to date.

Though perhaps more importantly than how, why SAVE YOURSELF is coming now has to do with the current cultural and sociopolitical climate. Culturally, albums now feel like a means to prove you are a “real” artist. To release an album, you turn yourself over to traditional label cycles and the end of increasing sales, leaving behind the creative spirit that brought the music to life in the first place.

The title SAVE YOURSELF and the visuals reflect my personal mood on what’s happening in the world and society on a macro and micro level. Whether that be racism, xenophobia, the environment or irresponsible greedy politicians. All this while thinking about how incredible it will be when humans actually reach and settle on another planet. As an artist it feels strange to me to create simply happy music without being effected by current world affairs. Through the music too, I’m reflecting my constant state of nostalgia for the future. A dark optimism, for one that seems ever far reaching. So the title and artwork reflect this. Where we go next but also where we are now.

2. GOOD MORNING (feat. The-Dream)
3. I FEEL YOUR PAIN (feat. D.R.A.M. & Mabel)
4. TBD (feat. Sampha)
5. REVERT (feat. The-Dream)
8. BURY YOU (feat. The-Dream)

VA: Young Turks – YT14

young turks

YOUNG TURKS are pleased to announce the release of YT2014, a compilation that celebrates the London based independent label’s year of releases. The 5 artist, 5 track CD and download formats feature the best known tracks by the five artists who have released music on Young Turks in 2014 – Jamie xx, FKA twigs, Sampha, SBTRKT and Quirke. The limited edition LP (out 20th January) will also carry an additional selection of rare or unreleased music from all five artists.

2014 began with the release of Sampha’s ‘Too Much / Happens’ 7”. Sampha has been working on new solo material this year, while also working with long time collaborator SBTRKT. SBTRKT himself, released his second album ‘Wonder Where We Land’ in September and is currently taking his acclaimed live show around the world.

Recent Young Turks signing ‘Quirke’ released his ‘Acid Beth EP’ in May. The EP is an insight into the world of Josh Quirke, a London based producer making music that could only exist in the current generation of genre confused electronica.

2014 also marked the return of Jamie xx. The producer released two limited edition singles ‘All Under One Roof Raving’ and the AA-side ‘Girl / Sleepsound’. As well as working on new music with both The xx and his own solo album, Jamie spent much of 2014 playing shows around the world and last month picked up the ‘best video’ Q Award for Girl.

Lastly, 2014 saw the meteoric rise of FKA Twigs. The much talked about singer, producer and director is currently in the middle of her largest tour to date, playing shows across the UK, Europe and North America. Since it’s release in August, her debut album ‘LP1’ has received worldwide critical acclaim and was one of twelve albums to make the shortlist of the 2014 Barclaycard Mercury Music Prize.

CD Format Tracklist:
1. Sampha – Too Much
3. Quirke – Break A Mirrored Leg
4. Jamie xx – Girl
5. FKA twigs – Two Weeks

LP Format B-side Tracklist:
1. Sampha – Answer (unreleased instrumental)
2. SBTRKT – Tamagochi (Deluxe LP bonus track)
3. Quirke – Acid Beth (Lizzie Mix) (exclusive new remix)
4. Jamie xx – Sleep Sound
5. FKA twigs – One Time (deluxe LP bonus 7” track)

No. 13: SBTRKT – Wonder Where We Land #blogovision2014


Aaron Jerome aka SBTRKT discuss about Wonder Where We Land: “The more I grow as an artist, the more I feel I’m moving away from the speeds of how music is listened to or accepted in this day and age… I want to make something that is super-immersive and that you can find extra layers in with more plays.” (spotify link)

Video: SBTRKT – New Dorp. New York. feat. Ezra Koenig


SBTRKT has just released this animated clip for the “Wonder Where We Land” cut, New Dorp, New York, which features Ezra Koenig of Vampire Weekend.

SBTRKT – Higher feat. Raury


Below you can stream “Higher,” the latest single from SBTRKT‘s upcoming “Wonder Where We Land” LP for Young Turks, featuring Stateside MC Raury. The London producer’s forthcoming LP includes further collaborations with Sampha, Koreless, and Jessie Ware, among others and is now currently set to be available beginning October 7th 2014.

SBTRKT – New Dorp, New York feat. Ezra Koenig


Aaron Jerome aka SBTRKT will soon release his new album, Where We Land. The London producer has shared the record’s artwork along with a creepy teaser video for the LP, which can be watched below. In addition, SBTRKT unveiled a new track “New Dorp, New York”, which features the vocals of Vampire Weekend’s Ezra Koenig.

SBTRKT feat. Sampha – Temporary View


SBTRKT has shared “Temporary View,” a brand new collaboration with Sampha. SBTRKT’s new LP is expected to drop later this year. Until then, listen to Temporary View below.

SBTRKT – Runaway

As the masked producer SBTRKT said: "collab with friends jessie ware, tic and a sprinkle of sampha from 2 years back! happy 2014."


New music from Young Turks’ resident masked man SBTRKT album recordings (un mixed/mastered) in memory of his brother Daniel. Visuals co-collaboration Lorenzo Durantini + A Hidden Place (the anonymous designer behind SBTRKT’s masks and artwork).