Blog Archives

Sasse – Vincent EP


Next up on Moodmusic is the boss himself, Sasse, with his first new material since the excellent Ani EP on My Favorite Robot early in the summer. Here he offers three moving originals and a Lanzarote mix rounds out the package.

Klas-Henrik Lindblad is the long time finnish deep house and dub techno talent who runs this label. He has done for 20 years now and always manage to offer up moods and grooves that are authentic and atmospheric and perfectly designed for the more knowing dancefloors. That is the case again here across all three originals.

Opening the account here is ‘Gino’ which is a melodically enriched track that has big and busy bass synths squirrelling about above firm kicks. Pixelated patterns rain down the face of the track and overall it has a raw and subtle electroclash feel that is sure to make a mark. The Lanzarote Mix has a colourful disco feel to it thanks to the rugged arps, explosions of melodic colour and pumping drums. It’s a fresh re-work that adds a totally different spin to the groove.

The vital ‘Vincent’ is a heavyweight track with big drums and cavernous dub chords. Run through with a meandering synth line it has jack in the percussion but real soul in the synths whislt shades of Detroit colour it and mark it out as a fine bit of work.

Last of all, the glorious ‘Gloria’ is a slow burning but sweeping ten minute opus of rolling rubbery drums, magical synth patterns and watery sounds that are fluid, loose and dramatic.

Once again Sasse’s serious studio skills shine though in all the tracks on offer here. Out on October 21 on Moodmusic.

1. Gino
2. Gino (Lanzarote Mix)
3. Vincent
4. Gloria

Sasse – Eko Masala


The ever-impressive Mina Recordings is back this December with a digital-only release from Sasse, ‘Eko Masala’ including a heavy hitting remix from label boss Masaya.

Since it’s formation in 2008 the small & perfectly formed label has delivered a string of successful releases in the realms of elegant house and techno. At the helm of Mina is swiss-based producer and selector Claudia Ayala who has been making waves with a series of impressive releases on labels such as NUM, Perspectiv and of course her own imprint Mina. The multi-talented producer and label head can boast an impressive roster featuring a plethora of talent with names like Ripperton, Nhar, Petar Dundov and Sabota & Grenier.

For this EP Claudia has invited the prolific production abilities of Sasse. The Moodmusic man utilises pulsating bass, shifting drums and brooding synths to map out an hypnotic and dynamic groove for his original ‘Eko Masala’. On remix duty Masaya dishes up an expansive techno cut layered over lush melodies, driving baselines and captivating rhythms to wrap up the EP in powerful form.

01 Eko Masala
02 Eko Masala (Masaya Remix)

Stelios Vassiloudis & Sasse – Refuse

Berlin-based Klas Sasse Lindblad teams up once more with Athens’ Stelios Vassiloudis to drop some more pure pressure for Audiomatique – subsequent to their 2013 release ‘Options & Futures’. Sasse has been making house for the best part of 20 years, both for his own Moodmusic label and many other imprints. Stelios Vassiloudis has also carved out his own niche, not least via his debut album on John Digweed’s Bedrock label.

Here they combine their strengths again for this exceptional release – ‘Refuse’ is a deep, snarling house bomb, dripping in sex and sweat. The bassline struggles to free itself from its moorings, mutating and evolving menacingly over the tight, driving rhythm.

Play with caution – things may get messy. Johannes Brecht’s remix takes things even further down the rabbit hole – strange bleeps and blips tear through the track, which has been streamlined into a slick tech workout. Beatport customers also get access to the killer dub version, which somehow manages to tame the wild bassline but turns up the heat on the groove. Out on May 19.

Stelios Vassiloudis & Sasse – Options And Futures EP [2013]

Greek producer/dj Stelios Vassiloudis (pictured above) teams up once more with Berlin-based Klas Sasse, following their 2011 outing on Bedrock. This time round, the pair find a home with Audiomatique, and use it as the perfect platform to launch another assault on the dance floor. The ‘Options and Futures EP’ sees the well-traveled collaborators speculating on house’s enduring ability to thrill. The original mix fires along at pace, building and building via frenetic synths, and a well-placed vocal stab that references some of the kinetic energy of early house. The whole thing holds together perfectly and is as euphoric a moment as you will hear this year – this will ring out on floors across the globe. The Phonogenic mix is a different affair – a deeper more spacey voyage but maintaining the taught sense of tension throughout. Dubbed out effects lend it a very late night appeal, somewhere between the main room and the after party.