Blog Archives

Katy B x Chris Lorenzo – I Wanna Be

katy b

Katy B has just shared a brand new track, taken from her forthcoming collaborative album ‘Honey’, called ‘I Wanna Be’, a collaboration with Birmingham house luminary Chris Lorenzo. It’s a yearning and transcendent Balearic house track anchored by an emotive falsetto hook and fit for an Ibiza sunset. Katy recently said of the track: “when I heard Chris’ beat, I felt quite euphoric… like it’d be in that moment when you’re with someone you like and end up kissing them. When you decide not to play it cool but just go for it”.

‘I Wanna Be’ follows ‘Who Am I’ with Major Lazer and Craig David, the KAYTRANADA-produced album title track, and ‘Calm Down’ with Four Tet and Floating Points, each showcasing a different facet of the stylistic palette found the album, and Katy’s ability to bring together wide ranging musical sources to a forward thinking whole. The project sees her teaming up with some of the hottest artists and producers around, running the gamut from the underground to the top of the charts, with further collaborations with J Hus, Wilkinson, Jamie Jones, Sasha Keable, Novelist, Hannah Wants, Mr. Mitch, D Double E, MssingNo and many others.

‘Honey’ is released April 29th via Rinse/Virgin EMI. Katy will be playing her biggest London show to date on May 14th, when she headlines Brixton Academy.

Faze Miyake – Ice Cold feat. Inga Copeland


Grime producer Faze Miyake will release his self-titled debut album on October 2nd through Rinse, and features collaborations with Little Simz, Sasha Go Hard, Inga Copeland, and Family Tree. Below you can stream the lead single, Ice Cold featuring Inga Copeland.

Faze Miyake tracklist:
01. The Nest (feat. Little Simz)
02. Burciaga
03. Ice Cold (feat. Inga Copeland)
04. Ocean Drive
05. Below Me (feat. Sasha Go Hard)
06. Firefly
07. None Of That Stuff (feat. Family Tree)
08. Fusion
09. Snow Leopard
10. What U Say (feat. Izzy Brooks)
11. Yung Sneyga

Laura Clock – Baby Part One EP

laura clock

Next release on Rinse comes from Laura Clock, with a four-track EP of spacious, melody-driven songs named Baby Part I. Clock crafts a music that is alive with contrasts . Shimmery in tone yet shot through with powerful sub-bass and percussive trickery, her songs feel simultaneously weightless and overpowering, and pack a striking emotional resonance. Baby Part I marks the follow-up to her acclaimed 2013 debut First Prom, released under the name ButterClock . It was written, produced and recorded by Clock over the course of 2014 following several years of near-constant touring, and explores similar lyrical themes to its predecessor – “sad love , melancholia and dancy beats,” as she puts it. “‘Cause we never really change, do we? Dancing at crying at the same time, forever.”

Yet Baby Part I nonetheless finds her in a distinct sonic place: subtler, bolder and more expansive in vision. That shift is crystallized in lead track ‘Fade’, a translucent dancehall-of-mirrors of an electronic pop song that finds Clock wandering through a maze of reggaeton rhythms and glassy-eyed melodies. The same sense of being adrift in sound and light runs throughout the EP. Exquisitely spaced-out ‘Fantasy’, produced by Ana Caprix, weaves sound, mood and lyrics into an inseparable whole – Clock sings of becoming “lost inside” as her voice half-melts into its surroundings, swallowed up by chiming melodies and blinding-white synth drifts. ‘Cold’ is both moving and quietly uneasy, her lyrics delivered with an achingsynthetic bite. Finally, ‘Slowly’ is a headlong soundclash between Clock’s sorrow-laden voice, synthetic choral synths and crunching rap beats, featuring a fast-paced turn from rapper Nina B – the EP’s most striking moment and its dizzying emotional peak.

Video: Skream – Rollercoaster feat. Sam Frank

Here’s the video for London dubstep producer Skream‘s disco-infused single “Rollercoaster”, featuring vocals from frequent collaborator Sam Frank. Skream’s “Rollercoaster” will drop on October 28 via Rinse, backed with remixes by the likes of Jimmy Edgar, Curses, Hrdvsion, Route 94, and Dimitri From Paris. Pre-order here. Directed by Ian Robertson.

Video: Krystal Klear feat. Jenna G – Addiction

Here is the video for “Addiction” from Manchester based producer Krystal Klear, featuring Jenna G. The track is set for release on Sept 1 through Rinse.

Kode9 – Uh / Ok EP [2013]

Following on Kode9′s Rinse:22 amazing compilation (that came out on May 21), the Hyperdub boss has just released a two-track EP titled Uh / Ok, uncovering a thrilling point of contact between grime, broken UK house and the disorienting lurch of trap. Buy digitally here and on vinyl here.