Blog Archives

Flash Atkins – The Life and Times LP

Flash Atkins 2

Following on from the extremely well received lead single “Levenshulme Orphanage For Boys”, enigmatic yet charismatic DJ and producer Flash Atkins is ready to unveil ‘The Life and Times’, his latest full length album and one that tells quite a story.

Written in Flash Studios in Hebden Bridge, the album covers an array of musical styles from house to disco, chug funk to bass heavy bangers and afro rhythms to 80s influenced cosmic beats. As well as dynamic production and a keen sense of groove, the whole album is based on a short story of the life of Flash that will be published as a comic at the same time. The track and chapter titles are one and the same to provide a listening experience that tells a tale and reflect the mood of the story as well as blowing up dancefloors.

Says Flash of his creation. “I wanted to create an album that drew inspiration from my 20 years making music and DJing. You can hear classic disco (‘Saved By The Fall’), post dubstep (‘Forbidden Flesh’), Dirtybird (‘Summer Of Love’), Theo Parrish (‘Drug Empire’), Afro (‘Squatting’), Nu Disco (‘Badger From The North’), 90s US deep house (‘The Wilderness’), ALFOS sounds (‘Levenshulme Orphanage For Boys’), Todd Terje (‘Acid House Creator’) and Metro Area / Balearica (‘A New Kind of Superhero’)”

For a more in depth look into the mind of Flash Atkins and the thought process behind the LP, the concept album’s short story “The Life and Times of Flash Atkins” can be found in the accompanying text. There will also be a phone game, limited edition Flash Atkins beer and look out for a video coming shortly which finds Flash getting into mischief at customs in Tromsø airport!

Hugely ambitious and creative in so many ways, this album is already looking like one of the highlights of the year and another milestone for the ever excellent Paper Recordings and Flash Atkins. Out on May 11th 2015.

01 Levenshulme Orphanage For Boys
02 The Wilderness feat. Sally Garozzo

03 Saved By The Fall

04 A New Kind of Superhero feat. Aggie Frost

05 Acid House Creator

06 Summer of Love feat. Sally Garozzo
07 Drug Empire
08 Forbidden Flesh feat. Danielle Moore
09 The Size Of The Dog
10. Squatting
11 Badger From The North

Ralph Myerz & The Kosmik Diamondz – Stay Kosmik EP

RalphMyerz-5051 2

The long running and always excellent Paper Recordings label keeps up the pressure here with a new three track EP from Ralph Myerz & The Kosmik Diamondz.

Ralph Myerz is a long time associate of Paper and this new EP features the lead track from his forthcoming album. Ralph has been a cornerstone of the Norwegian dance scene since the early 90s when he broke globally with the Jack Herron band and “Think Twice”. Since then he has built up an eye watering body of work that ranges from jacking Chicago house and techno to nu-disco, deep house and hip hop.

Says Ralph on the making of the EP, “I love Jupiter, both the Planet and the synthesizers, so both have been in use on this album. To be nerdy I mixed it on the mixer that Eurhythmics used for their Sweet Dreams LP and fed it through a whole bunch of stuff like Roland Space Echo and some cool compressors and stuff. And I love the Roland ProMars too!

‘Acid 4 Eddie’ opens things in purposeful style with taught drums and nerve jangling synths. It’s a slo-disco affair that grows ever more cosmic and lively thanks to Ralph’s inventive synthetic sounds and colourful sound palette. Ripping and rasping synth lines bring some energy and clipped vocals add a human element that finishes the track perfectly.

Next up, ‘Hello Space’ is another fulsome bit of deep disco with terrific synth lines and dancing melodies underpinned by rubbery, well-driven drums. The percussion, too, is sharp and prickly and the twitching synth stabs really make the track stand out.

Finally, ‘Lett Sommarmat’ is a fierce and skyward affair with uplifting chords, ripples of synth and gorgeous melodies all wrapping around each other in a truly cosmic alliance. Trumpet toots and lush string sweeps add a sense of cool and class that really set it apart.

On the evidence of these magical intergalactic sounds, Ralph Myerz next album is sure to be a sensational affair.

Stay Kosmik EP is out on July 24th 2014 via Paper Recordings. Preview it below.