Blog Archives

Miajica – I Forgot About Love EP


Miajica follows up on his “Second Spring” EP with two massive balearic anthems supported by remixes from Acid Pauli and Wareika.

There is a certain melancholy yet highly optimistic mood that Miajica is good at conjuring during his more elaborate and emotional tracks. The two originals on his ‘I Forgot About Love’ EP are probably the best examples in his discography of such a mood, since both the Middle Eastern themed ‘I Forgot About Love’ and the dubby ‘Au bord de l’eau’ are deep and emotive, groovy and immersive long-play tracks, devised for that ideal club crowd that likes to indulge in the process, catching every detail.

Acid Pauli and Wareika contribute even more brilliant detail work, retouching the originals in surprising and sophisticated ways. Acid Pauli chisels the melody, rhythm and structure and gives his ‘I Forgot About Acid’ remix a completely new flow, creating a tangible world of new sounds and superb musical moments. Wareika take their original – already an Alma Negra dub – out of its comfort zone and rework it into an anthem by adding more sustain, extra spatiousness, an honest, universally-applealing vocal hook and perfecting everything around the soothing melody with the help of their own instrumentation.

Released on Origami Sound. Wareika’s Vocal Dub of “Au bord de l’eau” will be available exclusively on the 12″ release, while the instrumental version replaces it on the digital version.

A1. I Forgot About Love
A2. I Forgot About Love (Acid Pauli Remix)
B1. Au Bord de L’eau (Alma Negra Dub)
B2. Au Bord de L’eau (Wareika Vocal Dub)

Kitkaliitto – Pleasure Disorder EP

Kitkaliitto - Pleasure Disorder (Artwork)

Romania’s Origami Sound drops Kitkaliitto’s ‘Pleasure Disorder’ EP this June comprising six original tracks from the Finnish outfit.

Origami Sound : Kitkaliitto come from Finland and are a really loose band in terms of membership – there can be one to five people in the studio just jamming together and what they usually generate is a music-driven stream of consciousness that also materialized through the years into these 6 exquisite tracks on their Pleasure Disorder EP.

They use analog and digital synths, guitar, bass, flute and sometimes have guest vocalists. Even though everything happens impromptu, there’s more to these jam session than words could describe, hence the results are nothing short of amazing. They’ve been together, on and off, as Kitkaliitto for 10 years and their taste-range has led them in and out of electronic music, yet these tracks sound as timeless as music ever gets, six downtempo compositions that ooze the playful intimacy that can only be attributed to the decade of crafting a strong, remarkable sonic personality.

After hearing them on Natura Sonoris 4 years ago we connected through Borealis’ “Voidness” where they were featured as remixers. We are proud to provide the platform for their sophomore release, 6 years after their debut on Kann Records and we are already excited about the Reverend Slim remixes EP that will follow later in the year.

Credits : All tracks are written & produced by Tommi Koskinen (songwriting, production) and Niko Ryytty (songwriting, guitar).
Guests: Maarit Multala (flute) on Reverend Slim and Things To Come, Ville Aaltonen (violin) on Fireside Affairs, Petteri Sariola (additional guitar & bass) on Acid Mother Funk and Fireside Affairs

1. Reverend Slim
2. Acid Mother Funk
3. Ferry Song
4. Fireside Affairs
5. Looking Glass
6. Things T o Come

Trampique – Opscope LP


“Opscope” is Alex Frolov’s third album in 14 months under the Trampique guise and it only goes to show that putting the Volor Flex alias at rest (at least for a while) changes nothing in how incredibly prolific this multi-faceted artist really is.

The solar system-themed collection of tracks leaves its concept to be discovered in the music, as always. Each of the ten tracks channels emotions and states of mind that render genre names obsolete, making this journey through planets a legitimate exploration of an incredible spirit’s universe.

Out now on Origami Sound/Dark Glover; get it here.

Deapmash & Raito – Den Start / Stop EP (Incl. Strip Steve & BS1 Remixes)


Late February will see Origami Sound sub-label Clubwerks offer up Deapmash & Raito’s ‘Den Start / Stop’ EP, backed with remixes from Boys Noize Records artist Strip Steve and BS1.

The Clubwerks imprint is Origami Sound’s sub-label dedicated to distinctive club focused material spanning many genres of electronic music. Here we see it welcome back French artist Deapmash following up his Complex EP on the label in late 2014, pairing up with newcomer Raito in this instance to deliver two uncompromising Techno infused workouts.

First up is ‘Den Start’ which sees the duo employ menacing bass tones and tension building atmospherics alongside crunchy broken rhythms and infectiously hooky vocal loops. The second original from the pair follows, entitled ‘Stop’ and retaining a similar frenzied aesthetics with its intricately programmed, ever- evolving drum lines working with eerie pads, dubby stab sequences and heavily processed vocal chops to create yet another weighty peak-time number.

On the latter half of the package we see two remixes offered up, the first of which comes from Boys Noize Records very own Strip Steve who provides an equally punchy interpretation laid out over five minutes with a subtly blossoming feel. The BS1 remix then rounds things off and tips the focus over to a bubbling acid tinged feel with swirling synth modulations, squelchy 303 style hooks and meandering drum sounds.

Deapmash & Raito’s ‘Den Start / Stop’ is out on Clubwerks February 23rd 2015.

1.    Den Start
2.    Stop
3.    Stop (Strip Steve Remix)
4.    Stop (BS1 Remix)

Trampique – The Voice of Color LP


Volor Flex releases his second album as Trampique. “The Voice of Color” is a 10-piece moodboard that browses through almost as many states of being.

Following the personal diary that was “Face To Face”, this album is where Alex (aka Volor Flex) explores a wide variety of previously uncharted sonic territories with the technical and musical delicacy that makes him a future classic among emotional electronic music composers. Out now on Dark Clover / Origami Sound. Get it here.

JoeFarr – Keep Me Logged In EP

UK producer JoeFarr strikes again with a gorgeous new EP for Origami Sound, containing two more subdued techno cuts as well as the hard-hitting yet just as groovy ‘It’s Yours’. Juxtaposing playful tones, melodic synths and fuzzy textures with the rawness of JoeFarr’s trademark sound, this is tuneful techno at its best.

Two of the artists on remix duty need little if no introduction at all – the impeccable Dutch duo TWR72 and Belgian producer / DJ Raving George, both with releases on London-based Bad Life flavour up ‘Deftoca’ and ‘Confide’ with their very own, very recognizable signature styles. The third remix is by one of the label’s latest signings, Aarhus-based prodigy Variete, whose debut EP will be released on June 2nd 2014.

JoeFarr’s Keep Me Logged In EP is out now; get it here.

Video: Volor Flex & Encode – Frontiere

Here’s the video edit for Altiplano’s b-side from Volor Flex‘s 6 tracks long 12″ with Encode. Out in early October on Dark Clover / Origami Sound. As a bonus, check out Volor’s remix  for Borealis’ Womb, out today.