Blog Archives

Felix Da Housecat – Queer / The Natural


Chicago house legend Felix Da Housecat has released the official video for “Queer (feat. Romina Cohn)”. The brooding, seductive visual stars Romina Cohn herself, who takes directing credit for video as well. It’s a sultry, morbid ride — brace yourself.

Felix has also released a brand new remix of “Queer” by Swiss producer Dave The Hustler who twists the original into a slow burning tech house anthem.

“Queer” comes from Felix Da Housecat’s brand new album Narrative Of Thee Blast Illusion, which represents Felix in his element and at his most nuanced, showcasing an ever-evolving sonic palate while retaining the inimitable groove throughout.

His first release since 2011’s Son of Analog, Narrative sees Felix (who has collaborated with everyone from Diddy to Nile Rodgers) return to the fore at the top of his game after more than three decades of making musical history with his most soulful and introspective record yet.

Alongside the new video for “Queer,” also worth a close look is the official video for album track “The Natural” featuring reggae production legend and dub pioneer Lee “Scratch” Perry. View the trippy visual below.

Narrative Of Thee Blast Illusion is out now via NYC label No Shame.

Walking Shapes – In The Wake (Lane 8 Remix)

lane 8

Acclaimed producer Lane 8, who has just released his new album Rise via Anjunadeep, has remixed track “In The Wake” by New York indie-rock five-piece, Walking Shapes. A poolside disco groover, Lane 8 graces his signature sparkle on the driving original creating a slow-building summer jam that is well worth the final payoff. Listen to the remix below and click here to buy on iTunes.

The original “In The Wake” is taken from the Walking Shapes’s debut album Taka Come On, out now via No Shame | Mishu Music. The Lane 8 remix comes ahead of a further three excellent remixes of Walking Shapes track “Feel Good”, reworked by Jonas LR, FRZN and Z A N D A, which will be released on July 31.

Walking Shapes released the deluxe edition of their debut album Taka Come On earlier this year, recorded with producer Gus Oberg (The Strokes, Ryan Adams, Willie Nelson). Walking Shapes is the living and breathing result of a creative environment centered in a house on Kingsland Avenue in Brooklyn owned by visual artist Joseph Grazi. “People show up and hang out until five in the morning and that energy has swirled into our scene and core group of friends,” says violinist Jesse Kotansky. The band carries forward that kind of collective energy, injecting the spirit of the city’s noises and the souls of its people into their songs, with the resulting frenetic charge and emotional waves feeding back the sound of the city that never sleeps. Walking Shapes are comprised of Nathaniel Hoho (vocals, guitar), Jesse Kotansky (guitar, violin, vocals), Jake Generalli (keys, vocals), Dan Krysa (bass, vocals) and Christopher Heinz (drums).

Pompeya – Liar (Jerome LOL Remix)


Pompeya have just released the Jerome LOL remix of recent single “Liar.” The release follows this week’s premiere of brand new single “Pasadena”. Both “Liar” and “Pasadena” are off the Moscow-based band’s upcoming album Real, set for release May 5 via No Shame.

Real was co-produced by Brian Mctear (Local Natives, War on Drugs, Twin Sister), who also collaborated with the band on the Night EP, and was recorded in Philadelphia, New York City, Savannah, and Orlando—all places Pompeya had never been before. Real album pre-order.

Pompeya is Daniil Brod (vocals), Sasha Lipisky (keyboards) and Denis Agafonov (bass). Formed in 2010, their debut Tropical earned the band significant popularity in their home country, extensive touring followed in Eastern Europe. In 2013, Tropical was re-released in the U.S. through the Brooklyn label No Shame.

REAL Tracklist:
1. Anyway
2. Pasadena
3. OOOOO (Cry About It)
4. To the Orient
5. Real
6. Liar
7. Hysteria
8. Tell Me, Tell Me
9. To A Kid
10. Last One