Blog Archives

New Build – Luminous Freedom Remixed EP

new build

After a busy year of Hot Chip commitments, New Build return this autumn with an EP entitled ‘Luminous Freedom Remixed’. The original track, ‘Luminous Freedom’ is taken from New Build’s self-produced debut album, ‘Pour It On’. Watch the official video below, directed by George Wu. The video itself features a range of “famous faces”, from Roald Dahl and Nick Cave to Brad Pitt and Ringo Starr.

‘Luminous Freedom Remixed’ is a 6 track EP of diverse remixes. Taking the lead on remix duties is house and techno wizard Tim Green and the Berlin experimental pop adventurer, rRoxymore. Further interpretations come courtesy of newcomer, Darkly who blends pop sensibilities with darker, industrial sounds and renowned techno producer, Phil Kieran. The package is topped off with a remix of ‘Look In Vain’ by DFA’s golden boy, Sinkane.

‘Pour It On’ is New Build’s celebrated album of rich, monolithic dance music, featuring the vocals of Al Doyle (Hot Chip, LCD Soundsystem) alongside Felix Martin (Hot Chip) and Tom Hopkins. Steered by the band’s love of 70s folk visionaries, vintage British science fiction and modern techno, the messages woven into the album are both poetic and political.

The ‘Luminous Freedom Remixed’ release coincides with Hot Chip’s UK, US and European tour, kicking off on 13th October.

Video: New Build – Pour It On

new build

London trio New Build, aka Hot Chip’s Al Doyle and Felix Martin with engineer Tom Hopkins, have shared the video for their latest single “Pour It On”, the title track from their recently released second album on Sunday Best Recordings. Directed by Richard Heslop. Performance Piece Devised and performed by Rachel Gomme.

As a bonus, download for free the Table Man’s remix of the track below, via DFA Records.

Video: New Build – Look In Vain

new build

London-based trio New Build, aka Hot Chip’s Al Doyle and Felix Martin along with studio engineer Tom Hopkins, have shared the video for their new single “Look In Vain”. Taken from ‘Pour It On’, their new album out on October 20th 2014 on Sunday Best Recordings. Directed by Jason Bradbury.