Blog Archives

Mirror People – Dance The Night Away feat. Hard Ton EP

Mirror People_Promo_PIC

Mirror People is a Portuguese new wave-disco musical project fronted by the multi-instrumentalist, DJ & producer Rui Maia. After a string of solid releases on labels such as Discotexas, Permanent Vacation, Gomma and Exploited, Mirror People steps up to deliver a on his own label, Belong Records.

Title track ‘Dance The Night Away’ opens things up, a funk-infused disco track, with funk guitars, pulsing bass and an emotive string section, featuring Italian duo Hard Ton, providing lush vocals and Sylvester styled falsettos.

‘Look Out’ is a perfect balanced combination between Maia’s early 80’s NYC ‘Talking Heads – Larry Levan – Arthur Russell’ inspired production and classic Chicago House vocals by the DFA / Defected producer James Curd. The track employs a solid beat, a brass section and experimental guitars.

The Pixel82 remix of title track ‘Dance The Night Away’ then rounds things off and gets things moving with a more house focused style layered with a punchy bass line and protruding rhythms.

Mirror People’s ‘Dance The Night Away’ is out on Belong Records 28th September 2015.

1. Dance The Night Away ft. Hard Ton
2. Look Out ft. James Curd
3. Dance The Night Away ft. Hard Ton (Pixel82 Remix)

Mirror People – Voyager LP

mirror people

Mirror People’s debut album entitled “Voyager” is out now. The nine-track record, which was written during the past two years in Lisbon, features plenty of collaborations, including the producer James Curd (DFA Records), Rowetta (from The Happy Mondays) & Hard Ton amongst others.

Rui Maia aka Mirror People, combines electronic production skills with his ability to play synthesizers, bass, guitar and other instruments which makes his tracks a mix between 70’s disco, new wave & today’s indie-dance flavor. Download “Voyager” for free at NOS Discos here. Comes in a lovely gatefold digipack card case; get it here.

01 – I Need Your Love (Ft. Maria do Rosário)
02 – Look Out (Ft. James Curd)
03 – Telephone Call (Ft. Rowetta)
04 – Dance The Night Away (Ft. Hard Ton)
05 – Moonflowers
06 – Foolish Man (Ft. Maria do Rosário)
07 – Come Over (Ft. Iwona Skwarek)
08 – Nothing to Give (Ft. Rebeka)
09 – Ruby Went Out Dancing (Ft. Thunder & Co.)

Video: Mirror People – I Need Your Love

mirror people

After releasing a string of solid releases on labels such as Discotexas, Permanent Vacation, Gomma, and Exploited, not to mention his collaborations with Iwona Skwarek (of Polish synth-pop duo Rebeka) and Rowetta (of Happy Mondays fame), Mirror People is now getting ready to drop his debut album, entitled “Voyager”.

Before its release February 23rd 2015, we’re treated to the record’s first single “I Need Your Love”, a deliciously disco-flavored tune featuring vocals from Maria do Rosário. Download here. The video is a remix version of the original work “Stars – Theory of Relativity”. Directed by Geoff Taylor & Katelin Arizmendi.

Xinobi – Puma Remixes EP [2014]

The Discotexas collective reaches out to a fine selection of remixers to tackle two The Discotexas collective reaches out to a fine selection of remixers to tackle two different tracks by Discotexas co-owner Bruno Cardoso a.k.a. Xinobi from his Puma release. Chosen to rework the material are Mirror People, Malente, Bufi and Moullinex.

Up first, Mirror People who released on labels like Permanent Vacation and Bear Funk as well as Discotexas. His remix of ‘Woods’ is a joyous and colourful one with dancing piano chords, skipping beats and plenty of happy disco dazzle. There’s sufficient jack in the beats to make it a floorfiller without losing any of the musical charm of the rest of the track.

Malente of No Brainer Records then gets dirty on his nice and rough sounding rework of ‘Puma’. He strips it back to a curious melody lead, squelchy percussion and driving bassline that will have dancefloors all marching in happy unison to the locked on drums.

Bufi has also released on this label before now as well as on Kitsune, and his take on ‘Woods’ is a dark, tense thing with a taught bassline, airy vocal stabs and plenty of depth. A stunning breakdown is laced with plenty of tension before the groove lands again and sweeps you off your feet.

Xinobi’s Discotexas partner, Moullinex is a highly acclaimed producer creating many different styles of music and has won fans across the board from NME to Mixmag. His re-work of ‘Puma’ is a stunning, sunny thing that has plenty of wiry synths, funky basslines and organic percussive hooks at its core. Vocal yelps help bring a party starting human element and the whole thing feels warm, humid and inviting.

Each of the four remixers here very much bring their own flavours to the table and breathe plenty of new life into what was already fantastic source material by Xinobi.