Blog Archives

Phil Kieran – Blinded By The Sun Remixes Part 2

Almost a year since Phil Kieran released Blinded By The Sun, and following on from Roman Flügel and Andrew Weatherall remixes, Hot Creations return with a second remix package. Mano Le Tough, Matthew Herbert and David Holmes join forces to create a set of flawless cuts.

Revered by his peers, Kieran has been producing music for over a decade, building on his solid reputation and forever pushing boundaries with his music. When selecting the second group of remixers, Kieran chose “people who have influenced me and still currently do, in some way I guess they have a connection to the record already. I made a wish list of who I wanted and to my surprise it all seemed to come together very quickly”.

Both heralding from Ireland, Mano Le Tough aka Niall Mannion was an obvious choice for Kieran due to the shared dedication of their craft, and leaves a deeply emotional imprint on Solar Storm. In 2013 Mannion released his debut album Changing Days on Permanent Vacation, soon followed by Resident Advisor ranking him #8 in their Top 100 DJs Poll.

Similarly to Kieran, English musician and producer Matthew Herbert regularly ignores the restraints associated with dance music, instead choosing a path of innovation. Taking Realities Forgotten into the early morning hours, Herbert punctures a swinging rhythm with electronic glitches.

David Holmes under his Unloved alias concludes the package with a cinematic remix of Think Too Much, overflowing with emotion, it makes the perfect conclusion to a stellar release. Also from Belfast, Holmes has been composing music for over two decades, winning his second Ivor Novello award in 2016.

Release Date: 23/06/2017, Label: Hot Creations

Lianne La Havas – Lost and Found (Matthew Herbert Remix)


DJ Koze and Marcus Fink’s Pampa Records have shared another brand new track from their upcoming “Various Artists – Pampa Vol. 1” compilation.

Matthew Herbert’s masterful new remix of Lianne La Havas’ track takes the raw pain of the original and adds a crackly house beat and rhythmic bassline – giving the song a joyous club-ready spin.

The compilation also features new tracks from longtime label artists such as Axel Boman and Isolée, and newcomers including Jamie xx, Gold Panda and Mount Kimbie.

Matthew: “I loved the original track and one day I was in a hotel room in Italy and took an mp3 of the finished track and tried to chop it in to shape before a gig. I don’t normally do this kind of thing, so feel a bit awkward about the whole affair.”

“Various Artists – Pampa Vol. 1” album released 29th April 2016 on Pampa Records.

Sasha Siem – Proof (Matthew Herbert Remix)

SashaSiem_078 LOWRES

Anglo-Norwegian newcomer artist Sasha Siem is releasing a new single and remix bundle called ‘See Through’ on May 25. This Matthew Herbert remix of Sasha’s track ‘Proof’ will feature on the release. ‘Proof’ is taken from her debut album, Most Of The Boys, which was released through Blue Plum Records on March 2, 2015.

Herbert – One Two Three


Veteran electronic producer Matthew Herbert will release his next four-track EP under his house moniker “Herbert” via his own Accidental imprint. Part 6 EP is the first “Herbert” release in eight years and will drop on June 23rd 2014. Below, you can stream the EP’s great lead cut, “One Two Three.”