Blog Archives

Video: Neneh Cherry – Kong

Iconic artist Neneh Cherry today reveals the video for single ‘Kong’, produced by Four Tet and Massive Attack’s 3D.


massive attack

Massive Attack have marked the passing of 20 years since the release of Mezzanine by encoding the album into DNA. This is the first time that an entire album has been stored in this way.

In 1998 Mezzanine became the first album to be made available as a free stream from the internet using Real Audio player.

Today, on the anniversary of its release the process of writing the DNA has begun – an acknowledgement that it could be an answer to the problem of archiving the increasing amount of information that the world is creating.

Robert Del Naja is especially interested in the idea that the synthesised DNA can be added to paint or ink and where that might lead in the creation of art and artefacts.

Massive Attack employs technology developed at ETH Zurich by Professor Robert Grass and his team.  They also partner with the Zurich-based company Turbobeads and the U.S. company, CustomArray to realise the project.

Gonjasufi – Your Maker (Daddy G Remix)

‘Your Maker’ Remix by Daddy G of Massive Attack. Out now on Warp Records.
Free Download –

Massive Attack – Dear Friend

massive attack.png

On Saturday 3rd September, Massive Attack will perform a sold-out, 27,000 capacity headline show at Bristol’s The Downs. To mark the occasion, they will release a limited-edition 12” of new track ‘Dear Friend’, featuring poet and vocalist James Massiah.

Co-written and produced by Robert del Naja and Euan Dickinson, the ‘Dear Friend’ 12” will only be available at The Downs event. It will feature two versions of the song and is limited to 300 hand numbered copies, with special artwork produced in conjunction with The Vinyl Factory.

‘Dear Friend’ was first previewed on Massive Attack’s sensory music app Fantom. The track will be more widely available, digitaly and on 12” vinyl, soon

Massive Attack will be joined at The Downs by Tricky, Young Fathers, Primal Scream, Skepta and Savages.

Video: Massive Attack – The Spoils feat. Hope Sandoval


Massive Attack today release the music video for ‘The Spoils’. The video stars Cate Blanchett and is directed by John Hillcoat, best known for his directorial work on films such as The Road, Lawless and The Proposition.

Watch the video for ‘The Spoils’ right now HERE:

‘The Spoils’ features vocals from Hope Sandoval and is part of a two-song Massive Attack release, along with ‘Come Near Me (ft. Ghostpoet)’. The Ed Morris-directed video for Come Near Me (which debuted on 29th July) stars Kosovan actress Arta Dobroshi and can be seen HERE.

Both ‘The Spoils’ and ‘Come Near Me’ are written and produced by Massive Attack’s Daddy G and collaborator Stew Jackson. The release is the follow up to January’s ‘Ritual Spirit’ EP, which was written and produced by the band’s Robert del Naja and collaborator Euan Dickinson.

Massive Attack are performing live across Europe throughout the summer.

Stream / buy ‘The Spoils’ and ‘Come Near Me’:
iTunes –
Apple Music –
Spotify –

Video: Massive Attack, Ghostpoet – Come Near Me


Massive Attack have released two new songs featuring vocals from Ghostpoet (Come Near Me) and Hope Sandoval (The Spoils). Below you can watch the official video for “Come Near Me”, starring Kosovan actress Arta Dobroshi and directed by Ed Morris. Stream “The Spoils” here. Get both tracks here.

Video: Massive Attack, Azekel – Ritual Spirit

kate moss

Massive Attack have just released the video for ‘Ritual Spirit’ (taken from the EP of the same name released earlier this year) staring Kate Moss. A film by Medium/Robert Del Naja.

Check it out here:

Me and Kate have been friends for years, but had never collaborated, so last year we booked a studio with Medium and set up a shoot. During the session Kate was dancing in the dark, lighting herself with a naked bulb. She perfectly captured the essence of this track… intimate and ritualistic. We edited it back in Bristol to keep it raw with no re-touching, I didn’t want to lose the spirit of that moment.

Kate Moss:
I have always been a huge fan of Massive Attack and 3D has been a friend for many years. When he asked me to collaborate with him I didn’t have to think twice. I always thought their visuals were amazing and I was proud to be in this video.

Download / Stream the ‘Ritual Spirit’ EP
Official Store:

Video: Massive Attack feat. Young Fathers – Voodoo In My Blood


Massive Attack have today premiered the brand new video for ‘Voodoo In My Blood’. Directed by Ringan Ledwidge, the video is available to watch right now here:

Am I involved?… Someone said the girl in the video looks like me. I have been to the Joe Strummer subway. I did have a strange encounter there once.” – Rosamund Pike

‘Voodoo In My Blood’ is taken from Massive Attack’s ‘Ritual Spirit’ EP, which was written and produced by the band’s Robert del Naja and long term studio collaborator Euan Dickinson. The track features vocals by Young Fathers, described by Del Naja as “currently the best band in the world”. The EP also features the return of Tricky (on ‘Take It There’) in addition to collaborations with Roots Manuva (‘Dead Editors’) and newcomer Azekel (‘Ritual Spirit’).

‘Voodoo In My Blood’ is the second film to be made for the ‘Ritual Spirit’ EP, It follows the Hiro Murai-directed video for ‘Take It There’, which starred the Oscar-nominated actor John Hawkes.

Massive Attack – Ritual Spirit EP


Massive Attack return with the ‘Ritual Spirit’ EP. Released today (Thursday 28th January) via Virgin/EMI, the EP features the return of Tricky (on ‘Take It There’) in addition to collaborations with Young Fathers (‘Voodoo In My Blood’), Roots Manuva (‘Dead Editors’) and newcomer Azekel (‘Ritual Spirit’).

The EP was written and produced by Massive Attack’s Robert del Naja and long-term studio collaborator Euan Dickinson. A second Massive Attack EP, written and co-produced by Daddy G, will be released in the spring, with an album to follow later in the year.

‘Ritual Spirit’ EP track list:

1. Dead Editors (Massive Attack & Roots Manuva)
2. Ritual Spirit (Massive Attack & Azekel)
3. Voodoo In My Blood (Massive Attack & Young Fathers)
4. Take It There (Massive Attack, Tricky & 3D)

Download / Stream the ‘Ritual Spirit’ EP
Official Store:

To mark the EP release, Massive Attack have today premiered a brand new video for ‘Take It There’. Directed by Hiro Murai and starring Oscar-nominated actor John Hawkes, the ‘Take It There’ video is available to view here:

The release of the ‘Ritual Spirit’ EP follows the launch of Massive Attack’s ‘Fantom’ app last week.

massive 2.jpg

Meanwhile, Massive are currently touring the UK and Europe. The new live show is designed by Robert del Naja and long time visual collaborators United Visual Artists, with support coming from Young Fathers.

Massive Attack – Fantom app

massive attack

On 21st January 2016 Massive Attack launch ‘Fantom’

Developed by a team including Massive Attack’s Robert del Naja, ‘Fantom’ is a sensory music player that remixes and reforms songs uniquely using a variety of environmental variables including location, movement, time of day, heartbeat and the integral moving image camera.

In addition to a constantly evolving listening experience, ‘Fantom’ also allows users to create and record unique audio-visual clips which can be shared and saved and easily shared via socials, SMS and peer-to-peer channels.

‘Fantom’ is available for free via the iTunes App Store from 21st January here:

For further information on ‘Fantom’, head to