Blog Archives

FABRICLIVE 100: Kode9 & Burial

Pre-order the mix here.

Burial – Rodent

Roots Manuva – Crying (Kode9 Remix)

roots manuva

First played on his recent Radio 1 Residency show, Kode9 remixes Roots Manuva’s ‘Crying’. Watch the video for ‘Crying’ here (via Noisey).

Also, Roots Manuva celebrates Record Store Day with yet another cutting-edge vinyl packed with the kind of combination of “bass and verb” which has made him one of the UK’s most essential musical artists. Off the back of the universally-acclaimed Bleeds album, Manuva has cooked up three brand new tracks to go alongside the astounding ‘Crying’ and ‘One Thing’ from that collection. 

All 5 tracks are produced by Switch under his new production banner With You. With You are Switch and Daouda Leonard (assisted by Stabber), on this outing, with a little help from their friends Crookers,Toddla T, Coldcut and were written, recorded and produced at his studio in Los Angeles during the Bleeds sessions.

Kode9 – Nothing LP


‘Nothing’ is Kode9’s first solo album, after Memories of the Future (2006) and Black Sun (2012) which were both made with The Spaceape, long time friend and collaborator who died in 2014 after a prolonged battle with cancer.

‘Nothing’ is obsessed with zeros. The album throws horror soundtracks, sampled library records, and j-pop into a no mans land between grime, early dubstep and Chicago footwork.

Mostly instrumental, it zigzags between hypnotic, downcast loops, growling drones, jagged cut-ups of androids gone haywire, threaded through twitchy, transatlantic rhythms and sub-bass inaudible through your laptop speakers.

In 2016, in collaboration with simulation artist Lawrence Lek, Kode9 will tour a live a/v set which revolves around an evacuated, fully automated, luxury hotel known as ‘The Notel’.

The album will be available on CD / Digital and Special Edition 2 X LP, worldwide. Due on 6th November.

1. Zero Point Energy
2. Notel
3. Void
4. Holo
5. Third Ear Transmission feat. The Spaceape
6. Zero Work
7. Vacuum Packed
8. Wu Wei
9. Casimir Effect
10. Respirator
11. Mirage
12. 9 Drones
13. Nothing Lasts Forever


Kode9 & The Spaceape – The Killing Season EP

killing season ep

The Killing Season EP is the first collaborative release from Kode9 & the Spaceape since their 2011 album Black Sun. The lyrical themes explored on The Spaceape’s 2012 Haitian inspired EP “Xorcism” are expanded. The emotional, spiritual and psychological effects of living with illness and the “unknown” are dissected wryly, but often with unforgiving brutality in this new batch of songs.

‘Chasing A Beast’, depicts a nightmarish scenario where the cards are clearly stacked, culminating with our character’s nemesis, “..a white magic woman” offering “..a gun or a knife”.

‘Devil is a Liar’, spits in the eye of those who live in fear of “burning in hell”. “The greatest trick the Devil ever was convincing the world he didn’t exist”.

‘Heart’ unhooks the life support and strips back the beats onto which The Spaceape grieves for this “vital organ”, languidly delivering a litany of deceit and betrayal perpetrated by our “souls sacred ghetto”.

‘Pictures on the Wall’ wryly paints its own picture of the stasis one finds oneself in, as images stare back, depicting a world far from their own.

Finally, ‘Autumn has Come’ maps the body onto a decaying city as Winter approaches. Under the strain of impairment, the City still glimmers in sunlight, defiantly looking ahead to the change in season despite growing uncertainty.

‘The Killing Season EP’ is due out on October 27th 2014 on Hyperdub. Watch the video for “The Devil Is A Liar” below.

VA – Hyperdub 10.1

Hyperdub is now 10 years old. Founded by DJ and producer Kode9, the label has grown from its humble origins as a left-field dubstep label, and spread out to function as a cross-genre hub, absorbing sounds and ideas, keeping listeners on their toes, and refreshing itself while still maintaining its core sensibilities.

To celebrate, Hyperdub will release four compilations which cluster thematic highlights from the last five years, all augmented with new material, as well as staging a number of international showcase events across the year.

First up comes ‘Hyperdub 10.1’, a double CD covering the label’s dance floor dimension. Disc 1, , features almost all new material from Hyperdub regulars such as Kode9 & The Spaceape, Quarta 330 and DJ Rashad, along with old and new allies. Opening with the oddball groove of DVA’s ‘Mad Hatter’, we move into young Detroit producer Kyle Hall’s ‘Girl U So Strong’, a slow builder that culminates in a blissed-out g-funk groove, Mala’s ‘Expected’, a rock solid, melancholy half-step bulldozer, Kuedo’s ‘Mtzpn’ (which made a teasingly brief appearance on Kode9’s Rinse 22 mix in 2013), Morgan Zarate’s recently released martial snare anthem, ‘Kaytsu’ and Helix’s club-ready remix of Kode9’s 2013 ‘Xingfu Lu’. We also welcome back Flowdan, who appeared on early label hit ‘Skeng,’ with the malevolent, Footsie-produced ‘Ambush’.

The pace picks up on the second half of the CD with a volley of woozy and twisted footwork from most of the key members of Chicago’s Teklife crew. Taso & Djunya’s Darwinian ‘Only The Strongest Survive’ descends into DJ Spinn’s bombastic ‘All My Teklife’, DJ Taye’s fizzling R&B jam, ‘Get Em Up’, the immaculate diva vocal cut-up of ‘I’m Gonna Get You’, DJ Rashad and Gantman’s squiggly banger ‘Acid LIfe’, and the stone cold ‘Icemaster’ by Heavee. Earl, Rashad & Taye’s ‘Bombaklot’ takes Hyperdub full circle with a yardcore bomb like a 2014 upgrade of the label’s early days. Disc 1 is brought to a close with ‘Chasing A Beast’, a new gnarly hip hop track from Kode9 & The Spaceape, and Tokyo-based ally Quarta330, who crafts in ‘Hanabi’ an epic, uptempo synthesiser jam.

Disc 2 spotlights 17 high points of Hyperdub’s last half-decade, proven dance floor material from the grittier end of UK funky, grime, dubstep, hip hop and footwork. Artists featured include Burial, Cooly G, Champion, DVA, Funkystepz, Ill Blu, Walton, Ikonika, Kode9 & The Spaceape, Morgan Zarate, Mark Pritchard & Om’mas Keith, Terror Danjah & Riko, DOK, LV ft. Okmalumkoolkat, and DJ Rashad.

‘Hyperdub 10.1’ is more an ammunition belt than an album. Keep it locked for news of 10.2, 10.3 and 10.4 across 2014. Out on May 19 (pre-order).


01. DVA – Mad Hatter
02. Kyle Hall – Girl You So Strong
03. Mala – Expected
04. Kuedo – Mtzpn
05. Kode9 – Xingfu Lu (Helix Remix)
06. Morgan Zarate – Kaytsu
07. Flowdan – Ambush (Produced by Footsie)
08. Taso & Djunya – Only The Strong Survive
09. DJ Spinn – All My Teklife
10. DJ Taye – Get Em Up
11. DJ Earl – I’m Gonna Get You
12. Heavee – Icemaster
13. DJ Rashad & Gant Man – Acid Life
14. DJ Earl – Bombaklot feat. DJ Rashad & DJ Taye
15. Kode9 & The Spaceape – Chasing The Beast
16. Quarta 330 – Hanabi

01. Burial – Spaceace feat. The Spaceape
02. Cooly G – It’s Serious feat. Karizma
03. Champion – Bowsers Castle
04. DVA – Natty
05. Funkystepz – Hurricane Riddim
06. Ill Blu – Clapper
07. Walton – Aggy
08. Ikonika – Idiot
09. Kode9 & The Spaceape – Am I
10. Morgan Zarate – Hookid
11. Mark Pritchard – Wind It Up feat. Om’mas Keith
12. Terror Danjah – Dark Crawler feat. Riko Dan
13. DOK – East Coast
14. Terror Danjah – Bruzin VIP
15. LV – Sebenza feat. Okmalumkoolkat
16. Kode9 – Xingfu Lu
17. DJ Rashad – Let It Go

Kode9 – Uh / Ok EP [2013]

Following on Kode9′s Rinse:22 amazing compilation (that came out on May 21), the Hyperdub boss has just released a two-track EP titled Uh / Ok, uncovering a thrilling point of contact between grime, broken UK house and the disorienting lurch of trap. Buy digitally here and on vinyl here.