Blog Archives

Noir & HRRSN – My Fault (Remixes)


Following the great success of the Beatport no. 1 single ‘Angel’, Noir recently unveiled another standout and remarkably forward thinking listen in the form of ‘My Fault’, which now features a 3 track remix package from John Tejada, Manuel Tur and Alberto Ruiz.

John Tejada and Manuel Tur both add a darker edge for their reworks, with John Tejada going for a more purist approach to provide a commanding piece of minimal techno, whilst Manuel Tur injects intense rhythm and delicate melody to his edit. Alberto Ruiz then turns ‘My Fault’ into a techno dub by only using essential parts of the track and delivering a super floor functional piece.

‘My Fault’ is a sneak peak into the forthcoming debut album that’s set for a release in the spring of 2015. Perfectly setting up an album that will explore the darker edges of electronic music, ‘My Fault’ entices the listener for what’s to come, for the album will be a distillation of Noir’s career that has spanned over 10 years. Renowned for his diverse podcast series and eclectic DJ sets, fans can expect a beautifully balanced combination of vocal heavy songs and tracks that range from electronica through to techno and delve into a deeper, more melancholy realm of production; presenting Noir as very much the artist and musician as producer and DJ.

With a lauded discography that counts prominent labels such as UK’s Defected Records and Berlin-based imprint Get Physical as supporters, the Danish producer and label owner is massively respected for both his visionary A&R and production skills.

With Noir Music entering its eighth year, Noir’s expertise as a house music tastemaker have resulted in success’ with rising stars such as Hot Since 82 and Finnebassen both breaking through on the label. With further support coming from some of the industry’s most highly regarded visionaries such as Carl Cox & Pete Tong, Noir continues his ascent into the upper echelons of global dance music with what is set to be a definitive year of releases.

John Tejada – Signs Under Test LP

john tejada

Los Angeles-based dreamy techno producer John Tejada will return to Kompakt to deliver his third album for the label, Signs Under Test.

“There’s a bit more dreamy tape wobble going on throughout, as I’ve gone quite analog tape with my delays and patches—on the verge of actually being broken, which gives them a nice character… Everything is built from the ground up using hardware synths—mostly analog, but that’s a bit annoying to say nowadays. It’s not a record that fits in with any current stuff, but something that hopefully holds up as it ages.”

Tejada’s Signs Under Test LP is set to be released on February 2nd 2015. In the meantime, you can stream album cut “Y 0 Why” and check out the full tracklist.

1. Two 0 One
2. Y 0 Why
3. Beacht
4. R.U.R.
5. Vaalbara
6. Cryptochrome
7. Rubric
8. Penumbra
9. Endorphins
10. Meadow
11. Heave in Sight

Alessio Mereu – ThreeplusOne EP

Alessio Mereu

Amam label-founder Alessio Mereu drops the ‘ThreeplusOne’ EP via Amam this July, accompanied by remixes from John Tejada, Martinez and Ferlin.

Italian artist Alessio Mereu launched the Amam imprint in 2010 and since it’s birth has released material from a number of leading names in intelligent, understated electronic music, namely Jay Haze, LoSoul and Avatism to name but a few. Mereu himself has also been releasing material since the tail end of the last decade, consistently delivering striking and forward thinking material via the likes of Poker Flat, Cocoon, Turning Spork, Contexterrior and of course his own, Amam label.

Across the ‘ThreeplusOne’ EP we’re treated to four original tracks from Alessio and three remixes, opening things up is ‘Three In One’ a dynamic, ever-blossoming composition which ebbs and flows through hypnotic atmospherics and bumpy rhythms. This is followed by ‘Sore’ which tips the focus over to mind-bending, swirling synth sounds, while the robust yet sparse percussive aspects generate a driving feel to the groove.

L.A’s John Tejada steps up first on remix duties, reshaping ‘Sore’ with his signature groove-led electronic style, remoulding the original cut into a pulsating, dubbed-out number. Making the subsequent ‘Overpay’ from Mereu a perfect fit with its bubbling, spaced-out, and echoing feel. Sleep Is Commercial’s main man Andrea Ferlin turns in his ‘Mosh Mix’ of ‘Overpay’ next, the Berliner treats us to his typically stripped-back style making for a unique and charming interpretation on the original cut.

The package is then rounded off with one last original from Alessio and a reshape from Martinez, ‘Bagel’, lays the foundations with organic percussion, penetrating subs and ethereal pad lines closing the original material on a deeper tip. Then Martinez rounds things off with his ‘Swirling Dub Mix’, and as the name would suggest the Danish producer drops a psychedelic, low-slung take on ‘Bagel’ to well and truly close the package in style.

Alessio Mereu’s ‘ThreeplusOne’ EP is out on Amam on July 21st 2014.

1. Three In One
2. Sore
3. Sore (John Tejada Remix)
4. Overpay
5. Overpay (Ferlin’s Mosh Mix)
6. Bagel
7. Bagel (Martinez Swirling Dub Mix)