Blog Archives

JETS – The Chants


Jimmy Edgar & Machinedrum return as JETS with forthcoming 4-Track EP.

JETS sophomore official release, their highly anticipated debut on ULTRAMAJIC see’s the two artists display an approach to production that deals in the paradoxes and ambiguities of both studio songwriting and raw live performance; a somewhat soothing amalgamation of disproportion, But also weirdly right, evident that despite Edgar and Stewart’s careers sharing striking parallels, they have know each other for…well forever.

The 4-track EP reassembles a long-scattered sketchbook of songwriting confidence that the pair have filled with drawings of cosmic rhythms, experimental sounds and other analogue obsessions.

“Our first record was more of us finding out space and creating a new environment of sound to work with. This release was much more about exploring the building of our creation”

“U-N-I’s’” colour and pallor coming as much from the soulful palette of Jamie Liddell’s vocal performance as the dirty turps the pair washed their synthetic brushes in.

JETS production finesse, awash with a delicate nocturnal mood as analogue drums meet colorful chords against a nightscape of glossy darkness.

“We spent a lot of time on the sounds, which were mostly from digital hardware sources. We also focused on the recording process more than ever, as we mixed the record on mastering equipment and experimented with bouncing parts onto tape”

The sounds that often many attribute to Jimmy or Travis as solo artists are slowly transpiring to be the opposite, their respective contrasting styles not only behaving with vibrant influence over one another but in turn establishing an exciting benchmark in electronic music songwriting.

A1) “The Chants”
A2) “U-N-I”
B1) “Pyrite Blue”
B2) “Pink Beat

Tour Dates:
– 5/25 – Movement Festival / Detroit, MI
– 5/30 – We Love Green Festival / Paris, FR
– 6/6 – Parklife Festival / Manchester, UK
– 6/18 – Sonar Festival / Barcelona, ES

JETS releases ‘The Chants” through ULTRAMAJIC on May 11th.

JETS feat. Jamie Lidell – Midas Touch (Machinedrum Version)

JETS, a.k.a. the collaborative project of Jimmy Edgar and Machinedrum, will drop its next effort on January 27th in the form of a two-track 12" featuring two cover versions of Midnight Star’s mid-’80s classic "Midas Touch." The single features Warp’s resident soulman Jamie Lidell on vocals and is backe with Machinedrum’s own solo version of the tune on the flip. Out via Berlin’s Leisure System imprint. Stream "Midas Touch (Machinedrum Version)" in full below.