Blog Archives

Video: The xx – On Hold (Jamie xx Remix)

At the end of 2016, The xx announced their return and news of a new album (I See You) with the lead single ‘On Hold’. An undoubted highlight of one of the year’s most critically acclaimed albums, ‘On Hold’ has quickly become one of The xx’s biggest songs to date.

Today, the band’s very own Jamie xx reveals his ‘On Hold’ remix – his first official remix in over four years. It comes accompanied by a ‘remix video’ from Alasdair McLellan, who made the original ‘On Hold’ video and has been a key I See Youvisual collaborator. McLellan also created videos for recent xx singles ‘Say Something Loving’ and the star-studded I Dare You’ video (a collaboration with The xx and Raf Simons which featured, among others, Millie Bobby Brown, Ashton Sanders, Paris Jackson, Lulu and Ernesto Cervantes).

Watch the Alasdair McLellan-directed ‘On Hold (Jamie xx Remix)’ video HERE

‘On Hold (Jamie xx Remix)’ is available from today via all digital services. It will also be available as a limited (to 1000 copies worldwide) edition 12”, backed with Four Tet’s much talked-about remix of The xx’s ‘A Violent Noise’ 

Fans can pre-order the 12” HERE

And stream / download the release HERE

Live: The XX feat. Florence Welch – You’ve Got The Love

Last night The xx performed the final show of their Night & Day residency at London’s iconic Brixton Academy, and Florence Welch joined them onstage for a special performance of Jamie XX’s 2009 remix of ‘You’ve Got the Love’

You can check out some great fan footage here:

The xx – I See You LP


Thursday 10th November 2016 – The xx today announce details of their highly anticipated third album. Titled I See You, the ten song album will be released on 13th January 2017 via Young Turks. I See You is the follow up to The xx’s two previous albums – xx and Coexist – which have sold over 3 million copies between them, winning a host of accolades along the way.

I See You marks a new era for the London trio of Romy Madley Croft, Oliver Sim and Jamie Smith, both sonically and in terms of process. For while xx and Coexist were both made in relative isolation in London, I See You was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Marfa TX, Reykjavik, Los Angeles and London, and is characterised by a more outward-looking, open and expansive approach. Produced by Jamie Smith and Rodaidh McDonald, I See You is The xx at their boldest yet, performing with more clarity and ambition than ever before.

You can hear this clearly on lead single ‘On Hold’, the first piece of music to be revealed from the album. Available from today, you can stream / download ‘On Hold’ HERE or below:

The xx – I See You tracklist:
1. Dangerous
2. Say Something Loving
3. Lips
4. A Violent Noise
5. Performance
6. Replica
7. Brave For You
8. On Hold
9. I Dare You
10. Test Me

I See You will be available on CD, LP and digitally, with each physical format featuring a debossed mirri board sleeve. There will be three different vinyl versions of the album, with full product descriptions as follows:

– Standard Vinyl: 10 tracks, in a debossed mirri board sleeve with a download enclosed for the US and CD copy of the album in EU/UK

– Indie Vinyl: 10 tracks on limited-edition clear vinyl, in a debossed mirri board sleeve with a download enclosed for the US and CD copy of the album in EU/UK. Available only via independent record stores.

– Deluxe Box Set: Silver mirri board debossed box containing the album on 180g heavyweight vinyl, with an extra 12” including 3 bonus tracks, album CD, enhanced CD featuring a live video of bonus track ‘Brave For You (Marfa Demo)’ and 3 exclusive prints by Alasdair McLellan.

I See You is released on 13th January 2017. Pre-order it HERE

Jamie XX – SeeSaw feat. Romy (Nic Fanciulli Remix)


Here’s the latest remix from Nic Fanciulli, a rework of Jamie XX ‘SeeSaw’.

Having produced and DJ’d for over twenty years, the Saved Records label head and Social Festival creator also recently just announced his first ever solo Ibiza residency ‘We Are The Night’ this summer. Taking over Pacha with Bicep, &ME, Joris Voorn and Kolsch among others.

In between an international tour schedule which has seen him touch down in the middle east, Australia, New Zealand and North America so far this year, he’s been working towards his long awaited debut album which will be due for release in the upcoming months.

His forthcoming remix for Jamie XX ‘SeeSaw’ ft Romy showcases his production capability to its finest. Listen to the remix here:

Jamie xx + Four Tet + Romy – Seesaw (club version)

four tet jamie xx

One of the best tracks of 2015 gets a hypnotic club version by Four Tet. Stream below.

HONNE – Loud Places (Jamie xx Cover)


HONNE put their mark on Jamie xx’s standout record from 2015 – Loud Places for Huw Stephens on Radio 1’s Piano Sessions.

No. 1: Jamie xx – In Colour

“In Colour was composed over a five-year period, with Smith struggling to finish the music once he had started making it. Smith wanted to make an album that sounded like it did not come from any particular era, a dance music record that blends styles of UK garage, house and rave… It gatheres up elements of everything he’s done, moody ballads, floor-filling bangers, expansive and off-kilter collaborations with vocalists.”

Spotify blogovision 2015 playlist

Jamie xx – Loud Places feat. Romy (John Talabot’s Higher Dub)



Barcelona’s house master John Talabot has already released a remix of Jamie xx “In Colour” standout track “Loud Places” featuring Jamie’s the xx bandmate Romy Madley Croft. Now, he’s ready to release a white-label 12” that includes two new dub versions of the track.

Below, you can stream the amazing “Higher Dub” version of the track. Out soon on Young Turks.

Jamie xx feat. Romy – Loud Places (Mike Simonetti’s Dark Places Remix)


Jamie xx’s “In Colour” standout “Loud Places, featuring his fellow the xx bandmate Romy Madley Croft, has now another killer (and dark) remix by New Jersey-based producer/DJ Mike Simonetti (formerly of Italians Do It Better). Download for free here.

Jamie xx – Loud Places Remixes

jamie xx

We’ve already heard John Talabot’s excellent ‘Loud Synths Reconstruction‘ of “Loud Places”, featuring his fellow the xx bandmate Romy Madley Croft. The London producer has released a remix EP, featuring five reinterpretations by the likes of John Talabot, Tessela, Barnt, Matthew Herbert and Special Request (aka Paul Woolford) under his  guise. Still waiting for Talabot’s great dub version to come out..

The EP is out now digitally on Young Turks, with a physical edition to come out in October. Buy it here.