Blog Archives

Throwing Snow – Clasp

throwing snow

Throwing Snow aka Ross Tones kicked off an EP trilogy back in April with “Lumen” b/w “Paint by Numbers,” and the second installment in the series, “Glower” b/w “Clasp,” will be out this week. Stream its b-side, Clasp, below. Out on July 17 on Houndstooth.

Throwing Snow – Lumen / Paint By Numbers

throwing snow

Throwing Snow returns to Houndstooth with a pair of club-focused tracks which retain the evolving melodic elements in evidence on his debut album ‘Mosaic’. Written with a set of self-prescribed rules, the results have become key parts of his ever-changing live set.

‘Lumen’, which debuted on Four Tet x Jamie XX’ s BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix, marries a shimmering, yearning melody with restless broken beats and a purring bassline. ‘Paint By Numbers’, on the other hand, goes for the jugular with a pulsing 4/4 and soaring synths, attracting the attention of George Fitzgerald who premiered the track on his BBC Radio 1 show. According to Throwing Snow, both tracks are “built for the summer, yet seen through a wintery prism.” Get them here.

Throwing Snow – Avarice EP

throwing snow

Ross Tones aka Throwing Snow released his adventurous debut album “Mosaic” this summer on Houndstooth and he’ll close the year by revisiting a few of its key tracks.

Along with ‘Avarice’, the single features a dancefloor-ready VIP of the title track (posted here) and a VIP of ‘As You Fall’ that features London vocalist Py. The release is rounded out by an actual-deep-house take on ‘Hypnotise’ by Will Saul and Komon.

Stream the single below. Out on December 1st via Houndstooth.

Throwing Snow – Avarice VIP

throwing snow

UK producer Ross Tones a.k.a. Throwing Snow has shared the VIP rework of “Avarice”, the title track of his forthcoming 12″ on Houndstooth. The single will include two versions of “Avarice, which first appeared on his debut “Mosaic” LP back in June, along with “As You Fall VIP,” which features London-based artist Py and a closing remix of “Hypnotise” from Aus label head Will Saul with Komon and vocalist Kid A.

“Avarice” will drop on December 1st 2014.

Soft as Snow – Glass Body

soft as snow

Norwegian duo Soft as Snow makes experimental pop for the interplanetary set, echoing the sounds of minimal wave and early Warp releases. Their approach to music making is hands-on; avoiding laptops in favour of analogue synths, drum machines and samplers, mixed with idiosyncratic vocals and heavily processed guitars. They’ll be releasing their debut EP, ‘Glass Body’, for Houndstooth on July 21st 2014.

Soft as Snow is Oda Egjar Starheim and Øystein Monsen’s first electronic venture, yet their collaboration was initiated years ago through art related performances and projects – including creating their own utopic art and music festival in the Swedish forest, and performing at events in cities such as London (where they are now based) and Oslo.

The duo has invited Julie Born Schwartz to design the cover art for their EP, which also features a remix by Asher Levitas of Old Apparatus, Saa and Penny. Meanwhile, their first upcoming video for the track “Halo Heart,” created by Michael Crowe from Overshare Records, Penny and Mysterious Letters, is currently on display in DZIALDOV Gallery in Berlin.

Glass Body can be pre-ordered on 12″ (cut to heavyweight 180g vinyl by Matt Colton) from the Houndstooth store:

Throwing Snow – Mosaic LP

throwing snow

“Mosaic” is the amazing debut LP from UK producer Ross Tones aka Throwing Snow, which is out today via Houndstooth. The LP features 11 tracks, piecing together dense electronic hybrids with tense basslines and airy melodies. A number of vocal collaborators by the likes of Py, KNOX, Kid A among others, help render the productions into more intimate affairs.

Throwing Snow’s debut full-length effort can be streamed in full below.

Throwing Snow – Avarice

‘Avarice’ is the opening track from Throwing Snow’s debut LP ‘Mosaic’, released on Houndstooth on June 2.

Throwing Snow feat. Adda Kaleh – The Tempest

UK producer Ross Tones, a.k.a. Throwing Snow is set to release a new four track EP on Houndstooth, called "Pathfinder". 

"The songs on Pathfinder are a route into a greater portion of work, giving a sense of what is to come. The overall sound palette and feelings portrayed are what matter, not genre, and the intention of Pathfinder is to be listened to on journeys. The track titles on the EP are meant to reflect the music itself, with lead single “The Tempest” building into sounds of a storm and “Pathfinder” evoking a tense and lost feeling before opening out into a clearing."

London-based producer has also signed "an exclusive album deal" with Houndstooth, likely indicating that a Throwing Snow full-length may be in the works. Above, you can stream the EP opener "The Tempest", which features Romanian vocalist Adda Kaleh. Out on March 25.

George FitzGerald – I Can Tell (By The Way You Move) (Paul Woolford Remix)

Following the release of the official video of George FitzGerald‘s amazing Double Six-released single "I Can Tell (By the Way You Move)", techno vet Paul Woolford turns FitzGerald’s tune into a more straightahead techno fare. Released on October 21 on digital & 12”, featuring the original, Paul Woolford and The Cyclist remixes. Woolford’s also been making noise with his jungle-nostalgic Special Request project (which has an LP, Soul Music, out October 7 on vinyl and October 21 in 2CD and digital formats via Fabric‘s Houndstooth label).

Video: House of Black Lanterns – You, Me, Metropolis EP [2013]

House of Black Lanterns is Dylan Richards, who might be best known for producing dark, twisted dubstep and dancehall as King Cannibal. Under the moniker House of Black Lanterns, the beatmaker followed up his debut album Kill the Lights with the You, Me, Metropolis EP for Fabric‘s Houndstooth label, and just sent over the first video for one of its tracks, “Worthless.” Stream clips from the EP below.