Blog Archives

Lil Silva – Caught Up feat. Cosima

lil silva

After announcing his upcoming JIMI EP to be released May 13th via Good Years, Lil Silva is back today to share “Caught Up”, a second track off the project. The track features vocals from budding UK songstress Cosima (Twitter @cos1ma). The soulful depth to the song reiterates the EP’s layered complexities that untangle themselves in a culmination of profound reflection.

Lil Silva shares, “‘Caught Up’ is about not knowing what’s right from wrong anymore and being so wrapped up in something that you almost can’t see the reality of what you’re really in. The idea of living a life that could get you killed and not being able to see an alternative outside that. I feel people see things in such a selfish way and sometimes need to step back in order to really see whats going on around you, everything moves so fast now that if we were to slow down and really think then maybe we wouldn’t feel so trapped in a situation we believe to have no control of getting out of and therefore living a lie that ends up being your life. It’s not a love song.”

Last week, Lil Silva also released a George FitzGerald remix for the EP’s debut track “Lines”. Stream “Caught Up” above and find the “Lines (George FitzGerald remix)” below.

Lil Silva – Lines

Lil Silva’s new EP sees him exploring love and meaning in his unique hybrid UK production idiom.

Less tied to the frenetic pace of his ‘for club play only’ instrumentals, ‘JIMI’ sees him modulate through textures, in a meditative state of mind, traveling his inner visions and memories. Silva’s vocals are weaved through tracks ‘The Play’, ‘Lines’ and ‘Struggle’ while newcomer Cosima contributes to the spine-tingling ‘Caught Up’ and Los Angeleno singer Kent blesses the epic night time soul of ‘De Ja’.

A compulsive music maker who often averages 80 tracks a week, Lil Silva (real name TJ Carter) is the producer from Bedford who started out working with the iconic early grime crew Macabre Unit, progressed to collaborating with kindred spirit Sampha, shaping the dusky breakout sound of BANKS and entering 2016 having co-produced a track for Adele with Mark Ronson (‘Lay Me Down’).

The new EP sees his signature blend of metallic techno samples, UK hardcore continuum sub bass and syncopation as well as twilight soul and R&B dramatics.

2016 is set to be another trend setting year for Lil Silva. As well as the new 6 track EP he is using his own LS white label for a collaborative special project vinyl release designed by Virgil Abloh of Off-White.

Track list
1. The Play
2. Lines
3. De Ja ft. Kent
4. Jimi
5. Caught Up ft. Cosima
6. Struggle

LIil Silva – 606

lil silva

606 is the first track taken from Lil Silva‘s next release. Good Years 010 is a release aimed strictly for club play. Three tracks that demonstrate why Bedford’s Lil Silva is one of the countries leading production lights.

He has developed a machine funk that is 100% his own. Part afro-centric syncopation, part UK grime sub-lo energy and partly filled with Timbaland-like idiosyncratic sonic ticks.

Lead track ‘Drumatic’ comes tearing out of the vinyl grooves with unidentified midrange sounds that could be from Herbie Hancock’s ‘Watermelon Man’ before surging waves of sound energy power the track forward into this decade. ‘New Squeeze’ builds silky electronic tension around complex polyrhythms and ravey filtered stabs, racing into a dynamic rolling drop. ‘606’ carries his signature ‘Lil Silva’ name tag over a matrix of vocal and 808 samples, rooted in minimalism but with his unique swing.

More ear drum stunners to add to Lil Silva’s groundbreaking discography. Out on May 11th 2015.

Video: Lil Silva – Mabel


Coming off his recent announcement of new Mabel EP for Good Years, Lil Silva has today premiered the video for the title track and new single on Dazed Digital. Director Laura Coulson explains, “this video was a subtle homage to Silva’s grandmother Mabel, whom the song was about“.

The single grabbed instant attention for its warm rhythm and fluid hook. The old familiar Lil Silva is there in the weighty thuds and tinny kick, but the fluid R&B hook shows the new one is in control. ‘Mabel’ is the artistic unfolding of a unique British producer. Both reppin’ his ends and gliding into uncharted waters.

Lil Silva – Mabel EP

lil silva

London producer Lil Silva will release his new EP, Mabel, on August 4th 2014, via True Panther (in US) and London’s Good Years imprint. The 5-track EP will feature the beatmaker’s own voice along with a pair of collaborations with LA vocalist Banks. Below, you can stream the first taste of the EP, the title track “Mabel”.

01 First Mark
02 Kimmy
03 Don’t You Love (feat. BANKS)
04 Mabel
05 Fight For You (feat. BANKS)

Banks – Waiting Game

Rising LA-based electronic singer/songwriter Banks returns with her best track yet, the dramatic, SOHN-produced “Waiting Game,” taken from her forthcoming EP, out soon on Harvest Records / Good Years Recordings.

Video: Lil Silva – No Doubt feat. Rosie Lowe

As you may recall, UK producer Lil Silva is set to drop his latest EP, The Distance, on August 5 via Good Years. He has just shared a video for EP track “No Doubt,” which features his first outing on vocals alongside London songstress Rosie Lowe. Check it out below.

Lil Silva – The Distance EP [2013]

UK producer Lil Silva has announced the release of a new EP, The Distance which will feature guest vocal spots from London songstress Rosie Lowe and SBTRKT collaborator Sampha, sharing its first single ahead of release via Good Years label. Before the release of the EP on August 5, you can stream “Mask” below.

01 No Doubt feat. Rosie Lowe
02 One Twenty
03 Salient Sarah feat. Sampha
04 Mask

Video: Banks – Warm Water

We’ve already blogged about “Warm Water”, the brand new single from rising LA-based electronic singer/songwriter Banks, roduced by Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs. Check out the black-and-white official video by Dylan Knight. Out now via Good Years Recordings.