Blog Archives

ATTAR! feat. Induce & Santana – 45 Days EP [2014]

ATTAR!, the solo project of Belgian producer/DJ Renaud Deru, has just released “45 Days” on Eskimo Recordings. This nu-disco track features vocals from Santana and Induce, and is backed with remixes by French producer Douze, and Sleazy Deep boss Rob Made, plus an English version of the original track. Get your copy here.

Video: Deft – Emeralds

Following the release of his Always Greener EP last month via Wotnot, Croydon-based producer Deft has unveiled a new video for EP hypnotic cut "Emeralds." Directed by Jack Carmelo & Thomas Rafferty.

Video: KNOX – Redline

Brother and sister Nic and Eliza Coolidge are KNOX, a duo that pairs smoky vocals with equally hazy electronics. Their third EP, Thieving of Well, is out now on Boysnoize, and also features a remix by Throwing Snow. Below you can watch the official video for the lead track, Redline. In case you missed it, check out the video for the title track from their 2012 "Here" EP.

Video: ZHU – Faded

Faded is taken off ‘The Nightday’ EP, LA artist, producer and vocalist ZHU’s debut release. The EP consists of six original tracks showcasing ZHU’s deft production, bringing together bouncy liquid synths, propulsive beats and slinky vocal hooks, drawing from dance music genres ranging from house to disco to futuristic garage-soul to synth-pop which are coupled with ZHU’s pristine vocals.

The video for Faded was filmed in the Montemarte districts’ subterranean Social Club in Paris and directed by ZHU himself, channeling his smoky black-and-white visual aesthetic and seductive exploration of late-night revelling and decadence.

Stelios Vassiloudis & Sasse – Refuse

Berlin-based Klas Sasse Lindblad teams up once more with Athens’ Stelios Vassiloudis to drop some more pure pressure for Audiomatique – subsequent to their 2013 release ‘Options & Futures’. Sasse has been making house for the best part of 20 years, both for his own Moodmusic label and many other imprints. Stelios Vassiloudis has also carved out his own niche, not least via his debut album on John Digweed’s Bedrock label.

Here they combine their strengths again for this exceptional release – ‘Refuse’ is a deep, snarling house bomb, dripping in sex and sweat. The bassline struggles to free itself from its moorings, mutating and evolving menacingly over the tight, driving rhythm.

Play with caution – things may get messy. Johannes Brecht’s remix takes things even further down the rabbit hole – strange bleeps and blips tear through the track, which has been streamlined into a slick tech workout. Beatport customers also get access to the killer dub version, which somehow manages to tame the wild bassline but turns up the heat on the groove. Out on May 19.

Video: Hannes Rasmus – Eine leichte Brise weht über das Sonnendeck

The infallible Traum Schallplatten imprint returns to the fore with the epic thrust of Hannes Rasmus’ "Musik Für Fünf Maschinen" EP – check out the opening cut "Eine Leichte Brise Weht Über Das Sonnendeck" and its non-vinyl remix by Egokid below.

Alex Smoke – Green Man

‘Green Man’ is the opening track of Alex Smoke‘s (a.k.a. Alexander Menzies) upcoming RS 1403 EP for R&S, out on May 20.

Video: Kwabs – Pray For Love

Check out the video for London-based soul singer Kwabs‘ latest single “Pray For Love”, produced by Ben Drew, a.k.a. Plan B, the title track of his forthcoming second EP.  Out on May 20 via Atlantic. Pre-order your copy here. Video directed by Emil Nava.

Róisín Murphy – In Sintesi

Following the beautiful cover of Lucio Battisti’s 1976 classic “Ancora Tu”, the first cut from her Italian-inspired new EP “Mi Senti”, dance-pop queen Róisín Murphy returns with “In Sintesi” (which means ‘In Synthesis’), the EPs only original song.

“In Sintesi came together very quickly and I think we all enjoyed the freedom of creating from scratch our own thing, after the weeks of work involved in getting the cover versions close to something we could be proud of. Knowing one’s own recorded version has to stand up against the great music you are covering is a pressure you don’t have when you write.”

Out on May 28 via The Vinyl Factory. Pre-order your copy here.

Small Black – Lines Of Latitude (Dave Harrington Remix)

Here’s a dreamy new remix of Small Black‘s Frankie Rose-assisted single “Lines of Latitude“, remixed by Darkside‘s Dave Harrington. Released on Nicolas Jaar‘s Other People serial label. ‘Lines Of Latitude’ from Small Black ‘Real People’ EP is out now on Jagjaguwar.