Blog Archives

Video: Darkside – Paper Trails (RA Sessions)

Last week Nicolas Jaar and Dave Harrington released "Psychic", their debut album as DARKSIDE. "Paper Trails" is the record’s dazzling midpoint. In the first RA Sessions film, recorded at RA’s London HQ, Jaar and Harrington sank a couple of whiskies and subtly teased the track out to twice its original length.

VISUALS – Solve For X (No Result)

VISUALS release Solve For X on soundcloud following their support slots at DARKSIDE‘s sell out shows across Europe this week. The track was also produced by Nicolas Jaar and Dave Harrington and VISUALS debut four-song EP arrives October 27th on Nicolas Jaar‘s Other People imprint via streaming and download via subscription.

VISUALS is the project of NYC born and Berlin based songwriter and producer Andrew Fox, choosing the name as a dual reference to the cinematic in his music and an ocular disorder he suffered as a child, which left him with partial 2D vision. A long time friend and collaborator of Harrington’s, Fox recorded the EP solo in Brooklyn until handing it off first to Harrington and then to Jaar, adding adding layers of sly sonic abstraction and thump.

Over the course of its all-too-brief runtime, VISUALS’ EP pits the soulful against the inhuman, evoking everything from Broadcast’s eerie, hermetic pop experimentation to Prince’s minimalist sex funk. Filled with bottom-heavy love songs to an uncertain future, Fox’s cracked, weather-beaten drawl through a a gauntlet of rubber-band basslines, bone-dry drum machines and deft sample manipulation, the result is a four-song collection of rusty electronics with a beating heart.

VISUALS Part 1 is out October 27 and Part 2 is out November 3 on Other People.

Stream: DARKSIDE – Psychic LP

Listen to DARKSIDE‘s Psychic LP in its entirety here / subscribe to Other People to download.

Nicolas Jaar – Why Didn’t You Save Me (Dave Harrington Remix feat. Tamara)

Nico Jaar gets an official remix by his frequent collaborator and the other half of DARKSIDEDave Harrington for “Why Didn’t You Save Me,” featuring breathy vocals from Tamara. Sign up for Jaar’s serial subscription label Other People to get exclusive tracks every week, including this one + more from the label’s first release, TRUST.

Darkside – Paper Trails

Following the release of the video for "Golden Arrow", the first 11 minutes from Darkside‘s debut album “Psychic”, the duo of New York-based electronic producer Nicolas Jaar and guitarist Dave Harrington has just shared the second taste from that record. “Paper Trails” is a beautiful atmospheric, bluesy track, which can be streamed below. Darkside’s debut album “Psychic” is set to be released on October 8 via Nicolas Jaar’s new subscription label, Other People and Matador.

DARKSIDE – Psychic [2013]

DARKSIDE will release their debut album ‘Psychic‘ on October 8 via Other People and Matador Records. DARKSIDE is comprised of electronic producer Nicolas Jaar and guitarist Dave Harrington. They formed the band in 2011 after touring together for several years and experimenting with each others’ sounds. Drawing on their vastly different backgrounds, each musician channels himself through the other, resulting in a progressive hybrid of electronic music and psychedelic rock with an otherworldly depth.

‘Psychic‘ is a ritualistic song cycle, exploring rock’s cosmic outer edges through the immersive, body-moving framework of 21st-century house and techno. It follows the band’s acclaimed 2011 ‘DARKSIDE’ EP, as well as their full-album remix of Daft Punk’s ‘Random Access Memories’.

Listen to “Golden Arrow”, below and download for free here.

1. Golden Arrow
2. Sitra
3. Heart
4. Paper Trails
5. The Only Shrine I’ve Seen
6. Freak, Go Home
7. Greek Light
8. Metatron

Nicolas Jaar & Dave Harrington – Random Access Memories

Nicolas Jaar & Dave Harrington (also known as Darkside and now as.. Daftside) remixed the entire Daft Punk album “RAM“!! Summer is here..