Blog Archives

Video: Hudson Mohawke – Indian Steps feat. Antony


Hudson Mohawke has shared a new video for ‘Indian Steps’, the haunting centre-piece to his latest album ‘Lantern’, featuring Antony (AKA Antony Hegarty of Antony and The Johnsons). Directed by Daniel Sannwald.

Video: Kelela – A Message (prod. by Arca)


Kelela announces “Hallucinogen EP”, out on May 5th 2015. Watch “A Message” video, directed by Daniel Sannwald.

The HALLUCINOGEN EP is a 6-song cycle that explores the light and darkness of love and sexuality. Written over the course of two years it takes the listener through different stages of relationship, ranging from tumultuous to blissful.

HALLUCINOGEN EP is music to ride out to, whether you’re sitting on 44s or a bench seat on London’s tube. The production is distinctly American, but as before, borrows freely from the icy sounds of UK Grime. The EP was born out of recording sessions over the last two years, songs intended for the debut album that found a natural synergy with one another. HALLUCINOGEN is a bridge between her debut Cut 4 Me, and Kelela’s debut album due this Autumn.

about A Message:

I met Alejandro [Arca] on a boat in August of 2012. We sought one another out across a dance floor and within 5 minutes agreed to meet each other as soon as possible to collaborate. I had one song released to my name and had just heard one of his mixes, but we knew we’d found something in one another. We spent the next three days, 14 hours a day talking about our artistic visions and how it intersected with our personal lives, making songs that reflected that while dancing around the room to let it all out. About 5 or 6 demos were born out of these three days.

“A Message” is one of the demos that came from those sessions and it speaks to the despair that I was experiencing at the time. The initial version of the song spilled out of us in about 25 minutes. Since then, it’s been like a sculpture that I’ve come to and refined over time, adding a lyric here, refining a melody there, adding a bridge, etc. It’s a process that is now finally complete with its release and I’m so happy that I finally get to share it with all of you.”

1. A Message
2. Gomenasai
3. Swoop
4. All The Way Down
5. Hallucinogen
6. The High