Blog Archives

Video: Munk – Kitchen Call (Daniel Avery Remix)


Long-running German electronic imprint Gomma will celebrate their 15th anniversary this year. To mark the occasion, the label is preparing a compilation entitled Pop Futuro. Ahead of the release of the full compilation later this year, Gomma will deliver a sampler on 17 April, featuring three tracks from Junior & Baumon, Metronomy and British electronic producer Daniel Avery. Below, you can watch the video for Daniel Avery’s rework of label co-founder Munk’s ‘Kitchen Call’.

Pop Futuro Sampler (inc. Metronomy, Daniel Avery, Munk and Junior & Baumon)

Munk presents Pop Futuro

Outstanding German label Gomma are to release a compilation of their most cherish and unique gems in celebration of their 15th year as a label. Entitled ‘Pop Futuro’ the compilation will be accompanied by a sampler featuring music from Metronomy, Daniel Avery, Munk, Box Codax and Junior & Baumon.

Some of the tracks have been released before in some form or another but have proved to be enduring hits that get plenty of plays and are often asked about. As such they have been pulled together on this great new compilation and the likes of Hotlane, The Deadstock 33’s, Moullinex, Mercury feat. Robert Owens, Munk, Nancy Whang & Bonar Bradberry will all feature.

Ahead of that, though, comes this tasty sampler which features three key tracks from Pop Futuro. Up first is the Junior & Baumon song ‘Don’t Listen Much’. Junior & Baumon are, depite the name, a trio, made up of American singer songwriter Jan Fisher, French-German musician Fabian Kalker and Swiss producer Simon Baumann. Their creation, ‘Don’t Listen Much’ was only ever released before on a remix compilation and has drawn hundreds of thousands of views on YouTube and Soundcloud so the label is re-releasing it in a new radio mix as well as the extended version. It’s a playful, charming number with aloof vocals, lazy but uplifting drums and lots of organic instrumentals wrapped up within.

Next up is a Metronomy remix of Box Codax vs Metronomy’s ‘Naked Smile’. This is a freaky track of sinewy electronics, plodding drum-funk and great spoken word vocal that adds plenty of off kilter pop charm to the track as various guitar lines unravel all around the groove.

The third cut is the Daniel Avery remix of Munk’s Kitchen Call, it was a previously free download only and hasn’t been officially released before. This one is a somber, textured analogue affair with downbeat chords, heavily filtered robo-vocals and a mid tempo gothic groove underpinning the whole thing.

As the title suggests, this compilation really is all about suggesting different ways that pop music could and should sound in the future and Gomma are most certainly the perfect label to push the message.

1. Junior & Baumon – Don’t Listen Much
2. Box Codax vs Metronomy – Naked Smile (Metronomy Remix)
3. Munk – Kitchen Call (Daniel Avery Remix)
4. Junior & Baumon – Don’t Listen Much

Daniel Avery – Platform Zero (Volte-Face Remix)

daniel avery

Following the announcement of Rødhåd’s techno remix, Daniel Avery has now shared Volte-Face’s stretched rework of Drone Logic mainstay ‘Phantom Zero’, both featuring alongside Silent Servant on the new remix 12” EP out now via Phantasy Sound.

Originally one of the more downtempo moments on Avery’s acclaimed debut album, Casper Clark aka London based producer Volte-Face draws out the ambient elements of ‘Phantom Zero’ with rising walls of synth and a plunging beat to situate this remix firmly within the club’s sphere. Renowned for his experimental BLeeD nights and curating the sounds for London’s Field Day, Beacons and Poland’s Unsound Festival, Clark’s reimagining of ‘Phantom Zero’ brings a flavour of techno to a track poised to storm the late-night sets.

With well-received remixes from the likes of Roman Fluegel, Perc and Beyond The Wizard’s Sleeve, Volte-Face joins the impressive roster of producers invited to reconstruct and reinvent tracks from Drone Logic– the complete result of which being the impending New Energy [Collected Remixes], released on Phantasy March 2nd 2015.

Meanwhile, Avery himself has been honing his individual repertoire as a masterful DJ; showcased during his expertly curated Divided Love residencies at the likes of Paris’ Rex Club, Lyon’s Le Sucre and London’s Fabric, capping on a remarkably productive 2014 which also saw Avery tour in both the US and Canada.

You can buy the new remix 12” EP here. New Energy [Collected Remixes] will be released by Phantasy Sound on March 2nd 2015.

Upcoming dates:
30th Lille Magazine,
31st Liège, Festival Les Ardentes
6th London Divided Love, Fabric
7th York Freakin’
12th Paris Divided Love, The Rex
14th Leeds The Wire Club
20th Reggio Beat To Be
13th Copenhagen Sonar
19th Madrid Mondo
20th Barcelona Moog
21st Cologne Heinz Gaul
27th Milan Tunnel Club
28th Manchester The Soup Kitchen

Factory Floor – How You Say (EP 1) [2014]

How You Say’ is the latest single from Factory Floor‘s Self-Titled LP. This is the first of two EPs releasing this month and contains a wide and wonderful selection of remixes.

This first EP contains new versions from Gunnar Haslam (L.I.E.S.) & Daniel Avery (Phantasy), who both released striking and acclaimed debut albums last year, as well as an assortment of heavily rotated 12” singles.

The EP also contains a remix from Invisible Conga People, which marks the return of this elusive act. They recorded a fan-fave 12” for DFA in 2011, and had not been heard from since until now.

Factory Floor are on tour over the next few months, full itinerary with ticket links below!

4/13: Indio, CA @ Coachella
4/15: Los Angeles, CA @ Echo
4/16: San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
4/17: Los Angeles, CA @ The El Rey *w/Mogwai, Majeure
4/20: Indio, CA @ Coachella
4/22: Montreal, QC @ Le Belmont
4/23: Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
4/24: Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
4/26: Asheville, NC @ Moogfest
5/2: Liverpool, UK @ Liverpool Sound City
5/3: Manchester, UK @ Islington Mill
5/15: London, UK @ Oval Space
5/16: Birmingham, UK @ Hare + Hounds
5/17: Brighton, UK @ Coalition
7/18-7/20: Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Purchase high quality digital music at DFA Direct. Stay turned for preorder information for a limited edition 12" 3 pack featuring all of the remixes from this release.

Video: Daniel Avery – All I Need

UK producers, Daniel Avery has just released his debut album “Drone Logic” on Erol Alkan’s Phantasy imprint. Below, you can watch the video for the record’s first single, the hypnotic “All I Need”. Directed by Lewis Kyle White.

“The one thing I knew was that I wanted this record to be a trip. All my favourite artists and DJs, they take the audience with them when they play; people lock into their world for a few hours and can’t easily step out again. You’re with them for the ride. When I go out, I want to give myself up to music. That was the idea for the album.”