Blog Archives

TEN FÉ – Born Slippy / NUXX (Underworld Cover)


Ten Fé just recorded a cover of Underworld’s ‘Born Slippy .NUXX’.

They’ve taken the original dance track and flipped it into an amazing emotive indie rock tune that has the feel of New Order or LCD.

And here’s a Christmas message from the guys:

We jammed this at our Office Xmas Party last week … and enjoyed it so much! So here she is, re-born, and recorded as a Christmas special : Underworld’s BORN SLIPPY
Merry Merry Christmas and A Vibey New Year from Ben & Leo

Debut album HIT THE LIGHT produced by Ewan Pearson out 3 February 2017 – pre-order here. The band have announced additional European dates to their Spring tour. 28 date UK and Europe tour in Feb/Mar – details / tickets here.

Luc – Stay Out Of Trouble (Kings of Convenience)

Luc [Luke] – A partnership between people based on a shared perspective; often signifying a break from tradition.

Our take on the song by the Kings of Convenience. We love to take a great song and make it our own. With new chords and a newer, more electronic palette of sounds, we’re excited to finally put this one out into the world for you all to hear.

Kid Flicks – Oi Mixanes Mou

kid flicks.jpg

Kid Flicks shares tropical cover of 70s greek psych-folk duo Λήδα-Σπύρος.

Right after the release of his self-titled album, Athens based producer / songwriter Kid Flicks (aka Nikolaos Dervisis) shared a tropical sunglass pop cover of the 70s psych-folk song “Οι Μηχανές Μου”, originally written and performed by the cult greek duo Λήδα-Σπύρος.

The track was featured on SonofMaketing’s new My AweSOMe Mixtape 3.0 Compilation, also featuring Lies, Lilies on Mars and Leland Did it.

You can listen and download it for free through his soundcloud account. You can also check out the original track here.

Kid Flicks’ new LP is available on digital download and vinyl and distributed through wordandsound Records. You can purchase it through Bandcamp.

Live: Howling – Everything In Its Right Place

Howling perform live Radiohead’s “Everything In Its Right Place” at Sonar Festival 2016..

Video: Portishead – SOS


Legendary Bristol trip hop band Portishead have just released a video for their darkly minimal cover of Abba’s pop classic “SOS”. The video is a tribute to Jo Cox #MoreInCommon.

Larry Gus – At Your Desk EP

larry gus.jpg

Greek musician Panagiotis Melidis, aka Larry Gus, has just released a new 7-track EP, “At Your Desk”, a companion to his excellent second LP “I Need New Eyes” for DFA Records. The release features two original tracks, a cover of Bjork’s “I Miss You”, and four epic remixes by the likes of 40 Thieves, Musik Non Stop, Luke Vibert, and Daniel.T. & Cooper Saver.

Get it here.

Video: Slim Twig – Cannabis

slim twig.png

On April 20 2015, DFA debuted Slim Twig’s “Cannabis” single, a cover of a Serge Gainsbourg song (and feature film) – “Cannabis” was also the last song on the Slim Twig LP ‘Thank You For Stickin With Twig’.

Now April 20 2016, exactly one year later, in true stoner fashion, we have the video. a very epic video. DFA even have a special website set up for this, a play on the download site “WeTransfer”:

Video: Lucy Camp – Sixteen (Burial’s Archangel)

λθψυ ψαμπ

QUINTIC, is proud to share the debut music video from 18-year-old rhyme prodigy, Lucy Camp. “Sixteen” draws from the bitterness of teenage heartbreak, arts & crafts and her prodigiously effortless flow over Burial’s bass-classic “Archangel”. Shot in one-take (and 18 attempts), the video was directed and animated by Peter Anthony Red. Her debut EP will be announced shortly.

HONNE – Loud Places (Jamie xx Cover)


HONNE put their mark on Jamie xx’s standout record from 2015 – Loud Places for Huw Stephens on Radio 1’s Piano Sessions.

Loframes – In Love With You EP


Following on from the success of their debut single Loframes (London born artist James Yuill and French producer Franck Russo) return with a cover of the classic French House track ‘In Love With You’ by Paradise (Alan Braxe). One of the duo’s favourite tracks, the cover has already received the enthusiastic blessing of Mr Braxe and comes complete with remixes from Parisian producer Monsieur Adi, Brighton’s Aashton and Belgian new-comers Shut Yo Waffle.

It’s out on December 11th. Both the original and Monsieur Adi remixes will be available to download for free ahead of release.

With remix credits for the likes of Lana Del Rey and Bastille, Monsieur Adi is one of France’s most exciting and in-demand producers and his remix of ‘ILWY’ shows just why, lowering the tempo whilst raising the funk to turn in an irresistible remix. Meanwhile having remixed Loframes debut, Brighton’s Aashton returns with another of his trademark club tools, perfect for when you just want to lock the dancefloor in and take them deep into the mix.