Blog Archives

Cocoon Compilation R

Cocoon’s much anticipated alphabet series hits the letter R in 2018, and as well as a CD release, there is a special vinyl version features 6 x 12” fluorescent records which glow in the dark and create a magical effect in the club.

Of course, label boss Sven Vath and his Cocoon label are synonymous with techno. But under his charge, strict style guidelines and exaggerated pigeonholing do not apply. It’s especially true for the compilation series, which having now reached the letter R, impressively shows the arc the Frankfurt label’s output continues to span. From soft and melodic with a lot of depth to highly functional and extremely crisp – there’s a creative range on offer that very few labels can boast.

Says Sven, “I listen to and play everything that I like and that touches me. I always pack a genre-spanning record bag. I’m particularly interested in those special tracks – that’s exactly what my vision of Cocoon Recordings is about.”

The current compilation continues this idea and is a prime example of the label’s philosophy. The artists on the latest edition include prominent names like Isolee, Lusine, Pig&Dan, Inigo Kennedy, Ambivalent & Alden Tyrell, ROD and Mano Le Tough. Label representative and Frankfurt original Ingo Boss offers up a track and with contributions from International Anything, John Heckle, Cristi Cons and Eduardo De La Calle, promising new faces from further afield are also represented.

Things open in melancholic fashion with the thoughtful and rolling house of Lusine’s ‘Parallel,’ then Isolee serves up a modern classic that is minimal and melodic with ‘Yes Let’. The always deep Mano Le Tough offers typically organic grooves, Spaniard Eduardo De La Calle melts your mind with his trance inducing techno, and veterans Ambivalent and Alden Tyrell get raw and angsty with their twisted techno number. There is then big room fair from Pig&Dan, celestial synth techno from John Heckle and expertly reduced minimal from the master of detail that is Christi Cons.

All in all, this makes for one of the most diverse compilations yet and is a perfect snapshot of what to expect from one of ringleader Sven’s celebrated sets somewhere round the world.


1. Lusine – Parallel
2. Isolee – Yes let
3. Mano Le Tough – Vanishing Landscapes
4. International Anything – The Future is Here
5. Eduardo De La Calle – Caravaca’s Distortion Theory
6. Inigo Kennedy – Black Light
7. Ambivalent & Alden Tyrell – War Island
8. Pig&Dan – Shattered Minds
9. ROD – Abel
10. Ingo Boss – Junghof Love Star
11. John Heckle – Fantasy
12. Cristi Cons – Bird in Space

VA: Cocoon – ZEHN (Mixed By CHRIS TIETJEN)


Cocoon returns with its latest mix compilation, the 10th and final instalment in their annual in-house series from Chris Tietjen. Titled ‘Zehn’, the mix cd finds former intern turned Sven Vath protégé Chris Tietjen take to the helm to represent the Cocoon sound once again. What makes this chapter particularly enthralling is that it’s a retrospective selection from the past decade with Tietjen picking 36 tracks from the label’s enviable catalogue organising it into one stunning 80-minute mix.

The mix itself is curated and organised with such knowledge and precision that only someone at the heart of the Cocoon family could achieve, mixed intuitively and harmonically whilst encompassing originals and remixes from various genres within a single CD that spans over 40 artists.

Tietjen gets the ball rolling with deep and dubby numbers such as Minilogue’s ‘Cow, Crickets And Clay’ and Julian Perez’s ‘Over The Rain’, before minimal cuts like Kollektiv Turmastrasse’s ‘Dead Room’, Joel Mull’s ‘Blossom’ and Nina Kraviz’s ‘W-Bleu’ contribute to the heightening tension. Energy levels quickly rise with the introduction of tracks such as Loco Dice’s ‘Carthago’, Visionquest’s remix of Dinky ‘Acid In My Fridge’ and Martin Buttrich ‘Hunted’, whilst more melodic and synthy works include the likes of Guy Gerber’s ‘Sea Of Sand’ and Butch’s remix of Johannes Heil’s ‘The Ace’.

The latter half of the mix then taps into Cocoon’s techno output, with the high octane ‘Stereotypes’ by Adam Beyer, decadent ‘Red Yellow Blue’ from Marco Carola & The Gadgets and the low slung groove found in Maetrik’s ‘Crush On Me’. By the end Extrawelt’s ‘Phoebe’ delivers some soft chords, whilst Project 69’s ‘Karma’ floats in and out of undulating kicks and spectral breakdowns, before the deep and understated ‘Seconds (Colour & Sound)’ from Minilogue ties up the mix.

Marking the 10th and final edition of the series, ‘Zehn’ is more than just a CD but an audio souvenir from Cocoon’s musical journey to date, the soundtrack of its life as seen through the eyes of the ever talented Chris Tietjen.

Cocoon drops ‘Zehn’ on 27th March 2015.

Cocoon Compilation N


As always the ever-welcome presence of more daylight and plenty of sunshine comes hand in hand with a brand new compilation from the Frankurt powerhouse that is Cocoon. As one of the longest running techno mix series the ever-burgeoning Cocoon compilation family boasts the likes of Sven Vath, Extrawelt, Ricardo Villalobos, DJ Koze, Steve Bug, Henrik Schwarz and Michael Mayer to name a few. For 2014 the annual compilation series moves up to letter N and as ever the 12 track selection features some fresh talent alongside some of the bigger household players.

The compilation kicks off with Stuttgart-based Konstantin Sibold who teams up with Leif Müller to deliver ‘Kolibri’, a melodic slow burner of a tune that mirrors elements of the big room electronica days of Alter Ego. For the second offering Julian Perez explores the deep, somewhat dubbier sides of techno that blends entrancingly into ‘Geischa’ by Markus Fix with its beautifully hypnotic strings and robust drum rhythms.

After the smooth low-slung intro the compilation’s fourth provision from Aril Brikha & Vince Watson ramps up the pace with a kick-heavy arpeggiated tune cultivated for the dance floor. Cocoon affiliate Alan Fitzpatrick seamlessly maintains the big-room vibe with ‘For Fear Is Tonight’ while Cavaan produces a no-nonsense cut with rumbling percussion and hypnotic beats in ‘Wildness’.

US native Truncate takes the reigns as the mix enters its second phase, laying down a deep, bubbling percussive groove for ‘Workout’ while track number eight shifts the gears once more to the heavy hitting techno rhythms of ‘Labyrinth’ from Drumcode affiliate Sam Paganini. The deep, dark and abstract beats of ‘Luminous’ follow in style, cultivated by one of Europes most exciting young producers Luca Mortellaro aka Lucy.

As Cocoon’s dynamic and robust mix edges to a close the tenth track from Villanova – ‘Les Gobelins’ re-ignites the senses as it sublimely deviates into broken beats and whirring modulations laced around a captivating male vox. The final two cuts on the mix come from Swiss powerhouse Ripperton and Ricardo Tobar, both tracks successfully blur the lines lines between house and techno, infused with dusty percussion and subtle groove-laden melodies.

Year in year out Cocoon deliver and ‘Compilation N’ is no exception – a masterful mix of deep groove-laden techno. Out on September 8th 2014.

1. (A) Konstantin Sibold & Leif Müller – Kolibri
2. (B) Julian Perez – Over The Rain
3. (C) Markus Fix – Geischa
4. (D) Aril Brikha & Vince Watson – VA2
5. (E) Alan Fitzpatrick – For Fear Tonight Is All
6. (F) Cavaan – Wildness
7. (G) Truncate – Workout
8. (H) Sam Paganini – Labyrinth
9. (I) Lucy – Luminous
10. (J) Villanova – Les Gobelins
11. (K) Ripperton – Wet Dreams
12. (L) Ricardo Tobar – Gambetta