Blog Archives

Cubenx – Elegiac LP

Cubenx Press shot 1

Infine Music is proud to be releasing a stunning second album from Cubenx entitled ‘Elegiac’. The LP will be available on vinyl, CD and digital. There’s also three bonus tracks on the vinyl edition that aren’t included on the CD and digital versions.

Cubenx is Cesar Urbina, a Mexican producer and family member at Infine who is constantly on the move between Mexico, Paris and Berlin. His minimal electronic style is moody and sombre, full of emotional turmoil and already in favour with everyone from Agoria to Michael Meyer. It has graced labels like Static Discos and Cyan Records, whilst his 2011 debut album on InFine, ‘On Your Own Again’, was a fine full length statement that took cues from shoegaze and post punk and looked well beyond the dance floor. This new artistic work, though, is about saying goodbye to the past with a real sense of satisfaction, at the same time as inventing a different present.

The most adventurous composition on this cohesive and coherent record, ‘A Sheltering Sky,’ best embodies the topic of nomadism that is so relevant to Cubenx and it borrows its title from a bit of post-colonialist literature that became famous when made into a movie starring John Malkovich. The romantic, free-roaming lifestyle glorifies travelling and is something with which Cubenx naturally identifies. “We’re not tourists, we’re travellers: tourists are those who think about going home from the moment they arrive, whereas a traveller might not come back at all.”

As an expression of this ever-shifting state and no-return mindset, unpredictability reigns over ‘Elegiac’, which is a powerful, fully bloomed machine whose movements are epic and whose orchestrations are intricate. Far from the techno world he first operated in, Cubenx’s style on this album has been shattered to pieces and recollected around new elements, some of them gleaned on the road, such as a healthy dose of UK bass that he adapts to new forms for his own peculiar purposes in the euphoric ‘Treasures,’ the lush trap affair of ‘Our Fire’ or the collision of electro, jungle and field recordings that is the final cut.

Some tracks also feature proper pop inclinations with great vocals such as ‘Drizzling Lemon’ or ‘Blindfold’ with international singers Cyane from Mexico, Yasmin Hamdan from Lebanon, Pris Wayland from France, and the undetermined entity Born In Flamez from Berlin. These songs add a classy, electronic sweetness that showcase the diversity of Cubenx’s compositions.

01 – F.All
02 – Drizzling Lemon Pearls (feat. Cyané)
03 – Treasures
04 – Our Fire
05 – Flaneur
06 – Banquet (feat. Pris Wayland)
07 – Blindfold (feat. Yasmine Hamdan)
08 – Ryo
09 – Peacefully Sinking (feat. Born In Flamez)
10 – Roßbach
11 – A Sheltering Sky

Video: Phon.o – Bodycheck


Bodycheck is taken from Phon.o’s “Velvet Rag EP” that is out on BPitch Control.

Carsten Aermes was never interested in following the conventional route. While he was shifting his stylistic course rather frequently, it would have been easy to get lost on the way. But instead Aermes found its own path. Ever since his releases on 50Weapons, the Berlin-based producer occupies this niche between future garage, techno and some dub exkursions.

The “Velvet Rag EP” is both Phon.o’s first release in 2015 as well as his debut on BPitch Control. He’s celebrating this matter by adding a beguiling sex appeal that is accompanying his still deep pore melancholy on “Bodycheck” – also because of that ghetto-like voice by masked multi-talent Born In Flamez.

The additional technoid Dark Club version solves the simple and splendid equation: one source, two killer tracks. Starting with a dominant kick drum pounding its way into melodic synths, pichted-down vocal cuts are buzzing around like lamenting ghosts. But it’s the armada of power pads that makes this energetic techno garage hybrid completely. Also “SOAG” with its Julio Bashmore’esque aesthetic points out that Aermes perfected his hybrid style. Phon.o isn’t following any trend, but continues to plots his points in an unexpected manner. Fade away in Phon.ography!

Robot Koch – Let Me feat. Curtain Blue and Born in Flamez

robot koch

Robot Koch’s debut EP for Monkeytown brings the intense, emotional soundscapes of one of Germany’s most talented producers to Modeselektor’s homebase.

For the release with Monkeytown, Robot has compressed  the united forces of his and various friends into 5 driven tracks that show a yet unheard readyness for the dancefloor. Surely the re – locating to LA influenced the approach to this ingenious recor; The textures have become even more dense, with each sound ripened to perfection under the california sun. The tiniest detail in this clockwork of an EP seems like a precision instrument. Even in its most delicate moments, where a track is laid bare to let one single sound fill all the room, everything is in its perfect place. There´s no questions why Robot Koch just won the german composer award as “best electronic composer of the year.” This young man is so in control of his elements that it seems he would be able to make almost everything.

“Tsuki” features 5 accurately crafted pieces, all of them dark but beautiful, all of them heartfelt but cool, all of them inclined to a straighter bassdrum but still far away from four to the floor.

The EP also features a bunch of collaborators from different camps from all over the world. Indian producer and singer Curtain Blue (The Circus) coproduced  “Let Me” and “Erase”, the mysterious Born in Flamez, who was also featured on the Modeselektion compilation earlier this year, lends some captivating vocal textures to the first track and upcoming german singer May gives “September”,  a touch of soul.

“Night Drive” and “Every Motion” feature LA based producer “schwarzmodul” whose dark and subversive sounds we will most certainly hear more about in the near future. This record is sexy and moving, contagious and ultra clean. It is gorgeous and it can dance well. It might be one of our 2015 favorites already.

“TSUKI” will be released January 30th 2015 via Monkeytown Records. Stream “Let Me” below.