Blog Archives

Black Devil Disco Club – H Friend (Vox & Dance Remixes)


Celebrating 40 years of electronic music exploration this year saw the re-release of three seminal works by Bernard Fevre (aka Black Devil), ‘Suspense’ (1975), ‘Cosmos 2043’ (1977) and the storied ‘Disco Club’ (1978). Completing this anniversary year Fevre now returns with three EPs featuring new remixes of his 1978 underground cosmic disco hit ‘H Friend’ from the likes of Andrew Weatherall, GoldFFinch, Turzi and many more.

The first EP (released 13 November) is aimed directly at the dancefloor with remixes from Berlin based duo Africaine 808, French Psychedelic Space Rocker Turzi, Sao Paulo’s DJ Tide, and last but not least world famous British Acid House DJ & producer Andrew Weatherall, who contributes the first of two remixes.

The second EP (released 27 November) makes more use of the re-recorded vocals by British singer Jo Apps and features remixes from Adelaide based Luke Million, Belgian Techno duo GoldFFinch, Anglo-French rising stars Loframes and the second of Andrew Weatherall’s remixes.

The final EP (released 11 December) is especially dedicated to Japan. 45 years after touring the country with his first band Francs Garçons, Bernard returned to Japan in 2015 for his first solo tour of Japan and was amazed by the music a new generation of artists were creating. Featuring remixes from Carpainter, Oorutaichi, Free Disco Permanent Midnight and Sparrows (the solo project of CRYSTAL’s Ryota Miyake), it’s a wildly eclectic set of remixes that perfectly finishes off this set.

A pioneering member of France’s electronic music scene in the 1970s, Fevre’s career entered a new phase in the early ‘00s when his ‘Disco Club’ album was rediscovered and reissued by Richard D. James (Aphex Twin) on his Rephlex label. Since then Fevre has gone on to be sampled by the likes of the Chemical Brothers and released several new albums on Lo Recordings collaborating with artists such as Jon Spencer, Afrika Bambaataa, Nancy Sinatra, Faris Badwan (The Horrors), Mondkopf and Daniel Avery

Video: Black Devil Disco Club – The Kid In Me


Initially a one-off “collaboration” between French producer Bernard Fevre and alleged financier Jackie Giordano — credited, respectively, as Joachim Sherylee and Junior Claristidge — Black Devil released a six-track album of spooky electro-disco entitled Disco Club.

Originally released on Italy’s Out label in 1978, it became somewhat mythical in the disco underground due to its scarcity. A copy eventually fell into the hands of the Rephlex label’s PP Roy and won the hearts of Richard James (Aphex Twin) and Luke Vibert (Wagon Christ). Rather than do a straight reissue, Rephlex opted to first release a 12″ including four tracks from the original vinyl; after that, they trickled out the two other tracks, along with a couple outtakes and a remix from Luke Vibert (under his Kerrier District guise), via 12″ and CD single releases that featured different track lists.

Fevre subsequently issued a number of releases as Black Devil Disco Club, including 28 After (2006), Eight Oh Eight (2008), The Strange New World of Bernard Fevre (released in 2009, featuring new mixes of material from Fevre’s 1975 album The Strange World of Bernard Fevre), and Circus (2011) all of which were issued on Lo Recordings.

His most recent album Black Moon, White Sun was released on Lo Recordings last October. Below you can watch the brand new video for ‘The Kid In Me‘. It’s a proper buck rogers at a camp disco track, music to frug to in a bacofoil mini skirt/jumpsuit and another weird milestone in a career that has lasted nearly 4 decades now. Directed by Piero Glina.

Video: Black Devil Disco Club – Bee Boop

As we’ve already posted, Parisian artist Bernad Fevre, a.k.a. Black Devil Disco Club, is set to release his new LP, Black Moon White Sun, on October 28 via Lo Recordings. Below, you can watch the official video for the hypnotic "Bee Boop," directed by Antonis Katsoris:

"Beeboop inspired me with its unique combination of styles. It’s a track very much open to interpretation with a mysterious, futuristic sound that’s almost childlike in its innocence.
The concept and storyline came from improvisation, an attempt to capture a feeling of complete freedom that I found in the music."

Black Devil Disco Club – Black Moon White Sun [2013]

This autumn Bernard Fevre returns with ‘Black Moon, White Sun’ his 7th album as the Black Devil Disco Club. Following on from 2011’s ‘Circus’ that saw the Parisian producer act as ringmaster to an eclectic troupe of artists including Faris Badwan from Horrors, YACHT, Jon Spencer, Afrika Bambaataa, Nancy Sinatra and more, ‘Black Moon, White Sun’ sees Fevre return to his roots with an album of hypnotic electronic music and his most personal to date, 8 tracks of voodoo trance and alchemical disco.

“For Black Moon White Sun, I imagined myself in the skin of a shaman whose ceremony begins with the Sun Totem Dance, I allowed myself to express my primitive, feminine and animal natures. This is an invitation to join me on a journey that is disturbing, shocking and disconcerting but also more colorful than ever before, more generous, full of love, this is an invitation to a pagan festival.”

Guided by outside forces ‘Black Moon White Sun’ is Fevre’s most spontaneous album to date and the one that most embodies the man himself. No guests, no outsiders, no samples, no revival: just a man, his machines and the future right in front. Bernard Fevre is much more than just a legend of the past he is a pioneer of the music of tomorrow.

Complete with beautiful artwork from the award winning Non-Format design agency, ‘Black Moon, White Sun’ is a personal statement from one of electronic music’s most mysterious characters. Out via Lo Recordings on October 31. The album is preceded by a single ‘Maymallow’ released on September 9.

1. Sun Dance Totem
2. Bee Boop
3. T.hoo
4. Maymallow
5. Star Dot Com
6. The Kid In Mee
7. Three Notes
8. Mexo Mambo