Blog Archives

Lorca – Naoko

Brighton’s Lorca kick starts 2014 with "Forgive Me Love / Naoko", his debut release on Breach’s (aka Ben Westbeech) Naked Naked imprint, joining the ranks of Dusky, Dark Sky, Midland, Mak & Pasteman and Westbeech himself.

The two-­track EP follows up Lorca’s highly acclaimed 2013 If I Told You EP on 2020 Midnight Visions, and his stellar remix of Ghostpoet’s Cold Win which received widespread support, with Midland tipping it as quite possibly the remix of the year.

This latest release meets building expectations, both tracks incredibly smooth, nostalgia-­inducing and heavily textured, solidifying Lorca’s unique sound.

Deetron – Music Over Matter [2013]

Stream Zurich-based Deetron‘s second album ‘Music Over Matter’ exclusively through THUMP, below. Out October 21 on Music Man Records. The first single ‘Rhythm‘ featuring vocals from Ben Westbeech is also out now. The album features collaborations from Seth Troxler, Hercules & Love Affair, Justin Chapman and more.

Kraak & Smaak – Chrome Waves [2013]

Dutch trio (Oscar De Jong, Mark Kneppers and Wim Plug) Kraak & Smaak’s new album “Chrome Waves” is already off to a flying start with debut single “The Future Is Yours”. Featuring Ben Westbeech on vocals and with a righteous summer groove that has made it a big Ibiza hit, the track is a positive and uplifting vocal house anthem at a time when much of the scene is going deeper underground.

On Chrome Waves, the relationship with dutch star Janne Schra, soul man John Turrell and the fast becoming legendary Ben Westbeech is extended from the previous albums to this one while rapper Capitol A joins Stee Downes, Sam Duckworth, Joi Cardwell and Berenice (who is the lead performer from the K&S live shows ) as new arrivals. Oscar De Jong even steps out from behind the mixing desk to perform vocal duties on the album and Icelandic indie popsters Retro Stefson guest on the album returning a remix favour Kraak & Smaak did them by providing the haunting vocals on F.A.M.E.

The combination of new talent and old friends make the album both exciting and assured. The incredible vocalists on board providing the highs while the rock solid percussive grooves laid down by the three Dutchmen means the low end is always tight. Out October 28 via Jalapeño Records.

Video: Stay Positive – Blood Brother

Featuring vocals from Ben Westbeech (Breach), Stay Positive (a.k.a. Stay+ or Matt Farthing) is gearing up for his biggest, most crossover release to date via Stay Positive Industries: the mighty force that is “Blood Brother.” Taken from the same-titled EP. Watch the official video now. Directed and animated by Kenaim El Shatti. Blood Brother EP is available here. As a bonus, check out TÂCHES remix of the track, below.