Blog Archives

Youandewan – There Is No Right Time LP


Completing a triptych of fantastic LPs for 2016, Will Saul’s Aus Music is delighted to announce the debut full length from Youandewan. The Berlin based Brit’s ten track ‘There Is No Right Time’ lands in October 2016 and shows a distinct development of his musical style.

Youandewan is Ewan Smith, a DJ and producer who has quietly but consistently gone about forging his own tender brand of deep house. He has been doing so since 2009 and most recently settled on this label with tracks that are shy but seductive, and full of both motive and emotive forces. This album stays true to that narrative, but sees Ewan finding his feet with his most accomplished and elegant work to date.

Much of the music was sketched out during a wintery Berlin three years ago. Having left London, hungover from a breakup, Smith found himself broke and secluded in an apartment for four months. All this lent the music he wrote a melancholic vibe; one that nods to the lonely nature of the job and to the darker side of constant partying and all that comes with it.

A swelling, expansive piece of melodic atmospherics starts things off, then the soft hues of analog chords bring a neon glow to the weightless whirl of ‘Be Good To Me, Poly.’ Soaring synths marry with a raw drum and bass combo on “Waiting for L,’ then ’Time To Leave (Can’t Mix)’ resets to a piano laced beatdown vibe that is wilfully wallowing. ‘10405 (Alice)’ is a shimmering, crescendoing piece, and from there the second half of the album begins to take an upward and optimistic swing through the floating, graceful harmonies of ’Our Odyssey.’

‘Something Keeps Me Real Quiet’ is a concession to the ‘floor with its rusted electro slither, ‘Left On Lucy’ calls upon friend Huerta for a hi-tech soulful house Derrick May would be proud of, and ‘Earnest Kelly’ nods to the ‘80s with its stomping retrosynthesis. Finally, ‘4D Anxiety’ allows all the pent up emotion and energy to dissipate via a playful hip-hop jam effortlessly tapped out on an MPC.

‘There Is No Right Time’ is a listening album that proves deep house done well needn’t be reserved for the club. It’s a vulnerable and musical work that stays with the listener long after the final chords have dissipated.

Out October 14 / Aus Music
A1. Have The Guts
A2. Be Good To Me, Poly
A3. Waiting For L
B1. Time To Leave (Can’t Mix)
B2. 10405 (Alice)
B3. Our Odyssey
C1. Something Keeps Me Real Quiet
C2. Left On Lucy (Featuring Huerta)
D1. Earnest Kelly
D2. 4D Anxiety

Bicep & Hammer – ARACARI


Aus Music celebrates its tenth birthday this year, as well as its landmark release number 100 – fittingly enough. Will Saul‘s imprint has spent the last decade lovingly building its reputation as one of the most trusted and respected labels for dance music the UK, and quite possibly worldwide too. Joy Orbison’s So Derobe, Ramadanman’s Void 23, George Fitzgerald‘s Child, Leon Vynehall‘s Brother, Bicep‘s Just – it’s likely that Aus Music has soundtracked your most memorable and significant club moments.

To mark two milestones in Aus history, the label presents a 24-track quadruple vinyl/triple CD/vast digital compilation set to drop this summer. Composed of entirely new and exclusive tracks, the compilation is built up by key members from the Aus family as well as boss Mr. Saul himself – Bicep, Midland, Huxley, Deetron, Nick Höppner, Pearson Sound, Youandewan, Marquis Hawkes, Gerd, Sei A, Bwana, Fold, Shenoda, Appleblimand Komon.

It’s our honour to be hosting a five-part Debut series in conjunction with Aus Music, consisting of one Debut a week for five weeks running up to the release date; as well as a very special Boiler Room x AUS100 takeover in London. Joining the celebrations will be Nick Höppner, Marquis Hawkes, Will Saul and a secret guest to be announced the day before.

First up in our Debut series is from the unstoppable dual force of Bicep and Hammer. Fresh from last year’s EP collab Dahlia, Belfast’s tour de force bring it back home with “ARACARI” – a sentimental banger following in the same footsteps as their previous teamwork, and purpose-built for all 4am dancefloors around the world. Stay tuned for four more surprise instalments as the weeks roll our. The future’s looking bright for Aus Music.”

The AUS100 compilation drops fully on 8th July, and is available to pre-order digitally here. “Join us in London or tune in online on Tuesday 14th June for our AUS100 showcase – where we’ll be joined by Nick Höppner, Marquis Hawkes, Will Saul and a secret guest we’ll be announcing on Monday.

Huxley feat. FEMME – Give 2 U EP


The second single from Huxley’s debut LP ‘Blurred’ drops on Nov 10th on Aus in the form of ‘Give 2 U’ featuring FEMME on vocals and Will Saul and Komon on remix duties.

Huxley Press Shots 2014_011 (CREDIT-BETH CROCKATT)

In much the same way as Huxley’s impressive rise over the past few years, FEMME has become a serious name to watch recently. As vocalist in Radiohead-collaborator Nigel Godrich’s band, Ultraísta, FEMME has won many a plaudit but recently it’s her solo single ‘High’ and her collaborative work with Crewdson as Eckoclick on the brilliant Sonic Router that have been turning heads.

For ‘Give 2 U’, Huxley ditches the 4:4 and delves into his rave past with a powerful breakbeat groove that underpins FEMME’s stirring vocals alongside gentle, bending melodies. Returning to house, Huxley counterparts guttural, dark garage bass with the original’s blissed out keys and vocals for his ‘Club Rub’.

Aus Music boss Will Saul teams up with Komon for the second remix of ‘Give 2 U’ and delivers a slowly unfurling and heady percussive cut that blurs the lines between house and West-Country breakbeat sounds while allowing the vocals to shine.

‘Soopafly’ closes out the package and sees Huxley exploring the swagger of UK Garage more than ever before.

Huxley feat. FEMME ‘ Give 2 U’ is released Nov 10th on Aus Music/!K7.