Blog Archives

David Douglas – Lucine (Alex Smoke Remix)


Alex Smoke remixes David Douglas’ latest single, ‘Lunice’. The experimental Scottich techno auter/producer delivers a stunning rework of the original.

‘Lucine’ is the latest single from Dutch producer/artist/video director David Douglas. Following the release of his critically acclaimed debut ‘Moon Observations,’ ‘Lucine’ is a journey through sun-kissed disco and gentle electronic pop, subtly playing with psychedelic and experimental elements and weaving organic textures alongside more robotic landscapes. 2014’s ‘Moon Observations’ was inspired by a different star-gazer with the same name. That David Douglas was a 18th century explorer and naturalist, whose writings on astronomical observation has inspired the more modern Douglas’ latest music. Those eleven tracks of beautifully fleshed-out electronica were certainly a worthy tribute, and ‘Lucine’ continues the story in blissful fashion.

David Douglas is without doubt one of the most expressive and all-emcompassing creators around. Also an esteemed video director, he then switched his focus to music, and both his 2012 ‘Royal Horticultural Society’ EP and his debut album ‘Moon Observations’ were warmly received. David’s live sets are known for the substantial amount of gear he has in tow, including a Space Echo that is essential for his signature sound. His shows at PITCH Festival, Best Kept Secret and Into The Woods inspired the penning of his second full album, set to drop early next year via Atomnation. More details to come soon.

Alex Smoke – Love Over Will Remixes


Love Over Will was the fifth album from Alex Smoke. A suite of perfectly crafted electronica brimming with layers and texture that further explored the melding of his voice with intricate electronics and discordant melody.

The album’s palette of otherworldly strings, distortion, clicks and synths acts as a bed for Menzies’ voice, at times confessional, others loudly declamatory – ‘Love Over Will’  was unquestionably Menzie’s finest work to date.

It now returns as a compilation of remixes and Alex’s own dub versions. On remix duties are Lakker, Tale Of Us, Tessela, CW/A and Alleged Witches – each twisting the source material via their distinct sound palettes. Alex also supplies six instrumental dub versions previously only available from his own website.

Out August 19th on R&S Records.

1. Alex Smoke – Dire Need (Lakker Remix)
2. Alex Smoke – Manacles (Alleged Witches Divination Version)
3. Alex Smoke – Dire Need (Tale Of Us Remix)
4. Alex Smoke – All My Atoms (CW/A Remix)
5. Alex Smoke – Dust (Tessela Remix)
6. Alex Smoke – Dire Need (Tale Of Us Instrumental Remix)
7. Alex Smoke – Manacles (Alex Smoke Dub)
8. Alex Smoke – Dire Need (Alex Smoke Dub)
9. Alex Smoke – Fall Out (Alex Smoke Dub)
10. Alex Smoke – LossGain (Alex Smoke Dub)
11. Alex Smoke – Astar Mara (Alex Smoke Dub)

Alex Smoke – Dire Need (Tale Of Us Rmx)


Tale Of Us remix Alex Smoke’s Dire Need. Out on April 15 via R&S.

Alex Smoke – Manacles

alex smoke

Alex Menzies aka Alex Smoke will release his upcoming album ‘Love Over Will’ on January 22 via R&S Records. Below you can stream LP’s cut “Manacles.”

Alex Smoke – Love Over Will LP


Following his hallucinogenic dancefloor EPs ‘Dust’ and ‘Green Man’ for R&S, Alex Smoke returns with his latest opus ‘Love Over Will’, a suite of perfectly crafted electronica, brimming with layers and texture that mixes depth, euphoria and social commentary in equal measure. As with his 2011 release under the Wraetlic guise, ‘Love Over Will’ sees Menzies further exploring the melding of his voice with intricate electronics and discordant melody.

The human voice is the ultimate transducer of emotion” he explains. “I feel it, I sing it, the listener hears it, the listener feels it. Even the slightest vocal can carry a heavy emotional current. Adding words is creating another layer of meaning again, sometimes altering, sometimes reinforcing the intrinsic feeling of the music.”

The title ‘Love Over Will’ is a play on “Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law. Love is the law, love under will”, the central tenet of Thelema, created by famed occultist and ceremonial magician Aleister Crowley, with the central thread of the album being “a statement on the times we are living in, but with an optimism relating to ways forward that are possible”. Also Menzies’s work has been informed by his ongoing installation work with artist Florence To, primarily on the links between sound and spirituality (ritual music, psychoacoustic effect).

The album’s palette of other worldly strings, distortion, clicks and synths acts as a bed for Menzies’ voice, calling to mind the emotive fragility of Arthur Russell, at times confessional, others loudly declamatory – ‘Love Over Will’ is unquestionably Menzies finest work to date.

On the subject of the artwork: ”Finlay McKay is an old friend and a high-end photographer. I gave him the album, the title and some background and gave him free rein to come up with the image. The album title relates to Thelema, Crowley’s religion for the new age, and Fin’s artwork has clear links to magical thinking. The use of nudity also has something to say of our attitudes to it. Why should nudity and sexuality be shameful, whilst someone being graphically murdered is considered ok? The artwork is a response to the album but also chimes perfectly with the age we live in.”

01. Fair Is Foul
02. Dire Need
03. LossGain
04. Dust
05. Galdr
06. All My Atoms
07. Yearning Mississippi
08. Love Over Will
09. Manacles
10. Whitening
11. Astar Mara
12. Star At The Summit
13. Fall Out

Alex Smoke – Green Man

‘Green Man’ is the opening track of Alex Smoke‘s (a.k.a. Alexander Menzies) upcoming RS 1403 EP for R&S, out on May 20.

Alex Smoke – Dust

Scottish techno DJ and producer Alex Menzies, a.k.a. Wraetlic or Alex Smoke, will release a new single (as Alex Smoke), called “Dust”, that combines his exquisite synth chords with cavernous dubbed out drum programming and his heartfelt, mesmeric vocals. “Dust” drops September 10 via R&S, with a remix from the fellow R&S signee Tessela plus another track, Ruction (Dub), on the flip.