Blog Archives

Video: Neneh Cherry – Kong

Iconic artist Neneh Cherry today reveals the video for single ‘Kong’, produced by Four Tet and Massive Attack’s 3D.

Jean-Michel Jarre – Electronica Volume 1


JEAN-MICHEL JARRE is one of electronic music’s most important and influential figures and ELECTRONICA PART 1: THE TIME MACHINE–due out October 16 on Ultra Music–is his most ambitious project so far. Under the working title E-Project, JARRE recorded the album with 15 collaborators, showing the true extent of his range, his reach and his influence in the wider music world. Tapping new artists like Gesaffelstein and Little Boots (watch the video below) alongside electronic music veterans such as 3D of Massive Attack and Moby, and fellow pioneers Tangerine Dream and John Carpenter, Electronica shares JARRE’s own personal vision of electronic music over the decades.

I’ve wanted to tell a story for a while regarding electronic music history and its legacy from my point of view and experience, from when I started to nowadays,” JARRE says. “So I planned to compose for and collaborate with an array of artists who are, directly or indirectly linked to this scene, with people I admire for their singular contribution to our genre, that represent a source of inspiration for me over the last four decades I have been making music, but who also have an instantly recognizable sound. At the outset, I had no idea how this project would evolve, but I was delighted that everybody I reached out to accepted my invitation.”

Says Anthony Gonzales (M83) of the coming together of their track “Glory” which was released as the first official single this past May: “JMJ for me is a pioneer. He did so much for electronic music and especially for my generation of artists-such as Daft Punk, Phoenix, Justice… We met after one of my shows in Paris and we started to talk about a collaboration on his album. For me it was an amazing opportunity to collaborate with one of my favorite artists of all time.”

So far, JARRE has shared tracks of collaborations with M83, Gesaffelstein, Massive Attack’s 3D and Tangerine Dream-the latter being one of the last recorded works of the late Edgar Froese. The full track list for Electronica 1: The Time Machine reveals new collaborations with Moby, Boys Noize and Armin van Buuren, underlining a taste for dance music which JARRE also showed off on his recent remix record with the likes of Above & Beyond and Steve Angello.

Jean-Michel is a big inspiration for me,” Armin van Buuren says. “He has really been one of the reasons why I went into electronic music. He was a pioneer in many ways, and I was really inspired by that. Trance music would not sound the same without his influence.”

Electronica 1 also sees JARRE branching out and working with French duo Air, U.K. group Fuck Buttons, Laurie Anderson and even The Who’s Pete Townshend, hinting at the all-encompassing diversity of the record. Vince Clarke, formerly of Depeche Mode and founder of Erasure, appears on two tracks, and says that the two artists share an “appreciation of the beauty, of the simplicity, of the sound of our synthesizers.

Instead of just making music remotely, JARRE took a hands-on approach to Electronica by getting to know his collaborators and working with them in person. That careful process ensures that the album has a cohesive and unified feel despite its diverse collaborations and wide range-the true mark of a visionary.

It would be very easy for him to sit in Paris and just email with people and have them send things back,” says Moby of his experience with JARRE on “Suns Have Gone.” “But to actually physically go to sit down with every one, on multiple occasions-to be in a studio with people and really push them to almost look at different parts of themselves as musicians… I think that really will make this album quite interesting. To me, it’s not just about electronic music collaborations, it’s about humans coming together and collaborating in a very unique way.”

The track listing for Electronica 1: The Time Machine is:

1) The Time Machine (JMJ & Boys Noize)
2) Glory (JMJ & M83)
3) Close your eyes (JMJ & AIR)
4) Automatic (part 1) (JMJ & Vince Clarke)
5) Automatic (part 2) (JMJ & Vince Clarke)
6) If..! (JMJ & Little Boots)
7) Immortals (JMJ & Fuck Buttons)
8) Suns have gone (JMJ & Moby)
9) Conquistador (JMJ & Gesaffelstein)
10) Travelator (part 2) (JMJ & Pete Townshend)
11) Zero Gravity (JMJ & Tangerine Dream)
12) Rely on me (JMJ & Laurie Anderson)
13) Stardust (JMJ & Armin van Buuren)
14) Watching you (JMJ & 3D (Massive Attack))
15) A question of blood (JMJ & John Carpenter)
16) The train & the river (JMJ & Lang Lang)

Electronica is a two volume project with 30 Collaborators in total.

Electronica 1: The Time Machine will be released on October 16, 2015 on Ultra Music. Electronica 2 will follow in Spring 2016.

Jean-Michel Jarre + Massive Attack’s 3D – Watching You


Visionary composer and electronic music pioneer Jean-Michel Jarre teams up with 3D of Massive Attack to create ‘Watching You’, a track from his eagerly-awaited new album, on this special limited edition three-track vinyl EP.

Jean-Michel Jarre has been one of the pioneering forces throughout the electronic music scene over the last four decades, having originally made his name in the 1970s for his critically acclaimed album ‘OXYGENE’.

‘OXYGENE’ was unmistakably a catalyst that set electronic music well on its way to becoming the behemoth that it is today, with Jean-Michel’s music breaking down boundaries of composing and production that so many were faced with, prior to its release. Today with over 80 million albums sold worldwide, musicians and contemporary DJs often refer to Jarre’s influence and innovation, not only for his music but also for his creation of electronic live shows.

Jarre was the first western musician ever to be invited to perform in post-Mao China, and has also played the likes of the Great Pyramids in Egypt, The Sahara Desert and The Eiffel Tower in addition to perhaps his most famous performance ever, where he played to a record 3.5 million people in Russia when he was invited to celebrate the 850th anniversary of Moscow in 1997.

2015 will see Jarre’s new studio album release, preceded by collaborations with some of electronic music’s finest talent. Collaborations announced so far: Gesaffelstein, M83, Tangerine Dream, 3D (Massive Attack). Stay tuned for more.

Available to pre-order now; released June 19.

Thom Yorke & Robert Del Naja – The UK Gold OST


An original soundtrack of critically acclaimed documentary The UK Gold, composed by Thom Yorke & 3D (Massive Attack) – also featuring Jonny Greenwood (Radiohead) & Euan Dickinson.

Higgins In 3D

Massive Attack’s Robert Del Naja a.k.a. 3D rejoins forces with TV on the Radio’s frontman Tunde Adebimpe to create two epic electronic remixes of the singer’s other outfit, Higgins Waterproof Black Magic Band.

The pair first collaborated on 2009’s Massive Attack track ‘Pray For Rain’, and have kept in touch, swapping songs and ideas, resulting in these two remixes of tracks released on Higgins’ self-titled debut EP, which came out in October 2013.

Limited to 500 copies worldwide, this release features original sleeve artwork by Paul Insect, screen printed at K2 Screen in London. Recorded and mixed in Bristol in February 2014, 3D’s remixes have been mastered by Noel Sommerville at 3345 Mastering and pressed by The Vinyl Factory on 180-gram heavyweight black vinyl using the EMI 1400 in Hayes, Middlesex.

Says 3D: "I constantly stalk Tunde with instrumentals! In revenge he sent me the Higgins album and I picked 2 tracks that I thought would be fun to remix. Now that’s sorted, I’ll get back to harassing him with loops.

Side A: Mad Lifeline
Side B: WPIC

In stock and available to buy now, exclusively from The Vinyl Factory. Buy here: