Category Archives: music

Video: Apparat – Heroist

Apparat ‘Heroist’ taken from the album ‘LP5’ – Out Now on Mute.
Buy/Listen here:

Check out also Substance’s remix below:

Video: Jacques Greene – For Love

Today, Jacques Greene releases the video for new single, “For Love,” from his forthcoming album, Dawn Chorus, out October 18th via LuckyMe. “For Love” follows lead single “Do It Without You” and early single “Night Service” (Feat. Cadence Weapon).

Greene approached the making of Dawn Chorus as if he were a band. He lived in the studio for five months this past winter – half the time at home in Toronto, the other half in Hudson Mohawke’s studio in L.A. – and wrote these songs in a sprint to capture this chapter in his life. While samples played a big part in his early output, his creative process for Dawn Chorus revolved around recording a stellar cast of musicians, arranging new parts. As a result, it’s his most collaborative project to date, featuring additional production and instrumentation from film composer Brian Reitzell (Lost In Translation), cello by London’s Oliver Coates, additional production from Clams Casino and original vocal contributions from ambient artist Julianna Barwick, rapper Cadence Weapon and singers Ebhoni and Rochelle Jordan, all sampled, processed and stitched back into the album.

To craft the sound of the record, he thought about the artists he held dear and researched the gear they used as a means of being in dialogue with their emotional tenor. Some of the gear he sourced included the delay that My Bloody Valentine was renowned for, as well as a compressor used by French Touch producers Alan Braxe and Fred Falke. Working with mix engineer Joel Ford (of Ford & Lopatin), he created a rule book for the album’s sonics that saw each part, from the drums to the pads, be processed in a specific way, through guitar pedals and outboard equipment.

Surrounding the release of Dawn Chorus, Greene will play select shows in Europe and the UK before returning to North America.

Stefan Biniak feat. Stine Grove – Tears (2019 Re – Touch)

Video: French 79 – Hometown

The music of Marseille-based French 79, aka Simon Henner, is filled with nostalgia and shimmering synths. “Hometown” – premiered on Billboard – is off his new album Joshua, out Nov 8 on Alter K. Previous video for “Hold On” conjures skateboarding videos of the 90s, echoing Simon’s childhood that inspired this record. Recalling the cinematic sounds of Tangerine Dream, Kraftwerk, Soft Machine and remembering recording soundtracks from TV movies, Simon moves back in time to the worlds of Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Jacques Cousteau, François De Roubaix, Blade Runner and more.

Video: Peggy Gou – Starry Night

Directed by Jonas Lindstroem.

Chromatics – Closer to Grey LP


Chromatics release their seventh studio album ‘Closer To Grey’ today via Italians Do It Better.

Listen here:

Hior Chronik – One Eternity at a Time

Seductive drone and post cinematic soundscapes between ambient, indie-neoclassical music. These are the best words to describe the vibes of the new album by the Greek/Berliner composer Hior Chronik, entitled “Blind Heaven” out on November 8th via 7K!.

The first single “One Eternity at a time” featuring Francesco Donadello is out today. Available to stream or buy:

Video: Kraków Loves Adana – Follow The Voice

Kraków Loves Adana are a Hamburg-based duo of Deniz Çiçek and her partner Robert Heitmann. Having recently just signed to Italians Do It Better (Chromatics, Desire, Glass Candy), the band are sharing their new single “Follow The Voice” online now.

Kraków Loves Adana formed in 2006 after eyeing each other for months at the same nightclubs in Germany. The group’s guitar-driven electronic ballads echo dream pop with a melancholic edge.

On Follow The Voice” Johnny Jewel produces the band’s debut single for Italians Do It Better. Deniz Çiçek’s exposed, haunting vocal melodies crash against vivid synthesizers & heavy rhythms to create something unforgettable. Complimenting the sonic landscape of Italians Do It Better staples like Chromatics & Desire, Kraków Loves Adana will be in direct support of Chromatics & Desire on stage for the European leg of the Double Exposure World tour.

The video is directed by the band themselves in Hamburg. Through hypnosis by pendulum, Deniz Çiçek falls into a trance like state – led by a voice, guiding her through a domain that exists just below the threshold of consciousness.

A newly discovered star shining in the Italians Do It Better solar system. They are currently in the studio preparing their forthcoming full length with Johnny Jewel out early next year.

Joris Voorn – Messiah feat. HÆLOS

Dutch DJ, producer and label-owner Joris Voorn today announced his highly-anticipated fourth studio album, ‘\\\\’ [four] will be released on November 15 via his new imprint, Spectrum Music. Along with the news, he revealed the next single from the album, the stunning melodic odyssey “Messiah feat. HÆLOS”.

A proper introduction to his full-length LP, “Messiah” is a collaboration with London electronic quartet HÆLOS whose cross-genre output spans soundscapes from trip-hop to shoegaze. The track sees Joris blend a 90s inspired breakbeat and early rave aesthetic with glistening synth arpeggios, layered atop the ethereal vocals of HÆLOS frontwoman, Lotti Benardout.

Voorn’s 14-track album finds its inspiration in the formative era of Europe’s electronic scene in the mid-’90s where the musical heartbeat of the underground was born. Alongside HÆLOS, the album features collaborations with British electronic stalwarts Underworld, spoken word maestro Lazarusman, and Dutch pianist Michiel Borstlap.

Through to album release, Voorn will perform at some of the world’s most regarded festivals, parties and venues including Connect, ANTS, Rave Rebels, ADE, E1 London and more.

Listen to “Messiah feat. HÆLOS” –

Franz Matthews & Local Suicide – Remixes

Making their debut on Eskimo Recordings this March, Berlin producers Franz Matthews& Local Suicide’s ‘Meditation / Tutan Jamon’ was a heady brew of psychedelic disco that joined the dots between the German capital and the sun soaked souks of North Africa.

Hailed as “propulsive and zen” by Resident Advisor and championed by DJs including Dj T, Red Axes, Perel & Acid Washed, the tracks have now been giving a fresh rub, with Eskimo going one better even than the genie from the Arabian Nights and fulfilling 4 wishes summoning up remixes from Manfredas, Chaim, NTEIBINT and The Oddness.

First out of the trap is Lithuanian producer Manfredas. Having made a name for himself with releases on labels like Les Disques de la Mort, Multi Culti and I’m A Cliché, Manfredas turns in a head spinning remix of Tutan Jamon, teasing out and extending the track in a masterclass of delayed gratification that eventually dissolves into acidic bleeps and drones.

Tel Aviv’s Chaim remix of Tutan Jamonmeanwhile sees the sometime Bpitch Control and Disco Halal producer up the tempo whilst losing none of the original’s exotic vibe. In his hands the track becomes a propulsive nu-disco number perfect for late summer parties under the stars.

Eskimo stalwart NTEIBINT is up next with his reinterpretation of Meditation. Once again the Greek producer goes to show just why the label has him on speed dial, delivering a stunning remix with Vamparela’s vocals and a hypnotic bass line combining to mesmerising effect.

Finally fresh from remixing Satin Jackets Australian rising star The Oddness returns to Eskimo with his own spaced out take on Meditation. Keeping the tempo slow and low the Melbourne producer unravels the track, pulling apart its constituent parts and allowing them all to float free.