NICK_MURPHY_04_17023 credit Tyler Mitchell.jpg

New York-based Australian producer & musician Nick Murphy has announced Missing Link, a new collection of tracks that bridge the sonic shift between Chet Faker and Nick Murphy. The 5-song EP is out today via Downtown Records / Interscope and available to stream / order here:

Murphy will also bring his dynamic live show to stages across the globe through the end of the year, announcing an extensive world tour that features headline shows in North America, Australia and Europe. U.S. dates include this Friday’s show at Red Rocks with Bonobo, a headline performance at Los Angeles’ Shrine Auditorium, an appearance at NYC’s Panorama Festival, and more. Murphy will also perform an exclusive residency at Sydney Opera House for Vivid LIVE next month. For tour details and to purchase tickets, visit

Missing Link opens with the first single “Your Time,” a moody, older recording featuring production from KAYTRANADA that just premiered as a World Record on Zane Lowe’s Beats1 show. Hear the track and interview with Lowe here. The EP continues to move through Murphy’s sound evolution from the voiceless distortion of “Bye” to the grand, escalating track “Forget About Me”—also premiered today on Lowe’s show—and “Weak Education,” the dance-influenced track closer. It’s the sound of Murphy exhaling.

The EP is Murphy’s first release since announcing last fall that he’ll record and perform under his given name and step away from his Chet Faker moniker. “Chet Faker was me trying to prove something to myself,” says Murphy. “But my tastes are pretty dynamic and I realized I’ve spent time resisting that. Now I want to put everything in. It’s not conceptual anymore. It’s just me, and it made sense to show that in a name. It feels like a rediscovery.”

After announcing the name change last fall and releasing two well-received tracks—“Fear Less” and “Stop Me (Stop You)”—he notes, “This huge wave came out and I broadened the framework. Instead of having to make finished tracks, I could just explore. That felt like the missing link between where I was and where I’m going now.” The Missing Link EP is a snapshot of that wave in motion. It is the ‘missing link’ between who he was as an artist and what’s next for him.

The trailer for the Missing Link EP, co-directed by Murphy and New York-based Australian filmmaker and musician Johann Rashid, was released last week and teases some of the EP’s forthcoming visual accompaniment. Watch the trailer here:

Murphy also recently released a short video interview with collaborator Dave Harrington where he discusses the name change, creating his new music and more:

1. Your Time (produced by KAYTRANADA)
2. Bye
3. I’m Ready
4. Forget About Me
5. Weak Education

Posted on May 10, 2017, in stream, video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s