Max Cooper – Emergence Remixed


In November last year, Max Cooper released EMERGENCE; an epic, operatic, amalgamation between an audio-visual show, scientific research project, art installation and IDM record. EMERGENCE is the story of the development of the universe, the way in which, very complex things like human beings were created from the immaterial by the action of simple laws.

The soundtrack included 11 videos on the subject of EMERGENCE. Together the work brought together the cosmic awe of a Carl Sagan film and the musical wonderment of Sigur Ros, made for meditating on the mystery of the universe.

Now in 2017, Max is releasing an album of remixes by friends and other artists he admires. He’ll be releasing a DJ friendly 12” vinyl with 6 remixes on, and a new digital album with the full suite of 10 remixes. It takes the LP from an incredible home listening experience and onto the dance floor. At the same time, REMIXED is a coherent album in its own right. On the 12” will be the remixes from Vessels, Rival Consoles, Tom Hodge, Kimyan Law, Christian Löffler and Ash Koosha. Meanwhile, the full digital LP also has remixes from Patrice Bäumel, Joe Farr, John Tejada and Hidden Orchestra.

Max received a PhD in computational biology in 2008 with research on the evolution of gene regulatory networks and was a geneticist at UCL before he switched to music. The complimentary remix album takes his original vision and reimagines it in various ambient, drum and bass and techno forms. Some like Christian Löffler, Erased Tapes artist Rival Consoles and contemporary classical musician Tom Hodge are right for headphones while former Trouw resident Patrice Bäumel and Kompakt’s John Tejada turn in fine techno dance floor versions.

Max Cooper’s EMERGENCE was a deep dreaming techno record in the lineage of The Future Sounds of London’s ‘Lifeforms’ and one of the most beautiful records you’ll hear all year. The remix record reimagines it once again.

Find Max Cooper’s Emergence tour dates here.

Released on March 31st 2017

01 Trust feat.Tom Hodge & Kathrin deBoer (Christian Löffler Remix)
02 Cyclic (Tom Hodge Remix)
03 Distant Light (Rival Consoles Remix)
04 Symmetry feat.Tom Hodge (Vessels Remix)
05 Trust feat.Tom Hodge & Kathrin deBoer (Kimyan Law Remix)
06 Organa (Patrice Bäumel Remix)
07 Seed feat. Kathrin deBoer (Ash Koosha Remix)
08 Panned (Joe Farr Remix)
09 Cyclic (John Tejada Remix)
10 Symmetry feat.Tom Hodge (Hidden Orchestra Remix)

Posted on February 1, 2017, in stream and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s