Synkro – Memories (2008-2011)


Following Synkro AKA Joe McBride 2015’s stellar debut album ‘Changes’, Apollo Recordings is proud to present a collection of his formative early works.

Originally released on scene stalwart labels such as Smokin’ Sessions, Blackout, Box Clever, Med School and Exit Records, these tracks displays the music that forged his career tracking his progression up to signing to Apollo.

Despite having come up during the dubstep era McBride’s music has always resisted easy classification – winding together such diverse influences as Boards Of Canada, dBridge, Burial and Oneohtrix Point Never, whilst still remaining utterly unique.

The trademark warm sonics, and emotive melodies that were ever-present in ‘Changes’ are in strong evidence here – lush pads, ambient/balearic washes and soulful vocals, underpinned by a skeleton of tough, crisp beats. What is most surprising and captivating about these early works is just how consistent McBride’s sonic vision remains – melancholic, cinematic, soothing yet vital – his is a strong and truly unique voice nearly a decade into his career.

24 February 2017 / Apollo Recordings
01 Just To See Her
02 Everybody Knows
03 Lost For Words
04 If Only
05 Inhale ft. Faib
06 Heres Your
07 Look At Yourself
08 Girl
09 Presence
10 Memory
11 Closed Doors
12 Departure
13 Letting Go
14 In Transit
15 Open Arms
16 Summer Blues
17 Progression

Posted on January 25, 2017, in music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s