Abstraxion – She Thought She Would Last Forever LP


After his stunning debut LP ‘Break of Lights’ on HAKT Recordings at the end of 2013, and releases on Nicolas Jaar’s ‘Other People’ label, Harold Boué – better known as Abstraxion – is set to launch his second LP ‘She Thought She Would Last Forever’ in October this year. Abstraxion’s career has already seen many highlights, two of which have been the label he runs with Belgian producer DC Salas reaching its ten year anniversary this year and playing in some of the best clubs in the world.With his obvious talent and ability to create a pensive beauty in his productions, there is no doubt Abstraxion’s career will continue to reach new heights.

Full of reveries and hybrid explorations, Harold’s second full length ’She Thought She Would Last Forever’ evokes images of landscapes and forests. A stretching dark and dystopian atmosphere pervades the album, but he still manages to mesh the melancholy with an overarching and swelling euphoria. Contrasting themes of melancholia and exploring the tensions between expectation and reality.

The explorative nature of the album is articulated clearly through Abstraxion’s use of minor chords and organic sounds

She Thought She Would Last Forever begins with ‘An Error Occurred’, a convivial albeit mysterious and energetic primer that then dives into the tight percussion and pensive vocals of ‘Just What I’ve Always Wanted’. Title track ‘She Thought She Would Last Forever’ is a dramatic cut which transcends slickly into the rasping synth, and recoiling bass of ‘Needed You’ accompanied by the entrancing vocals of Loic Fleury from Isaac Delusion. ‘Spazieren’ is a 10-minute leisurely passage through dystopia that has been crafted with finesse.‘Blackout’ is a minor key track whose lead synth is focused around an arpeggiator to create suspense. ‘Seascape’, a melancholic ambient track which shifts into the more energetic percussion of ‘Not Far Away From You’, picking up pace once again. ‘Rinjani’ is a melodic and menacing march with pulsing synth lines, leading expertly to the final track. ‘Dystopia’ blends otherworldly sounds from the distant future with percussion and reverb, creating space in the musical landscape and bringing Abstraxion’s second album to an expansive and poignant close.

Mixed by Francis Harris in his NewYork studio. Abstraxion’s She Thought She Would Last Forever is out October 10th on Biologic Records.

01 An Error Occured
02 Just What I’ve Always Wanted
03 She Thought She Would Last Forever
04 Needed You
05 Spazieren
06 Blackout
07 Seascape
08 Not Far Away From You
09 Rinjani
10 Dystopia


Posted on August 24, 2016, in stream and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s