Young Magic – Lucien

young galaxy

Experimental pop duo Young Magic are thrilled to announce their new full-length Still Life, set for release on May 13 on Carpark Records. Singer Melati Melay grew up in Jakarta before relocating to New York ten years ago, and Still Life is an exquisite homage to her home country of Indonesia. Stereogum premiered the stunning first single “Lucien” — which features the delicate sounds of a Javanese gamelan — today, praising the band’s “expansive and reverberating soundscapes.”

Still Life inhabits a gorgeous, kaleidoscopic world, as delicate and intricate, as it is expansive and immersive. It walks the line between organic and mechanic, where dusty field recordings weave between warm Moogs and Prophets, where jazz breaks bump next to broken drum machines. It’s meticulously crafted outsider pop, made by obsessives, for obsessives.

Posted on March 4, 2016, in stream and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s