Mikael Delta – Life Is Now LP

mikael delta

Mikael Delta is a Greek composer and pioneer of local electronic scene. He first appeared in the Greek music scene in 1992, as a founding member of the band Stereo Nova, who released 5 albums until their disbandment in 1997. His first personal album titled ‘The Pictures’ was released in 1994 via the Belgian techno label R&S Records. Since then he has released numerous solo works of electronic music in Greece and abroad. Two albums that stand out are ‘Halcyon Days’ (among the best albums of the year 2001 according to the English magazine DJ mag) released by the French Distance and ‘Forbidden Poetry’ released by EMI in 2006 and described as the best album of his career.

As a producer, composer and remixer he has collaborated with many local and international artists, and some of his tracks have been included in famous compilations such as ‘Café Del Mar’ and ‘Buddha Bar’ (Dj Ravin).

His new album “Life Is Now” will be released in autumn 2015 from Inner Ear and will be distributed in Europe via Rough Trade Distribution and worldwide by Believe digital. In ‘Life Is Now’ contemporary electronic composition goes hand in hand with neo-romantic style through ambient paths that lead to a refined soundtrack, which reflects the relationship of the artist with the urban landscape.

From the immersive stillness and minimalism of the piano and the classical beauty of strings to the restless beats of the synthesizers, the journey is long and the images and feelings change as the sounds move inwards and outwards, creating a unique atmosphere, intimate and unfathomable at the same time. ‘Life Is Now’ consists of 11 instrumental tracks composed, arranged and produced by Mikael Delta. Featuring: Nikos Veliotis (cello), Hristos Lainas (guitars, metallophone) Stavros Parginos (cello).

The first cut off the LP is ‘With My Whole Being’, a soothing combination of stately cello and burbling electronics next to minimal piano melodies in a post-rock elemental build. Check it out below.

01. Turned Into Light
02. Rising Cities
03. How Easy Is To Fly
04. Ubha Line
05. Late Night People
06. Walking Around Spree
07. Life is Now
08. With My Whole Being
09. The Strongest Light
10. Snowing In Berlin
11. Never Had This Feeling Before

Posted on October 9, 2015, in stream and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s