Prins Obi – Notions LP


Prins Obi is the moniker of George Dimakis, pharmacist and singer/songwriter of Greek psych trio Baby Guru. Together they have released three official LPs (“Baby Guru”, “Pieces” and “Marginalia”), 5 digital EPs and they have performed live in Greece, Europe and U.S. (Eurosonic, CMJ Music Marathon, Europavox and more).

A year after the debut EP “Love Songs for Instant Success”, Prins Obi is back with his first solo full album, entitled “Notions”.

“Notions” is a personal diary of convictions, sensations and hallucinations, in the form of 11 tracks, some recently written and others dating back even 10 years ago. The album was recorded at a leisurely pace during 2014 with the valuable assistance of King Elephant and featuring special guests such as Sir Kosmiche, Kon Kon, KU and Christina. It is an amalgam of pop songwriting and electronic music (with particular emphasis on the use of the Moog synthesizer) and carries psychedelic frills and an aroma of late 60’s-early 70’s, but with unexpected changes in style.

Stream album’s cut “Weekend Lovers” below. Notions arrives on November 18th 2014 via Inner Ear.

01) Weekend Lovers
02) Sorrow
03) Evening Gown
04) Larry the King
05) Those Stormy Eyes
06) Notions
07) Kineta
08) The Warmest Color
09) Couples
10) Idolize You
11) Naked Dancers Union

Posted on November 17, 2014, in stream and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s